Skip to content

This, My Friends, is Tempeh

February 17, 2011

I’m loving all the “favorite things” giveaway entries. We have some serious chocolate and nutbutter fans on our hands! Remember you can still enter until Saturday morning.

 

Today’s lunch was eaten outside in the beautiful but windy weather. I had the same wrap I had last night (hummus, avocado, spinach, tomato, yellow pepper & white beans) along with some sugar snap peas and an apple. After lunch I got some more things for the giveaway package:)

Tonight for dinner I needed a single serving recipe since I have a lunch date tomorrow and so don’t need to bring any leftovers. I starred Diana’s recipe for Tangy Tamari Tempeh Noodles a few days ago, and luckily it serves one! I already had tempeh, kale, and edamame on hand, so making this dish was a breeze. I did use whole wheat spaghetti instead of udon noodles soy sauce instead of tamari.

Since tempeh is one of those “weird-o vegetarian” foods, I figured I’d show you guys what it is like. It is a vegetarian protein source made from fermented soy, but has a much meatier, firm texture than tofu. This, my friends, is what tempeh looks like:

That’s a little over a third of the rectangular block it comes in, and the flavor I bought was garden veggie. I like the flavor alone so I eat it in raw slices on sandwiches, but it’s also great crumbled in a frying pan in recipes like Tempeh Sloppy Joes or steamed like Diana’s recipe called for tonight.

I don’t have a steamer, so I made my own using a strainer over a pot of boiling water.

After about 8 minutes of steaming, I took the tempeh slices aside and put my noodles, frozen edamame, and kale into the boiling water.

While it was boiling, I sauteed onion and garlic in peanut oil. When the noodles were al dente, I added it to the onion and garlic along with the kale and edamame. The tempeh was crumbled on top.

After adding the soy sauce, orange juice, vinegar, and salt I stirred it up and let it heat through.

It smelled amazing! Though the whole recipe took only 15 to 20 minutes, I couldn’t wait to dig in. This was the first time I’d made noodles and tempeh with an asian flavor and I loved it. The recipe was the perfect size for a satisfying dinner, and I slurped up every bite with a smile. This will be a go-to dinner for one for me from now on!

For a sweet ending I ate an orange, and now the chocolate cravings are coming. I’ll just have to see what I can find in the cabinet.

  • What’s your favorite type of food to cook at home?

I find myself using Mexican flavors or curry powder at home, but I love getting Japenese and Middle-Eastern when I eat out!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 7:55 pm

    I LOVE tempeh! I actually like to eat it raw. Most people can’t get into the raw but I love the deep nutty/mushroom flavor.

  2. February 17, 2011 8:13 pm

    My favorite food to cook is Asian-style. As long as it has garlic and soy sauce, I’m good.

    Your meal looks delicious. A bit above my skill level right now, though :(

  3. February 17, 2011 9:22 pm

    This looks SO good! My friend actually had tempeh yesterday and I asked her what it was and she didn’t know the name! So glad I saw this post – I’ll have to get some immediately :)

  4. February 17, 2011 9:35 pm

    I’m best at cooking Mexican or Italian. BUT I am trying to master Thai at home because pad thai is one of my favorite dishes.

  5. February 17, 2011 9:58 pm

    Hey hey! Thanks for checking out my recipe. I’m so glad you liked it! :) Have a great weekend!

  6. February 17, 2011 10:50 pm

    This looks AMAZEBALLS… I have never attempted tempeh but your post immediately intrigued me!!

  7. February 17, 2011 11:46 pm

    I definitely do a lot of stir fries, but I’m also a fan of making pizza. YUM!

  8. February 17, 2011 11:55 pm

    Come cook for me haha! Seriously though! Your meals look so amazing all the time! My favorite meal to cook at home definitely has to be pasta with veggies. So simple, yet so delicious! But still, mine never look as good as yours!!

  9. February 18, 2011 6:41 am

    DANG your dish looks SO GOOD! tempeh looks like brains raw it freaked me out the first time!.. ahh your giveaway is GEtting even BETTER!!

  10. February 18, 2011 7:36 am

    Really good-sounding recipe! I think tempeh looks a little gross but I do know it’s a nutritional powerhouse!

  11. February 18, 2011 7:43 am

    YUM! Thanks for sharing your yummy tempeh recipe! So far I’ve only pan-fried it and served on top of a salad…so I’m definitely in the market for some variety!
    Enjoy the beautiful weather, girl!!! :)

  12. February 18, 2011 8:06 am

    I’ve been wondering about tempeh since I keep seeing it everywhere – thanks for the info!

  13. February 18, 2011 8:08 am

    This looks really yummy! I love preparing Asian food and Mexican food at home. Since they both tend to be greasy and/or heavy dishes, I like to create my own ‘lightened up’ versions. I also add Creole seasoning to just about everything I make!

  14. February 18, 2011 9:11 am

    there are flavored tempehs!? I’m jealous! I only have TJ’s to get it at and they just have plain and i think some sort of 9 grain one…!

    The dish looks absolutely amazing though! I love anything w/ soy sauce!!!

    Happy Friday lady!!!

  15. February 18, 2011 11:40 am

    I’ve never made tempeh this way. That bowl looks delicious and hearty I might add.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers

