Skip to content

On Work Friends

September 29, 2010

This post is going to be lacking in pictures, so I thought I’d start you off with a few.

This, my friends, is “The Clare Face“: 

My friends finally named it after finding many pictures of just me, often holding a beverage ;), smiling really big. Apparently it’s just the face I make when someone decides to take a picture of me. I now have a series of these.

Oh-so flattering

***********************************************

So today, since I’m blogging from work, I’d like to talk about work a little bit!

First up, I’d love some advice from those that blog during the day. I would like to be able to do this more often since my night time posts get lengthy, but am not sure the correct way to do so.

For those of you that do this,

Does your boss and do your co-workers know?

Do you blog during your lunch break or during normal work time?

Do you upload your pictures onto your work computer, or do you bring your lap top from home?

Thanks for some tips:)

*************************************************

Now onto the real topic: Work Friends

The other day, we had an extra ticket to a St. Louis Rams game. None of my friends could go, and my dad suggested I bring a friend from work. When I told him there was no one from work I would want to bring, he replied

“I just wish you were able to make friends at work…”

*cue anger*

That statement made me really upset. Probably because I’m already struggling with keeping in touch with old friends and making new ones.

I explained to my father that Yes, I have friends at work, we joke around, chat about life, and have a fun working environment. However that doesn’t mean they are my best friends or that I want to hang out with them on the weekends. Especially not at a 4 hour sporting event with my family. Not to mention the girls at work tend to be more on the fashionista side than the sporty side, and many aren’t even from St. Louis!

My dad and I got into a bit of a tiff because even though he didn’t intend to upset me, his comment really made me feel awful about myself and like I SHOULD be making best friends at work.

How do you guys feel about friends at work? Have you been able to make best friends there or are they just “work friends”?

Maybe I need to give myself a little more than 3 months to acquire some work best friends, anyway.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2010 8:53 pm

    I just came across your blog tonight and it seems like we have A LOT in common so I just wanted to stop by and say hi! I can relate to basically your entire about me section and trying to readjust to a new life style. I am still finishing up my last semester of undergrad due to medical leaves etc., but am having to adjust to living with a new group of girls who all have established friendships since all my friends graduated in the spring. I can definitely understand how its hard to open up to new people and form new connections with those who may not be the people you would chose as friends if given the choice (not to imply your coworkers aren’t nice people!) Good luck balancing your hectic schedule, and I’m really happy to have found your blog 🙂

    • September 29, 2010 9:27 pm

      Alexandra,

      Thanks so much for your awesome comment. It’s always nice to know there are people in the same situation! I look forward to reading your blog now, too!

      Clare

  2. September 30, 2010 10:37 am

    I blog at work, on my lunch break and during normal work hours. It makes the day go by faster when it is slow. I don’t think anybody knows I do it, but as long as I get my work done I don’t think they would really care.

    I found your blog the other day and have really enjoyed reading it!

    • September 30, 2010 11:35 am

      Thanks so much for answer my questions, and for the blog compliment! Can’t wait to read yours!

Leave a Reply

