Skip to content

Following Dreams…Smartly

October 14, 2010

Hellooo! I just sent in my email to become a member of Healthy Living Blogs. This having a blog thing is becoming more and more real! I love it!

 

CLOTHES:

It works. It kept me warm. I’ll take it.

 

Sweater - Banana Republic, Tshirt - J Crew, Pants - Urban Outfitters, Heels - Target

 

 

FOOD:

I took pictures this morning so I could give you a step by step in how I make my apparently crazy breakfast. I thought this morning would be a good day to do it because I was going to make it in a pretty bowl and eat it at home. But then I was running late, as usual, so you get the tupperware version.

Here’s what I use. I guess it’s kind of a lot for a work day breakfast, but I usually make it the night before.


Step One: Make the pumpkin yogurt. I combine one container of Oikos Plain 0% with a big scoop of Libbys, 1/2 a packet of Stevia, a bunch of Pumpkin Pie Spice and a tsp of ground flax.

Step Two: Mix. *taste test*. I usually add a little bit of water since it thickens up in the fridge over night. I did that this morning too which was a dumb idea because I ate it 30 minutes later and it was too thin for my liking.


Step Three: Add half a sliced banana,  half a pear, and about 2/3 cup of cereal. I slice the pear, sprinkle on some cinnamon, and microwave it for about 20 seconds to soften it up.


So yeah. That’s it. It’s not very pretty when it’s mixed up, but it’s the taste that matters!


Lunch was leftover pasta from last night and a big honey crisp. Snack was oatmeal + Justin’s Maple Almond Butter. I freaking love Justin’s. I LOVE YOU, I LOVE YOU, I LOOOVEEE YOU! (Elf, anyone?) I also love the glass Pyrex containers I’ve been bringing my meals in. You can just heat it right in the container to avoid microwaving plastic! I brought my pasta and my oatmeal in them today. Good buy, mom.


 

Dinner was super lazy since I ran after work, but it was just what I wanted. I had a can of Amy’s Split Pea Soup (the most gross looking soup on earth) along with a sandwich made of a Laughing Cow wedge, spinach, and tomato on a sandwich thin.

Honestly, a lot more meals would look like this if it weren’t for the blog. But I’m glad that I’m cooking more – it is relaxing and I really do enjoy it! I’m thinking about another fruity smoothie for dessert, but that’s always up in the air. Last night my second dessert was left over brussel sprouts, so don’t count on me for much.


WORKOUT:

I shredded again this morning for strength training purposes. And so I had a reason to shower. I love doing the 30 Day Shred but I get kind of sick of hearing her same little jokes and mantras over and over again. I guess I should move up to Workout 3 but I’m scared.

I also ran 5 miles after work. I didn’t really want to and my hamstrings are tight from yoga, but that’s why I like to be in training – it makes me run! 5 hilly miles in around 43 minutes…average pace of around 8:45. I’m getting faster! WEEE!

TOPIC OF THE DAY: Following Your Dreams (In A Smart Way)

As I mention in my Career section, I have a great full time job. But I still can’t seem to get the idea of learning more  about the nutrition and health field out of my head. I don’t think that right now (4 months into a new job!) is the time to quit and go back to school — not only would I have to take out tons of loans, but I need to give my current job more of a chance! I do really like it, it’s just not health related. My current job also pays for me to get my MBA in a few years, and it would be stupid to give that up.

So I started looking into part-time certifications. I saw that Tina got hers through the AFPA, but she recommended Integrative Nutrition as a more legitimate program. I have been looking into Integrative Nutrition for the past couple of months, reading brochures and listening to lectures, but could not make a decision. Well, yesterday I decided it’s not for me. It’s almost $5000, a full year, and not recognized by anybody. If I’m going to start paying thousands, I’ll get a legitimate degree.

So now I’m flip-flopping between doing nothing (and letting this blog be my health outlet) or doing something smaller and cheaper like the AFPA. I like that it only takes 6 months, isn’t as hippy-ish as Integrative Nutrition, but would still give me a good basis for the eating and health questions I’m constantly asked. I don’t intend on quitting my current job, so this program would be purely for my own benefit.

So that’s how I’m trying to follow my dream without ruining my life. I don’t want to give up the great position I have now, the ability to save for my future, and a future masters degree, but I also don’t want to ignore my itch to learn more about nutrition. I completely admire those that drop everything, follow their passion, and have it all work out. Maybe I’m just not that brave. Or optimistic.

  • So what would you guys do? Just the blog? AFPA? Quit and become an R.D.?
  • How have you smartly followed your dreams?

My mom just asked what I wanted for my birthday. List making time!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. MC Mitsch permalink
    October 15, 2010 7:36 am

    LOVE your outfit from Oct 14. You inspire me to keep up with my fashion 😉

  2. MC Mitsch permalink
    October 15, 2010 7:44 am

    P.S. I’m all about following dreams. Money will follow. At the same time, what I have trouble differentiating between is something I want to keep as a passionate hobby and something I want to make a career out of…like horseback riding. I can’t live without horseback riding, but I don’t think my dream is necessarily to make my career out of training horses or something. So I guess you need to think about to what you think your passion in nutrition should amount. I wish I had a better answer! But it sounds like you’re on your way to figuring everything out! 🙂

    • October 15, 2010 9:04 am

      Thanks love. That passion vs. career thing is exactly what I’m dealing with right now. I’ll figure it out!!
      SO JEALOUS YOU MET MARK JACOBS

  3. October 15, 2010 12:06 pm

    Hello there. Just found your blog and I really like it!

    To answer your questions, I think earning a certification is smart, not just for improving blog content, but also for my family’s well being. I have considered becoming a personal trainer or a nutritionist, but the cards didn’t line up since I was already 3/4 of the way through a journalism degree. But it’s something I may consider now that I’m married and have a bit more career flexibility.

    And as for the second question, I’ve followed my goals “smartly” by not going overboard! It’s easy to get totally consumed in something, even blogging. But I try to keep my priorities in line even when I’m pursuing something I’m passionate about.

    Great post!

    • October 15, 2010 12:18 pm

      Hey Dana – Thanks! Seems like we’re both kinda in the same situation with already heading down another path. I think I’m going to seriously consider the AFPA certificate.

      And yes – it’s hard got to get too involved in just one thing (this blog is addicting!). Can’t wait to read your blog to see how you handle it all:)

  4. October 15, 2010 7:12 pm

    Hi! I just found your blog from Heather’s (HEAB) and I’ve been wondering about getting more education in nutrition. I’m a teacher with a Master’s degree in edcuation, but I’m ready to branch out into something else. I think you should go for it. If you have the means and the time, I say do it!

Trackbacks

  1. How I Started Eating Breakfast & Running « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

