Skip to content

A Pancake Experiment

October 16, 2010

It is a BEAUTIFUL Fall morning in St. Louis! Blue skies, sunshine, and 75 degrees. Makes me wish I had a run planned for today…but it’s a rest day instead.

I took some Sudafed PE Nighttime last night to help me sleep with this stuffy nose, and slept almost 10 hours! Woke up still full from so much snacking last night, so I took a hot shower, got made myself some hot tea with lemon, and got working on my to do list.

 

 

 

Barry's Irish Tea is the best:)

 

First stop: Cleaning out the closet. I like to do this a couple of times a year to make room for new clothes:) I usually sell what I can at Plato’s Closet at donate the rest to Goodwill. Getting rid of stuff is so FREEING.

Today was a little different, though, because I decided I was finally ready to get rid of the clothes I wore 30 pounds ago. I hadn’t been ready to give away these bigger clothes because I wasn’t confident in staying my current size, but it’s been a year now. I’ve maintained, I’m healthy, and I’m ready to let go.

 

Pile on the left = haven't wore recently, Pile on the right = too big

 

I’ve always had mixed emotions about giving away clothes that don’t fit anymore. I’ve been so many different sizes over the past couple years, and honestly it kinda sucks to give away cute clothes that you use to be able to wear! But I know that right now I am where I want to STAY, so keeping this stuff shouldn’t be necessary. I did keep some jeans in a size up just in case.

All packed up and ready to go!

BREAKFAST:

After all that trying on, I was finally ready for breakfast. I was in the mood for pancakes, but wanted to try a new recipe. (I usually make Angela’s Spelt Pancakes for 1). I looked through a bunch of different recipes for pumpkin pancakes and protein pancakes and banana pancakes, but decided to be a little frisky and create my own!

Here’s what I got out:

I ended up blending:

  • A huge 1/3 cup oats
  • ~ 1/4 scoop JRobb Vanilla Whey Protein Powder
  • Big 1/3 cup pumpkin
  • 1/3 cup Almond Milk
  • 1 Flax Egg (1 tbsp flax, 2 tbsp water)
  • Splash Vanilla
  • 1 tbsp Pumpkin Pie Spice
  • 1/3 packet Stevia

The batter was THICK when I put it on the griddle.

And I definitely didn’t get the consistency just right, or the giddle was just too hot (medium low?) because they burned on the outside and weren’t quite cooked through.

Oh well. They still tasted good, but could have had a stronger flavor.

It’s the TOPPINGS that made these pancakes! I used

  • One container of Plain 0% Oikos mixed with cinnamon and a packet of stevia
  • 1/2 banana smashed up with some cinnamon
  • a spoonful of TJ’s Pumpkin Butter

 

 

oooh baby

 

So sweet and creamy and satisfying. I enjoyed these with another cup of tea.

I did a rough calorie count and I think the pancakes alone came in at around 230 and the toppings around 150. Total that makes this breakfast a nice 380 calories. nice!

(Note: I didn’t like the blender method for mixing. Too much batter got wasted down in the bottom!)

*********************************************

 

NOW I need to get cracking on the rest of my to do list before this Notre Dame game starts! I might miss the beginning..eek!

Clean Out Closet

Breakfast

Sell/Donate Clothes

Farmers Market

Game/Paint Nails (one of these things is not like the other?)

Laundry

Grocery Store

Halloween Costume!

Dinner!

 

See ya later. GO IRISH!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    October 17, 2010 9:08 am

    Ugh, I have some pants that aren’t fitting me right now. Bought them last year when I wasn’t at a healthy weight. Of course I didn’t dream of not fitting into them this year, so when I tried them on and it was like a kid squeezing a teddy bear, it was hard to swallow. It’s tough not fitting into clothes when you aren’t content with your current weight. And to top it all off, these were one my my favorites. BUMMER! Trying not to get too hung up on it, maybe I’ll treat myself to a “healthy weight” jeans! Could be fun, right?! Haha but that’s awesome that you gave your clothes to Goodwill, it feels so good to do that! haha, no worries, football games are the perfect time for nails, you’r just sitting there, so why not?!

    • October 17, 2010 11:06 am

      Emily,

      I totally feel for you. I’ve been at so many different weights (too low, too high) and it sucks when your clothes don’t fit. It’s EXPENSIVE too 🙂 I had a favorite pair of jeans that got too big, then got too small, but now they fit just right and I love it. But if you KNOW these jeans aren’t the right size for you, just go out and find a new perfect pair. I bet they’ll even be better than the old ones!! It’s a huge first step to even recognize that they shouldn’t fit you.

      And thanks for making me feel better about the nails. At least I watched the game, right?? It’s all about multitasking

      Clare

Leave a Reply

