Skip to content

I have been Super Charged!

October 10, 2010

Click here for part one of the weekend:)

*****************************************

Sunday nights are a big cooking and baking night for me. Tonight I did both!

I used two new foods –brussel sprouts ON the stalk, not frozen like I usually buy, and Kabocha!

I am not strong enough to cut squash properly. I was worried I was going to cut my head off after lots of this:

so I microwaved it for a few minutes before gradually cutting it in half.

I scooped out the seeds, and of course squished them in my fingers like I do when I carve pumpkins. It’s such a weird feeling…does anyone else do this?

Anyway, I sliced them into pieces and roasted both the squash and brussel sprouts on 400 til I decided they were finished. I should have added more spices or oil to the squash, but I like to taste the vegetable on its own before I start adding. It was good, but could have been sweeter.

Dinner was half the squash and a quinoa/sauteed onion/brussel sprout mix. I didn’t eat the skins like Kath’s Matt, but it was still a lot of fiber for my tummy.


**************************************

Dessert was a baking experiment – Supercharge Me cookies! I didn’t use coconut (we only had sweetened and I don’t like coconut anyway) and I added some dark baking chocolate. The batter was super moist but the finished product is delicious! My dad liked them too and a funny conversation about why these were “healthy, vegan cookies” happened.

The remainder are packed up to be sent to a special someone;) But I would definitely make these again! Super simple and quick…and delicious!

 

I actually had some more dark chocolate for dessert because my sweet tooth is unstoppable. I am watching this Reds vs. Phillys game (come oooonnn Reds!) in honor of Alex, but it’s kind of depressing and I want to get up early for a work out.

Speed work or Yoga? hmmm…it gets so hard to plan out my workouts based on when my legs will be fresh and when I can get in some weight  training. I guess you’ll have to wait and find out!

 

I hope you all had a great weekend!

  • What is something new you’ve whipped up in the kitchen lately?

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2010 2:46 pm

    I love getting meal ideas from blogs. I haven’t tried kabocha yet. It always intrigues me though.

    • October 11, 2010 2:59 pm

      It was good, but I honestly didn’t love it! I bet some maple syrup would make it amazing. Or maybe actually incorporating it into a recipe? What a novel idea 😉

Leave a Reply

