Skip to content

St. Pete’s Recap

October 4, 2010

Ohh Florida. As if a trip to the beach wasn’t good enough, I got to see my boyfriend AND one of my best girlfriends!

Alex & Me

Kim met us at the beach on Sunday!

Side Note: Between the four flights there and back, I sat by 3 different girls that were going to Florida to visit boyfriends! (One had JUST gotten engaged during the visit!) Totally random but great conversation – tons of encouragement!

*******************************

Alex had done a little pre-work for my visit. I was kinda scared to see what two male volunteer teachers would have in their fridge, but take a look:

Look a little closer. What is that I see?

Bud Select!! He knows me so well:)

Alex had also planned the most romantic date for Friday night. We had a picnic dinner on the beach at sunset and he had prepared tuna sandwiches, cheese and crackers, grapes, and french bread with olive oil for dipping.

The set up

Appetizers

Just as we finished eating, the sun began to set. It was beautiful and romantic and I was just SO HAPPY to be with him!

After dinner, it was time for the surprise activity! I was told it was something we’d never done before and that I would NEVER guess what it was. Alex and I love to do random things together, so I was excited!

Know what it was…??

SHUFFLEBOARD!! Alex and his students had volunteered to paint the benches at this place the week before. It is open on Friday nights and has tons and tons of outdoor shuffleboard courts, board games, ping pong, and more. It’s free and you can bring drinks. AWESOME!

Alex is still in denial that I beat him (my grandparents had a shuffleboard court in their basement so I’m practically a pro). He also decided my new nickname was Dork.

That's my winning score on the bottom right:)

It was such a fun date!!

We were able to meet up with some of Alex’s friends down there to hit up St. Pete’s “First Friday” nightlife, and the night ended with WAY TOO MUCH PIZZA. Seriously I think I ate 3 or 4 slices. It’s the drunk eating that makes me feel crappy the next day, not the alcohol, but I just can’t help it:) Needless to say the next day’s workout was short and not sweet. But sweating felt good.

Saturday morning when we got back from the gym, Alex presented me with this:

He worked hard in the kitchen to make me one of his famous omelets I’ve heard so much about!

Secretly snapping pics of the cook

He even caramelized the onions first. (Even though he didn’t know that’s what he was doing!)

mmmm

The rest of Saturday included the worst movie ever (The American. It was SO SLOW and we spent the whole movie just waiting for something to happen! It was almost funny how boring the plot was. What was George thinking??) and then some gelato that more than made up for the awful movie. We ended up going back on Sunday to try more flavors!!

too fantastic for my own good.

We also got to see some of Alex’s students play in a football game. This elementary football is a HUGE DEAL in Florida! Check out who got to help with the chains:)

Then we picked up some Chipotle (we always get it when we’re together!) and found a way to watch the Notre Dame vs. Boston College game just in time. What a great win! (And what an exciting day for college football in general!) The game wasn’t over until around midnight and we decided to stay in for the night. Good call…we were exhausted.

Sunday morning we went to this hole-in-the-wall place called Skyway Jack’s for breakfast.

We’re talking boarder-line obscene graphics on the walls, $2.99 breakfast specials, and pancakes the size of your head. Speaking of pancakes, Alex and I split two blueberries to go along with our omelets but I didn’t snap a picture. I got a veggie egg-white omelet and could not remotely fit the toast that came with it in my stomach. Alex coached me through the last few bites…I was STUFFED.

Since my flight didn’t leave until Sunday evening, we had time to head to the beach (with Kim!), get more gelato, and walk around the pier.

Can't keep the kid out of the water. He doesn't hold the 6 & under free style record for nothing.

I was definitely sad to leave, but it was so great getting to experience Alex’s life down in Florida. I now know the people he talks about and have a better idea of what is job is like. Hopefully I’ll get to be back soon –it’s not so bad getting some beach time when you’re wearing sweatshirts at home!

I had such a great weekend (thanks Lex!)

******************************

Since I met so many girls dealing with long distance relationships,

  • Have you ever done the long distance thing?
  • Do you have any tips for making it work or fun visiting stories?
6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 2:09 pm

    Aw, looks like fun! I once had a long distance relationship! Personally not for me, but some people say it’s better than being close! Definitely gets you to be a pro at communication which is SO important! šŸ™‚

    • October 5, 2010 2:53 pm

      Definitely – I actually think we have gotten to know each other better from having to talk on the phone so much! It’s sometimes easier to open up over the phone anyway.
      But it is DAUNTING not knowing when we could be together. Thanks for the comment!

  2. October 5, 2010 7:44 pm

    What a trip! Y’all are so adorable. I love that he planned a picnic on the beach for you, got your fav drinky and made you some tasty food. <3!

    • October 5, 2010 8:37 pm

      Yeah he’s alright šŸ™‚ Sometimes being long distance means cuter dates!

  3. October 6, 2010 10:12 am

    Sounds like a great trip. I’m originally from Tampa and we used to go to St. Pete all the time. Hope you get to go back soon!

Leave a Reply

