Skip to content

A Vegetarian Tackles “Provided Lunch”

October 6, 2010

So today I decided to attempt whipped banana oats at work.

I don’t think quick oats cooked in the microwave taste as good as the creamy stove pot version, but I’ve missed my morning oatmeal! We have little hot water spouts at work, but I wasn’t sure if it would be enough to get my oatmeal to the right consistency.  But I decided to test the waters and today would be the day.

Here’s the set up:

  • glass container with oats, flax seed, and cinnamon
  • very ripe banana cut in half (in a plastic bag because I originally was going to freeze it until I thought of this brilliant idea)
  • Justin’s Maple AB packet

First I added lots of hot water to the oatmeal while I briefly microwaved half the sliced banana. Then I added the banana to the oats and whipped away!

action shot

The consistency turned to this after a few more water additions.

Then I sliced the other half of the banana on top and added some Justin’s! It was PERFECT!

breakfast is served!

And don’t tell me you don’t do that to your Almond Butter packets. I just had to get the end all cleaned up before I put half away for another use…;)

**********************************

Here’s today’s outfit.

dress by itself

A dress I really like from Urban Outfitters. Looks much more “normal” than urban, no? And I paired it with some uncomfortable Jessica Simpson pumps and my fav. black jacket for warmth.

************************************

Dinner tonight used up that sweet potato I baked yesterday. I bought some Daiya cheese to try (influenced by the blog world much?) , and decided to do a baked sweet potato + marinara sauce + cheese bake. Paired that with some broccoli and edamame for protein. Speaking of, I feel like I haven’t been getting enough protein lately. Just tons of oatmealy carbs, PB healthy fats, and squashy vegetables! I think it’s left me extra snacky. I can’t keep blaming everything on one long run a week!

Yeah, that would have happened had I not warmed up the sweet potato I baked yesterday only to have it turn hard as a rock and burn. Stunk up the whole kitchen.

Instead I improvised and made myself a pizza! I used a Whole Foods tortilla, a layer of spinach, some marinara sauce, a crumbled Dr. Praeger’s, and some mozzerella Daiya.

Pre-microwave

After a few minutes heating up, the Daiya really DID melt!

 

mmm baby!

(I am not back from volleyball and just had a Chocolate Brownie Z bar, a few green beans, and some skittles. My snacki-ness has been out of control lately!)

************************************

I got to chatting with a girl before Yoga this morning (I commented on her Bondi Band!) and discovered she was running the Chicago Marathon this weekend. I don’t know why I hadn’t thought of this before, but I came up with a BRILLIANT PLAN.

I was already contemplating going up to Notre Dame for the football game, but was nervous about getting in my 9 mile run and spending so much time in the car for so little time there. But then I thought “What if I stop in Chicago on the way and watch the marathon!?” I’ve never watched one before and could probably use the motivation…plus I could cheer on so many bloggers like Meghan and Bobbi!

Well this plan is still in the works…but I’ll let you know.

**********************************

Topic of the day: When lunch is provided at work

Today we had a sales meeting and we were told lunch would be provided from a local restaurant. I’ve learned from the past that there aren’t usually veggie-friendly options, and the “but there will be salad for you!” thing is kind of a joke. Iceberg lettuce and some tomato slices does not equal lunch for this girl.

Anyway, I brought my own lunch — I had leftovers anyway. But sometimes I feel anti social and rude doing this. Plus people already judge me because I am thin AND I don’t eat what everyone else eats. There are some other girls that bring their own too, but for some reason it’s okay for them.

So what’s your take on this:

  • Do I suck it up and make do with whatever lunch is provided?
  • Is it okay for me to bring my own and just ignore the looks and thoughts I can see stirring behind them?
  • Is it appropriate to ASK that a vegetarian option be provided?

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2010 2:42 am

    I think it should be ok to ask about vegetarian options, bc probably, you are not the only one. But I also think it’s better to just suck it up and have a bigger meal beforehand, and then pick at what they offer…who knows? they may have a stellar veggie option. It’s just my opinion, but people react more negatively if you bring your own food and make yourself kind of ostentatiously…”different”. not sure though. Hopefully an experienced vegetarian can help you out with wiser advice! :

    but just don’t sweat it! It’s just one lunch! 🙂

    • October 7, 2010 8:18 am

      Thanks, Sophia! Maybe from now on I’ll just bring a little something to eat on the side and then make due with what they have. And bring an extra big snack for later! My only worry with that is that if I “pick at what they have” I will look like I don’t eat…hmmm I’ll let you know!

Trackbacks

  1. How I Started Eating Breakfast & Running « Fitting It All In
  2. Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

