Skip to content

A Day of Returns

October 7, 2010

This morning I did two things I haven’t done in a long time:

1. I slept until 7!! That’s nine hours of sleep! Mind you I always wake up at least twice at night, but 9 hours of interrupted sleep is better than 7 hours of interrupted sleep!

2. I SHREDDED. I had been doing Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred pretty regularly at the beginning of the summer but let that go by the wayside. I have been slacking on the weight training department, so decided to try it again! It’s not a ton at only 20 minutes, but I forgot how much I love doing it! Just 20 minutes made me look like this:

 

Oh and those under-eye bags? Those need to be taken care of.

 

*********************************

I took this picture in the car today for the sole reason that it reminded me of the car + coffee pictures that  JulieLauren take! (Speaking of – Lauren made a really tough decision to not run a 1/2 marathon today! So admirable!)

 

Note to self: don't wear hair like that again

 

I got to work to find that my computer had a virus. Because I needed another security related problem in my life. They took it until around 3pm to clean it up, so I worked on some non-computer related projects and did a bit of dilly dallying:) Bad news is that the IT department has now blocked the editing capabilities of wordpress.com so now I can’t blog at work 😦

*********************************

Lunch was totally NOT ME but exactly what I was craving: VEGETABLES.

 

Ate outside on a beautiful day!

 

I brought the green beans and edamame from home and hit up the work salad bar for the rest. I rarely eat salads, much less make my own, because I am SO bad at it! I just end up putting everything on the salad and it doesn’t taste very good. But today that’s what I wanted! This one included:

lettuce mix, spinach, tomatoes, cucumber, corn, chick peas, peppers, peas, carrots, oil & vinegar.

I also had a big ole honey crisp apple and bought a root beer as a treat!

***************************************

 

After work I was actually EXCITED about my run! Love when that happens. I couldn’t decide if I should do 5 or 6 miles. I think I need to add some more mileage to be prepared for this half marathon, but I had already shredded and am running 9 miles on Saturday. I cut some corners on a 6 mile route and ended up running 5 1/2 hilly miles in around 49 minutes. Under a 9 minute mile pace!!!! It’s been forever since that happened!

Side note: This was the first time EVER that I didn’t run a flat number of miles (3 or 4 as opposed to 3.5 or something). I’m one of those weird “round number” freaks that just always finishes it out…but today I got back to my house right around 5 1/2 and went with it! Mind you I had to finish out .11 in my neighborhood to get to a round 5.5, but it’s progress people:)

*************************************

 

Dinner was another thing I haven’t had in forever: a GREEN MONSTER!

I haven’t wanted one since the weather has been a little chillier, but it was exactly what I was craving. PLUS all the sugary snacks I’ve been having lately have actually made my forehead breakout, so I thought some Amazing Meal + Spinach would help that.

It’s not a Vitamix, but it does the trick. I make my green monsters with 2 huge handfuls spinach, 1 cup almond milk, a scoop of chocolate amazing meal, 1/2 scoop jay robb vanilla protein powder, 1/2 frozen banana, some ice, and a tinsy weensy bit of xantham gum.

Open faced egg sammy on the side: Slice of Ezekiel bread, tomato slice, some Daiya, a fried egg, and some hot sauce.

 

mmm seriously hit the spot

Now I gotta decide what I want for dessert:)

********************************************

 

So one last thing that is returning…MY BIRTHDAY! (In a few weeks).

Here’s how it works in my family: If you ask for things, you’ll probably get them. If you ask for nothing, you’ll probably get nothing.

Okay not really. We always get gifts, but as my siblings and I have gotten older we’ve noticed the surprise cool gift department is lacking. It’s hard to figure out what to ask for, and my mom cannot read our minds. Therefore, I need a list.

My thing with birthday gifts is that I always feel like I should be asking for something cool or special, not routine. For instance, a foam roller or an exercise-ball-chair contraption for work seem like stupid gifts to ask for. But I also get so weary asking for big-ticket items!

Here is a working list (of everything I can think of…not what I’ll actually ask for!):

1. Foam roller

2. exercise-ball-chair-contraption

3. cold weather running clothes

4. boots / clogs (that I have yet to pick out)

5. Netbook (dream gift! would make blogging so much easier)

6. plane ticket to see Alex or girlfriends at some point?

7. subscriptions to health magazines

8. Tuition to Integrative Nutrition

9. Other fall clothes

10. A massage gift certificate (probably to use after the half marathon)

 

*************************************

Well I’m all packed for my Notre Dame trip tomorrow. I’m not going to be able to watch the Chicago Marathon and instead will do my 9 mile run around the beautiful campus on Saturday morning. (Yes one of those girls that runs on game day. I make fun of those girls. Oops)

I think I’m going to bring my lap top and blog, but until then:

  • What fun thing has returned to your life recently?
  • What do YOU ask for for your birthday??

 


3 Comments leave one →
  1. Molly Conway permalink
    October 13, 2010 9:53 pm

    I vote for plane ticket to see girlfriends 🙂

    • October 14, 2010 9:08 am

      hahah yesss except luckily lots of my girlfriends can be seen by car!! we need to plan this reunion btw.

Trackbacks

  1. Following Dreams…Smartly « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

