Skip to content

I Suck At Surprises

November 11, 2010

I am hijacking the beginning of this post to explain to you why I suck at surprises.

 

 So if you might recall, the boyfriend wanted to surprise me on my birthday by flying to St. Louis, but his joke of a salary didn’t quite allow for that. Well it turns out that since he couldn’t do that, he decided to lie to me about not being able to go to Notre Dame this weekend and then surprise me up there!

I believe it was just two days ago that I wrote about why I WASN’T going to go to Notre Dame this weekend!

See that’s where the problem is. Alex had been working with two of my girlfriends to try to convince me to go up for the game this weekend, but apparently my stubborn self wasn’t budging. I was REALLY looking forward to a calm weekend at home before all the traveling and craziness of the holidays set in. So he waited as long as he could to see if I would change my mind, but ended up having to tell me last night of his plan so that I could still try to drive up and see him!

I cried and cried. I mean how sweet of him to plan that surprise! And how ridiculous of me to not allow it to happen! And how mad am I that I now feel OBLIGATED to drive up there! I really DO NOT feel like driving 12 hours by myself to be at Notre Dame for a day, but I also need to take advantage of every opportunity I get to see Alex since we have a long distance relationship! And our Thanksgiving visit plans are already getting a little complicated…

UGH so now I’m in the process of deciding what to do. Did I mention that I told my dad he could sell my ticket to the game? If anyone has a ticket or two, please let me know! I think it would be okay if I skipped some of my prior engagements this weekend, but that means an exhausting trip just to spend like 12 (drunken) hours with him. WHYYY am I so complicated!

And that is  why I suck at surprises.

*******************************

Back to regularly scheduled posting. Wednesday was a little slower at work so I was able to catch up on blogs. Oops:)

OUTFIT:

It’s still super warm in St. Louis so I decided to wear a dress! Had to “Fall- ify” it a little with boots and knee socks, though.

Dress - Forever 21, Sweater - BR, Belt - Urban, Socks - Forever 21, Boots - Target

The other night my friend Dani called me and the first thing she said was “Hi, I liked your outfit today.”  HELLOOO #1 blog reader!! She’s thinking of starting her own blog with funny things she finds or hears everyday. Dani is a nutcase and this blog would be awesome. Tell her to do it.

FOOD:

Breakfast was the return of an old favorite: pumpkin yogurt mess!  Pumpkin Pie Overnight Oats have been replacing these breakfasts for the past couple of weeks, but I think this yogurt version holds me over better with all the protein from the greek yogurt. Today I added some peanuts to get healthy fats. YUM.

 

 

Lunch was leftover spaghetti squash. With the feta again, which I totally realized was inspired by Sophia and not Squiggles. SO DUMB. I was just trying to go from memory…but the mistake has been fixed!

I completed my lunch with an apple, and ate outside because it’s so beautiful. It was actually too windy and I think I got some leaf pieces in my meal, but whatever.

 

beautiful day

With a new St. Louis Foodie magazine

 

Lunch didn’t hold me over too well (I forget that the big bowl of “spaghetti” is just vegetables!) so I had a Smores Luna Bar around 2:30. Then I had a bowl of oatmeal around 4.

 

WORKOUT:

After work I ran for the first time since the Half Marathon on Sunday. I sort of thought I would run on a treadmill since it would be dark, but the weather was too nice to stay inside! The nice weather also means it was too warm to wear my new reflective running jacket, but luckily I didn’t get hit! It’s totally strange not being able to see where your feet are landing…I’m going to have to find some new, more well-lit routes if I plan post-work runs.

Aside from the darkness, the run was great! I did my four-mile route, but since my Garmin is broken I don’t know the exact distance or time. My legs felt completely normal! FYI – Garmin service was great and since mine was still under warranty they are mailing me a new one. I hope it gets here soon!

After a 10 minute abs video, I headed to my volleyball game which we ALMOST WON! Tonight’s play bared the most resemblance to actual volleyball that my team has ever seen haha:) By the time I got home I was starving for dinner so it had to come quick.

Enter Amy’s Split Pea soup + hummus wrap.

I loaded the hummus on that baby and it was gooood.

Dessert was a Cliff Z bar. Back to the Chocolate Brownie kind. And shout out to Jillian who #1 is upping her running game in hopes of a 5K in the future and #2 introduced me to Z bars when she gave them to me with a fruit tray for my 18th birthday instead of cake or cookies. :)

 *********************************************

 

Keep the ideas for a Very Bloggie Christmas coming! I’m loving the input so far!  Tons of great etsy sites, blender options, and Lululemon reviews. I think I’ll keep taking ideas and comments for the next week and then post a complete list.

 

And I’m also super jealous that Jenn got to put up her Christmas tree already.

 

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Danielle permalink
    November 11, 2010 12:26 pm

    YEAH! hahaha great shoutout.
    so NOW you understand why we kept pestering you to go. gosh you’re tough cbear. so i’ll see you tomorrow? K great.

  2. November 11, 2010 1:54 pm

    hahahha- I almost ruined my husbands proposal in a similar method ;) I just apparently didn’t want to be surprised. Luckily, last minute I agreed. Cute outfit. I’m going to pick up similar boots this weekend- can’t wait. Adorable!

  3. November 11, 2010 3:07 pm

    I have never tried pea soup but it looks and sounds fantastic! AND paired with hummus.. you can’t go wrong!

  4. November 11, 2010 4:29 pm

    Aww that is tres adorable that you guys are doing the long-distance. When my bf goes out of state for pharm school next yr as he hopes, I may have to be doing the same thing. Is your relationship long-distance bc of school as well?
    Anyways, I see how I could be one to also ruin surprises. I’m pretty stubborn when I have something in my mind that I want to do/need to get done– and I usually won’t change my plans because of that. hehe.
    Anyways, I hope your wknd turns out decent !!!

  5. November 13, 2010 8:16 pm

    You’re so sweet – I love the Christmas tree shout out! Too funny about the surprise story. I am terrible with surprises, too!

    I loveeee your outfit! It’s so cute!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers

