Skip to content

Faced My Fear (Food)

October 14, 2010

I realized that yesterday (National Face your Fears Day) I ended up unintentionally facing one of my fears. Great! It just so happens that the fear was a FOOD.

Along with peanut butter (discussed in this post) and a variety of other things, PASTA was a fear food for me during my eating disorder. My problem with pasta was mostly because it makes me think of this:

source 

source

Restaurant style pasta. Huge portions, little to no vegetables, and a creamy sauce. Not exactly the healthiest meal. In that sense, my “fear” was warranted. This dishes aren’t the types of things we should be eating on a regular basis. However, it’s not the PASTA itself that’s the problem!

I still don’t order pasta very often at restaurants for the reasons stated (and shown) above. However when I cook for myself, whole wheat pasta is a great basis for a meal and delicious way to get some carbohydrates! I just like to make sure there are plenty of veggies and a lighter sauce involved, like in my dinner last night:

Smaller portion, tons of greens, home-made sauce:)
 
Here are some ways I make my pasta dishes healthier:
  • Use whole wheat pasta
  • Measure out a reasonable portion for one person
  • Add tons of veggies – usually my veggie to pasta ratio is at least 1:1
  • Use a lighter sauce such as a basic tomato sauce, a little bit of olive oil and garlic, or a fake cream sauce like the hummus/almond milk/ nutritional yeast version I made last night.
  • Include some sort of lean protein to round out the meal. I like shrimp, tofu, or the hummus in my sauce:)

 

I’m still experiementing with different pasta dishes – I’d love to make a baked casserole type dish sometime! And obviously sometimes a good cheesy heavy pasta is just what hits the spot.  But I guess the good news is that because I didn’t even realize I was facing an old fear food, its no longer a fear!  Take that eating disorder 🙂

 

  • What are some ways that you use pasta in healthy dishes?
  • Do you order pasta at restaurants?
 
 
4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2010 1:45 pm

    Hi! Thanks for dropping by my blog. I’m glad you did because I love yours! p.s. I don’t order pasta at restaurants much… Someone said recently that if it’s something you can make easily at home (like pasta) then it’s not “worth” ordering out. I really like adding veggies to pasta – spinach cooks in really well. And you should always add cheese… Cause you know, it’s dairy 😉

    • October 14, 2010 1:50 pm

      Another good point – pasta is so easy to do well at home!

  2. Emily permalink
    October 14, 2010 6:31 pm

    It’s crazy how you speak my mind. I’ll have pasta once in a blue moon because it still scares me. For some reason I think it’s easier to eat bread and potatoes for carbs, but pasta is just unheard of? My reasoning? I’d let you know if I knew! But that’s so awesome that you’ve been able to overcome that fear. Just the fact that you have pushed past two of my own fear foods gives me hope that it can be done!

    Needless to say, I won’t really order pasta out. When I do make it at home, I like to add spinach or cooked broccoli and tomato sauce. Sun dried tomatoes are a good addition too!

    • October 14, 2010 8:00 pm

      Emily,

      This is exactly why I started a blog. Because I would read things on other blogs and think “OH my god I am the EXACT same way” ..and it helped so much to know that it wasn’t just me! I’m glad you can see that there is life on the other side…eventually:) But yeah, I’ll eat sweet potatoes and bread all day long, but for some reason pasta is weird. Our minds are crazy.

Leave a Reply

