Skip to content

Out Of The Loop

September 28, 2010

Hey guys! Was it as beautiful today where you are as it was in St. Louis? Just check out these skies on my walk to lunch.

Gorg.

I’m feeling very FoodFitnessFashion lately showing you my outfits. I’m just excited about new fall clothes – I was getting sick of the same old summer wardrobe! Today’s featured my very first ruffly skirt – I have a hard time with them poofing out too much or being way too short. I found this one at H&M and actually bought it a size up so it wouldn’t be as hoochie.

Skirt - H&M, Shirt - Ann Taylor Loft, Sweater - Urban Outfitters, Shoes - Target

Without the sweater

I wore my new booties too! Got them at Target (the only place I ever buy shoes).Love the slight ruffle detail.

****************************

Onto the nourishment. I made a Fall version of my standard summer yogurt mess for breakfast: Pumpkin Yogurt (that I taste tested first!), flax seed, half a banana, and some Cascadia Farms cereal.

EXCITEMENT: I finally got to open some Libbys! I did a little comparison between the organic kind I had been using and the Libbys and it is seriously night and day. SO GLAD grocery stores are finally carrying it!

love in a can

Breakfast photo taken as I was making it last night…

gotta love the tupperware meals

Can you tell the cereal is in cool shapes? That’s because I buy Cascadia Farms KIDS cereal! The nutrition stats and ingredients are exactly the same as the boring adult cereal, so why not have a little more fun at breakfast??

I had a lunch date with one of my high school girlfriends, Molly,  that now works near me. Molly ended up inviting our friend Maddie too so it was a fun little girls outing! We went to the new St. Louis Bread Company Caresone of those restaurants that tells you the cost of your meal, but you only pay what you feel. That means you can pay nothing or you can pay extra! Any profit goes to charity and they picked a financial district to test it in assuming that most customers would overpay. I don’t think they have released any results yet.

Did you know: St. Louis Bread Company is actually the same thing as Panera. The chain started in St. Louis and just didn’t retain its name when it expanded to other cities! I personally am insulted and hate that I’ve gotten used to calling it Panera after living out of state for four years.

I got a You Pick Two – half of the Mediterranean Veggie sandwich (no feta, sub whole wheat bread) and half of the new fall Orchard Chicken Salad (no chicken, no gorganzola).

Apple saved for later!

Have you tried this salad yet? It is mixed greens with (usually chicken and gorgonzola), pears, walnuts, dried cranberries, and an AMAZING cherry balsamic that is probably laden with HFCS. After reading the ingredient list of the dressings now sold at grocery stores I was sad to see that some of my favs are!

It was so nice to sit outside and catch up with the girls. I have been so out of the loop lately — I’m not sure if the blame can be placed on either side but I have been trying to make contact and plans with my high school girlfriends and nothing has seemed to work out. I found out some major exciting news about a bunch of the girls (congrats everyone on jobs, internships, boyfriends etc!!) but totally wish that I had known earlier! It was a weird feeling to not know these things…I’m going to try harder to keep in touch.

**********************

Snack at work was some Chia Tea and cinnamon oatmeal with Justin’s Honey Almond Butter. It seems to be a good snack for days that I’m running after work.

Yes I took this picture on the floor. Yes I reused the bowl I had my breakfast in (after cleaning it!). Yes I’m sure my co-workers judge me.

************************

After work I had a 5 miler planned. I was excited since it was such a beautiful day and because that distance is actually shorter for me again 🙂 I stuck to the path near my house instead of Forest Park since I’m still scarred from last week’s incident.

The run went well. Came in right under 45 minutes, which is a nice pace for me as of late but still frustratingly slower than I was running in the spring. There were major GNAT issues and I wound up covered in black specs. YUCK. Some people on the trail actually used towels to protect their faces.

After my run I stretched and did a 10 minute ab video. I am in serious need of a Foam Roller and the guy at Dick’s Sporting Goods looked at my like I was crazy when I asked about them. Anyone know where I can get one??

****************************

Dinner was part 2 of project use up the leftover black beans. I made a breakfast wrap with spinach, egg whites, soy cheese, black beans, and salsa on a flat out.

On the side was some steamed broccoli and strawberries since I realized I actually hadn’t had much fruit today. In the summer that was never a problem!

Look at those colors!

Desserts lately have been looking like this:

But was actually a Chocolate Brownie Z-bar tonight since my dad ate the last two of the mini ice cream sandwiches. Have you tried them? Only 120 calories for two and so freaking delicious. I am a huge mint chocolate lover.

************************

I just watched Glee (B. Spears = awesome) and talked to the BF. He told me he was looking at flights to come surprise me on my birthday but everything was super expensive (and he is not exactly making fantastic money at his Ameri Corps job!) HOW CUTE THOUGH. I seriously was so happy just hearing about it! Definitely the thought that counts, but I wish it had worked out!

Whats the nicest thing someone has ever done for you on your birthday?

Also Fun Fact #2 – today my co-worker and I were discussing the shooting at UT. Thankfully no one except the shooter was hurt, but it is still extremely scary, sad and unfortunate. Anyway, she told me about a shooting spree of Postal Workers in the 80s and that the term “Going Postal” comes from them.

Can anyone verify this??

Man I am just loving my super long posts lately! Maybe I’ll figure out if I can post at work so I can split these up more. But thanks for reading – goodnight!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2010 10:15 pm

    Love that outfit!!! Those mini mouthful cookie things from Traders look so amazing!!!

    • September 29, 2010 8:51 am

      Thank you!! I get kinda proud when I can put together something semi-decent. Doesn’t happen often 🙂

      AND THEY ARE. GO buy them!! Best little dessert.

  2. September 28, 2010 11:23 pm

    AAAH you look soo chic!! To be honest, I can’t wait to start working so I can wear formal work clothes like that. I’ll be a bit out of place dressed like that in my geography class! 😉 Your boots are freaking cute. I never knew Target had good shoes.

    • September 29, 2010 8:53 am

      Thank you!! I’m lucky that I work in the fashion industry so I don’t have to be as business-like every day. And yeah, my college wardrobe was more jeans and a sweatshirt.
      Check out Target’s shoes. Hit or miss, but some great steals!

Trackbacks

  1. Justin Beiber Has A Nail Polish Line « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

