Skip to content

Girlfriends and Muffins

October 15, 2010

Happy Friday! I woke up with a stuffy nose that keeps getting worse, so I’m home early tonight and taking it kinda easy.

I’ve been on an emotional roller coaster today due to friend issues. I usually ask my high school girlfriends to do something with me after work on Fridays (I ask through a thread we’ve all shared on Facebook since we started college. Great way to keep in touch!). Anyway, everytime I try to make plans to see a movie or go toย  a festival, the girls have tended to want to not do anything until going to a bar later in the night.This is frustrating me becuase

1. I like to do stuff!

2. I like to do stuff right after work on Fridays because it’s finally the WEEKEND and if I wait too long I’ll fall asleep:)

So I finally kinda vented and let the girls know it’s been bothering me that no one ever wants to hang out, which spurred lots of discussion and some not so kind words on my part. Thankfully after being almost in tears over feeling so far away from my friends, we ended up making plans to meet for drinks at 7:30. HOORAY! Set plans that don’t start at 11pm = exactly what I wanted. Plus, Kailey’s post got me pumped to go out!

I also decided that while I was just letting lose and telling them how I feel, I might as well take the risk and let them in on the blog. Thankfully they were super excited about it and it made me feel SO SO good. I had been really nervous about getting made fun of, so I am so relieved. Thanks guys:)

Outfit:

I went to yoga this morning and didn’t take a picture afterwards (you’re welcome). Then I classed it up a little bit for casual fridays too. I like this look and wish the top wasn’t so big on me! I also wish I hadn’t forgotten socks to wear with these booties.

 

Blazer: J.Crew, Shirt: Urban Outfitters, Jeans: Gap, Heels: Target

 

FOOD:

Breakfast was the same thing I’ve eaten all week, only because I had half a pear on its last leg. Otherwise I would have been more creative (that’s the story I’ll stick to). I did break open a new box of cereal though – I tried using Kashi Go Lean instead of my usual Cascadia Farms Kids and loveeddd the variety and crunch. Keeper.


Lunch was a Dr. Praeger’s on a sandwich thin with spinach, tomato, mustard, and vegan cheese. I had some edamame on the side and a big honey crisp.

Sometimes the classic sandwich + side combos are SO satisfying. Look at the size of this:

YUM. Snack was oatmeal + AB as usual. I need to think of another good snack to eat in the afternoons. I like the warmth of the oatmeal and the carb + healthy fat combo works when I run after work, but I really should mix it up. Ideas?

I picked up my race packet for Sunday after work and then headed home. All afternoon I had baking on my mind so I had to get it out of my system. I decided on muffins so that I could bring some to the girls, but didn’t want to have to buy any of the ingredients. After looking through some recipes from Mama Pea and Angela, I decided on a simple banana spelt muffin from Anne P! I followed her recipe with only a few substitions:

  • Used Whole Wheat flour instead of Spelt (ran out)
  • Used regular plain yogurt instead of Greek (only had one container left and I’m selfish:)
  • Used almond milk instead of skim (what I had)

They turned out GREAT! I made two with some pumpkin in the batter and a few with dark chocolate. I liked them all! They were so incredibly moist and gooey for a non-fat muffin. Nice work, Anne:) Would definitely make these again.

 

I had one for dinner with some scrambled egg whites + broccoli + Daiya + hot sauce. And then I had a chocolate chunk one for dessert.

 

I brought some to the girls and they liked them! Although eventually free restaurant bread and Sangria took over and the rest of the muffins got left alone. Can’t blame them.

I had a glass of red wine at the bar.

 

 

Deceiving - this was a mini glass about half the size of a pint glass.

 

It was so fun to see the girls! We sat out side and cracked each other up all night. I did end up leaving early because I’m not feeling well and don’t want to make myself more sick before my 10K on Sunday. It was so great to see them all though, and I’m working on Maggie to run some races with me!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

Cheers to the thread I believe??

 

 

so mature

 

I also ended up having another muffin and some slices of bread while out. Mostly because I was thirsty and our terribly waitress didn’t refill our glasses. My body also immediately tries to counteract any alcohol I put in it…I always end up eating to avoid getting drunk! Not the best recipe for feeling my best. And now that I’m home, I ‘m super snacky and had a tortilla with hummus and some random snack food, and a bunch of jolly ranchers.

***********************************************

I’m going to keep on watching some TV til I fall asleep. Hoping to maybe get to the farmers market and clean out my closet tomorrow morning before the Notre Dame game. And hoping to wake up healthy!

My little brother is en route to Rome to visit his GF right now – so jealous. Let’s all hope he has a safe flight!

Goodnight…hope you have a great start to your weekend!

 

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2010 8:27 am

    glad you liked them! ๐Ÿ™‚ next time try whole wheat pastry flour instead of regular ww – it works way better in muffins!

    • October 16, 2010 10:00 am

      Thanks, I will! I actually just put WW Pastry Flour on my shopping list:)

  2. irene permalink
    October 18, 2010 4:08 pm

    I don’t usually like kashi, cereal, or anything for breakfast that doesn’t have cheese/eggs/sausage in it, but Liz Hyde introduced me to Kashi autumn wheat, and it is delicious. You should try it

    • October 18, 2010 4:09 pm

      I’ve had that! It’s big and chunky…I eat it straight out of the box as a snack. You should make egg sandwiches for breakfast but make the healthier with egg whites, a slice of cheese, WW bread and some salsa or something!

Trackbacks

  1. A Pancake Experiment « Fitting It All In
  2. My Favorite Recipe Blogs « Fitting It All In
  3. I Swear I’m Not A Stalker « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

