Skip to content

The Return of Spandex

November 4, 2010

Look what was staring me in the face when I opened the fridge this morning:

AHHH Dannon Light & Fit is stalking me now.

My mom goes “why in the world are you taking a picture of the fridge?”  I told her she would have to read the blog to find out:)

************************************

Backing up. The Whole Foods sushi yesterday was TERRIBLE.  Maybe it just was dry from being a day old, but it crumbled apart and had no flavor. Definitely did not satisfy me and I was snacky all afternoon.

I also had a greek yogurt with lunch to get some protein. And as *part* of my super snacky afternoon, I tried a Prana bar! I’d heard rave reviews about these, and it was AWESOME. Sort of same chewy and dense texture as a Lara bar because it is made with dates and nuts, but stickier somehow. I loved it. New fav.

 BTW – I was inspired to try this bar after one blogger said it was her absolute favorite, but now I can’t remember who it was! Anyone know??

*************************************

After work I ran five miles. My longest run before the half this weekend…ahhh! Then I got set on making dinner before my volleyball game.

I made PARSNIP FRIES for the first time…inspired by Caitlin!

Peeled, Sliced and in the oven with some Aparagus

I seasoned the fries with some garlic and pepper, and the asparagus with some balsamic. Fries took around 30 minutes at 400 and asparagus was taken out after 10 minutes. Dinner was these, with lots of ketchup, and two over easy eggs.

 

Look just like french fries, right?? Taste like them too!

 

Awesome dinner. And I was stuffed too becuase I had eaten so many bars and pretzels in the afternoon…no dessert needed last night!

************************************************

THE RETURN OF SPANDEX:

This morning I got up to go for a 4 mile run. I wanted to run this morning for several reasons:

  • See what it was like to run in the dark and cold, since marathon training would involve lots of that!
  • Wear my SPANDEX! I will have to wear my Under Armour pants and shirt during the half marathon this weekend, as it’s supposed to be around 30 degrees, and don’t want to race in an outfit I haven’t trained in.

I’ll admit, I was scared.

But once I got out there it was fine! It’s crazy that I’m so nervous about running in the cold, considering I STARTED running in November of last year. My Under Armour spandex was the first thing I ever ran in…it just seems so strange now after being in shorts for so long!

The dark didn’t bother me too much, but I ran a lap around my safe neighborhood first to let it lighten up a little bit before hitting the streets. Hopefully daylight savings will help with this too.

My biggest problem is energy! I was fine at the beginning, but by mile 3 I started dragging. I really like being able to have coffee and a little food before I run, but that requires getting up even earlier! Any tips on how you guys eat or get some energy before early morning runs?

 

BREAKFAST:

I was craving a PB & Banana sandwich after seeing Ali’s waffle sandwich yesterday. Didn’t want to use my last Vans Waffles though, so I stuck to Ezekiel bread.

I also tried a new flavored coffee that I found in the back of the cabinet. Swiss Chocolate Almond mmmm.

 

I used to drink flavored coffee sometimes, but my mom doesn’t like it and lots of times we share the coffee we make in the morning. But whenever I visit Alex in Florida, his roommate makes the BEST french vanilla coffee and it made me miss my flavors! I loved this, and I think I’ll start buying flavored coffees more often. Only problem is making a separate pot than my mom, but we’ll work that out. I only have coffee from home a few times a week, anyway.

What’s your favorite flavor of coffee? Any I have to try?

I guess it’s kinda weird that I don’t like sweet coffee drinks — why I hated the Pumpkin Spice Lattes — but flavored coffee is A-Okay!

 

OUTFIT:

 

I’m shadowing a salesperson today and we are going to the mall, so flats were necessary. Yellow polo from the outlets (that LEAH, the birthday girl, convinced me was a color I could pull off!), black skinnies from Urban, and my favorite brown boots.

*****************************************

I just got a 20 minute chair massage at work. My back and neck were killing me after sleeping on the tray table during my flights on Sunday, so getting an email about massage availability was a life saver! It was fantastic and she taught me some awesome chest pressure points to open up my shoulders. I should probably drink some water after the deep tissue work she did, but that’s not allowed anymore. Grrrr.

Heading to the mall soon! My job is kinda fun ;)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2010 2:44 pm

    If I run in the morning (not often!), I get up and eat breakfast right away, then I get dressed, put in my contacts, etc. For me, that is enough time to let it digest. I’ll have a small bowl of oatmeal or some PB toast. It works ok. But if I’m running long distances (like when I marathon trained) I had to get up extra early, eat, wait 30 minutes and then run.

    I would love a 20 min massage! Sounds great!

  2. November 4, 2010 3:09 pm

    Your outfit is so cute!!

    I hate running in the dark because I prefer to run on trails (where there’s absolutely no light) so I have to stick to roads which annoys me the most.

  3. November 4, 2010 6:46 pm

    Kudos to you girlie for getting up early! I don’t think I could do that… I like to sleep in til the last second ;) Good luck with training!

  4. November 4, 2010 7:58 pm

    Haha you are so cute in your whitey tightey spandex lol. Best of luck on the race this wknd! I’m not a runner, but when I was a swimmer until soph yr in college, I’d wake up around 530 sometimes so I wouldn’t have to split lanes during lap swim. But that’s when I wasn’t swimming with a team, so it was necessary.
    I’ve never tried those parsnip fries. I do like broccoli dipped in ketchup though. For some reason those remind me of frenchfries. Any finger food dipped in ketchup? Maybe.
    Are Paranas also those flesh eating fish? haha…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers

