Skip to content

I’m In Love with a Foam Roller

September 30, 2010

So I’ve had that line, sung to the tune of  “I’m in love with a stripper”, in my head all morning. I don’t think T Pain knows what a foam roller is. 

 

I tried out a new gym next to my work this morning since I had to get dropped off at 6am and I had free access due to participating in a work event.It was still dark so I decided not to run outside. I ended up doing a total of 5 miles on the treadmill, split like this: 

1/2 mile: walking 3.5 & 4mph 

1 mile: 6.7 mph (right under 9 minute mile) 

1/2 mile: 7.5 mph (8 min mile) 

1/2 mile: 7 mph (around 8.30 min mile) 

1/2 mile: 7.5mph 

1/2 mile: 6.8 mph 

1/4 mile: 7.5 mph 

1/4 mile: 8mph (7.5 min mile) 

1/2 mile: 7 mph 

1/2 mile: walking at 4mph 

I was actually glad to be on a treadmill so I could get in a little bit of speedwork. I haven’t been too thrilled with my pace lately so hopefully more runs like this will help. 

As I was exploring the weights and stretching area of this new gym, I stumbled upon none other than a FOAM ROLLER! I was jumping up and down inside, but of course calm cool and collected to all the other gym-goers. 

not an actual picture of this morning, but I think foam rollers are pretty standard looking...

 

I ended up rolling my thighs and calves and it felt amazing. Seriously I wanted to do it all day. I could feel it rolling over knots and think it will really help with my tight muscles. Definitely need to invest in one! Maybe a running store carries them? 

I ended up stretching, doing a little bit of abs and some free weight arm exercises. I finished with 15 minutes on the bike just to read my Self magazine:) 

I walked back over to work to shower, and by the time I was ready it was almost 9am!! I didn’t know what I was going to do with myself since I had to get at work so early, but I always manage to use it all up. 

Now I’m at working trying to get things done (ha, or blogging) even though I’m super anxious to get to FL!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2010 11:04 am

    Ive heard such good things about foam rollers! Glad it was amazing!

    • September 30, 2010 11:36 am

      Yes, I’m so glad I found one to try! Keep your eye out for one:)

  2. October 1, 2010 2:31 pm

    I’ve never used one! I saw one at the place my Mother was getting PT at, but obviously, I couldn’t use that one. I am terribly curious about them though.

    TPain- I’m on a boat. It was pretty much the theme song on my birthday. 🙂

    • October 2, 2010 8:28 am

      haha I’d suggest checking it out!
      And yeah…I think everyone had their “I’m on a boat” obsession at one point or another…mine was last summer!

Leave a Reply

