Skip to content

Persian Food!

October 19, 2010

Ali over at FoodFitnessFashion has pledged not to participate in Fat Talk this week in honor of Fat Talk Free Week, and I think we should all join her. Fat Talk is something I have gotten much better about, though I still struggle with “Fat Think”. Operation Beautiful also does a great job of showing that people have value outside of their appearance. I would highly recommend Caitlin’s Book to anyone that hasn’t read it.

It is so common for girls to constantly talk about their weight and appearance, and most often it is negative talk about themselves. I constantly hear my friends say “Ugh I’m so fat” or “Ugh I look so bad in this, I should lose weight”, and it’s awful! At work I have tried to promote talking about people in terms of their great personality traits or accomplishments. It is an issue that everyone, including me, needs to keep working on!

Another change of thinking that I love has to do with work outs. Instead of thinking of your work out in terms of calorie burn or minutes spent on the elliptical, think of each work out as doing something AWESOME for your body no matter the time or intensity. Whenever I finish a work out that wasn’t quite as long or hard as I had planned, I say to myself “Good Job! You just did something great for your body!” and it totally changes my mindset.

***********************************************

WORKOUT:

Speaking of, I had to work late today and didn’t have time to get in my 5 mile run. Instead, I ran 3.1 miles. And at first I was super bummed out because I was slacking on my race training, but the little reminder that something is better than nothing cheered me back up.

I also did the 30 Day Shred this morning….LEVEL 3!! For the first time! I just got all ballsy and did it, what can I say. I found level three had less pure weight lifting and more complex moves combining cardio and strength. I liked it, and think I’ll probably do a mix of levels 2 and 3 from now on.

Outfit:

Just to totally switch it up from yesterday’s corporate look, I went with leggings today.

I honestly don’t know where I got any of these things. Besides the shoes.

I wore another pair of flats that I got at my company’s shoe sale. These say “Jones Boot Makers” on the inside. No idea what that is or if they are nice at all, but I got brown flats for $5 so I’m happy:)

 

As you can see from this outfit, I have no problem with taboo color mixes. I wear black and brown together, navy and black together, and silver and gold jewelry together all the time! At work today we were planning what colors to make all of next Fall’s shoes in, and I kept suggesting these color mixes. There was some objection, and it got me thinking about how differently each person thinks about fashion and what looks good.

Example: I love.

 

source

 

  • Do you mix colors like I do, or do you stick to one neutral at a time?
  • Do you follow any traditional fashion rules?

I totally disregard the whole “No White after Labor Day” rule too. White pants all winter for me:)

 

FOOD:

Until dinner, my food was incredibly boring. I had the same pumpkin yogurt mess you’ve seen a million times. I had left over lentil chili for lunch with some extra veggies and a honey crisp, as well as oatmeal with Justin’s Honey Almond Butter as a snack. I had my snack during a meeting with my team and they had tons of questions about it. I think they are slowly realizing that I eat pretty healthy, but I eat often.

Dinner was a special birthday treat with LB & my brother. We went to a Persian restaurant called Cafe Natasha that I’ve been wanting to try. (It’s my friend Claire’s favorite!!) They had tons of good vegetarian options, and I tried to take good pictures but my brother was totally embarrassed of me.

I had a glass of red wine and we all split the hummus appetizer.

demolished.

The hummus was good, but nothing special. The pita, however, was different than any I’d ever had! Super thin and almost tortilla like! I had a big scoop of hummus and about 3 1/2 pitas.

For dinner, LB and I both got the cabbage roll appetizer:

Specially seasoned vegetarian stuffing of split peas, rice, and spices wrapped infreshly steamed cabbage topped with our sweet yet tangy tomato sauce. VEGAN

 

The front two were mine

 

They were great! Reminded me of a burrito except with cabbage instead of a tortilla. The filling was mild, but good, and the Persian red sauce was very similar to Italian pasta sauce. I really liked them.

I wasn’t going to order dessert, but the waitress found out it was my birthday and brought me a rose water and pistachio ice cream. It DEFINITELY tasted like rose, which was interesting, but not my first choice for ice cream. It was super nice of her to bring to me though!

I’d love to go back to Cafe Natasha and try out more of their vegetarian items…lots of the menu looked delicious!

 

 

And now I’m at home eating chocolate because I haven’t gotten my fix yet today :) I’m up later than usual but I think I’m going to let myself sleep in tomorrow and try to get in a longer run after work.

Goodnight!!

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2010 2:22 pm

    You buried that whole bit about it being your birthday! ;) Happy belated birthday!!

  2. MC Mitsch permalink
    October 20, 2010 5:53 pm

    I love how you encourage us to look at working out! I’m working on that, too. I am trying out “hot” yoga tonight because I think it will be something that is good for my body and I am trying to think of working out as getting toxins out of my body, not because I necessarily am concerned about losing weight. :)

    Happy Early Birthday! I miss you!

  3. November 6, 2010 8:08 pm

    Thank you for this great post!
    I have been recovered from eating disorders for several years now and love hearing posts like these that promote healthy beliefs and actions.
    I also exercise to help with my mood and emotions – and I thank my body every day that I exercise because I have done something beautiful for myself.
    The main change that happened for me when I finally recovered from my eating disorders was letting go of all of the old beliefs about diets, beauty and restriction. More of my hourney and recovery is here: http://www.helpforeatingdisorder.com.
    My aim is to help as many eating disorder sufferers (and others) to achieve freedom from the obsession around food and weight, and to live a healthy, balanced life.

    • November 7, 2010 10:12 am

      Nina,
      I love getting comments like that. Helping others and sharing my eating disorder experiences was why I started the blog!! Sounds like we have a lot of the same motives and have overcome the same issues…can’t wait to read your experiences!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers

