Skip to content

The Great Halloween Debate

October 18, 2010

It’s Birth Week! Yay!

I started my week with a Bikram class to stretch out my muscles from yesterday’s run. I was not nearly as sore as I had expected to be, which was nice.

Outfit:

Sometimes on Monday’s I like to go corporate. It helps me get back into work mode. I also had a development meeting with my boss, so I tried to look a little nicer:)

Speaking of which – my boss mentioned the Marie Claire article! Blogs came up in conversation and she happened to say she read it, and I got to talk to her a little bit about it. She didn’t know that I read any of those blogs, and I told her how the article used a lot of quotes out of context and that these women are not at all bad role models. I also mentioned that it started a good conversation in the blog world. She still doesn’t know about this blog though.  Notttttt yet.

FOOD:

I finally changed up my breakfast – no pumpkin yogurt! Instead I made whipped banana oats with some Justin’s Honey Almond Butter. I usually don’t like doing oatmeal for breakfast because I like to have it as my pre-run snack, but since I’m not running today it worked out.

My team went out to lunch at California Pizza Kitchen to celebrate a birthday and a new job. CPK actually has TONS of great options between salads, soups, lettuce wraps, and fun pizzas. I ended up getting minestrone soup and an asparagus & arugala salad. Both were delicious!! I didn’t take any pictures, but here’s what the salad looked like from the CPK website.

No picture of the soup. It’s a new item.

I had a honey crisp as dessert back at the office with a cup of mint tea. I’m going to go broke on honey crisps, but they are so satisfying!

Not even an hour and half later I was starting to get hungry (guess my lunch wasn’t that big?) so I had a Smores Luna Bar. And then I had a Oikos 0% Greek yogurt before I left work. Maybe my run yesterday is catching up with me?

Dinner satisfied another craving that I get every once in a while – waffle sandwiches.

I just microwave a bowl of eggwhites for one minute, drizzle maple syrup on top, and put it in between two toasted Van’s waffles. On the side I had some broccoli and yellow pepper.

FUN FACT: My grandmother was NOT a cook and had microwaved eggs and melon every day. I learned to pour syrup on ALL breakfast foods after spending so much time at her house. Pancakes, Eggs, Sausage…you name it.

Dessert will be coming up next. Did anyone notice that just after I shared my secret love of baker’s chocolate, HEAB wrote about it today too! How funny!

And now it is time for…..

THE GREAT HALLOWEEN DEBATE:

This is what I want to be for halloween.

source

This is what all the Nutcracker costumes look like:

source

Therefore I will be making my own. I rummaged around the house today and so far this is what I’ve got:

Not bad right? Now I just need the details – hat, yellow cuffs, mustache etc.

See, I’ve always been more of a “dress in a funny costume” type girl than a “let’s dress as slutty as we can” type girl. I know that sometimes it’s fun to look girly and cute – and yes, I’ve been a bumble bee and a girly leprechaun before – but I think that girls can dress skimpy enough on a regular weekend and Halloween is a fun time to be creative with costumes!

In the past I’ve dressed as one of my professors, mini mouse, and even a cow (not my best idea).

Halloween 2009

 

Halloween, Ireland, 2008

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • So where do you stand on Halloween Costumes? Do you like to do something funny and all out, or do you do the cute/sexy costumes?
  • What is your favorite costume EVER?

I didn’t eat any pumpkin today.

Goodnight.

 

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2010 8:00 pm

    Love the Nutcracker costume – so cute. I think my favorite costume was when I dressed all in blue and stuck big balls of white cotton all over myself and carried a water gun. I was “partly cloudy with a chance of showers”. Wasn’t my idea, but it got a lot of laughs. 🙂 Another favorite Halloween was when CD and I dressed as Mario and Luigi from Super Mario Bros. I had so much fun putting together those costumes and we carried big mushroom and star cutouts. Hilarious!

    Love CPK – their grilled veggie salad is one of my all-time favorites. Big chunks of avocado make me very happy.

    You looked so pretty and professional today. 🙂

    • October 18, 2010 8:17 pm

      Thanks for the compliment:) I love the partly cloudy with a chance of showers costume! So clever. Reminds me of the “Ceiling Fan” costume where you wear a Tshirt that says “Ceiling” on it and go around cheering.

      And I haven’t tried that salad from CPK but was tempted to! Next time.

  2. October 18, 2010 9:39 pm

    First, I bought some almond butter that was Justin’s I think! I found it at Whole Foods and I loved the ingredient list…almonds. HA! I got a sample of maple almond butter so I can’t wait to try it. I’ve never heard of it until I saw it.

    Halloween. I go for fun. Not too French maid, not too Scary Movie. I’m kinda boring that way. I’m looking forward MORE to dressing up my cat, Frankie. He’s not so thrilled.

    • October 19, 2010 8:52 am

      Try the maple! You’ll die. It’s amazing. I’ve been trying to make myself branch out and try different almond butters. So far I’ve tried MaraNatha, Trader Joe’s Unsalted, Barney Butter, and Justin’s. Justin’s might be my favorite…but they are all good!

      And as for your cat…show pictures! Sounds hilarious!

  3. squigglefloey permalink
    October 18, 2010 11:13 pm

    Ohhh! I love your costume it’s adorable!! What a great idea. I’ve also been more of a “cute” costume lover rather than the sexy ones marketed towards girls. But I haven’t been too creative — I usually just go with being a Pumpkin…I was a green crayon last year I think. Most are just really random! 😛

    • October 19, 2010 8:52 am

      Yeah mine have tended to be on the “cute” rather than sexy side. Except for the man and cow thing. Those weren’t cute.

  4. Melissa @ HerGreenLife permalink
    October 19, 2010 10:19 am

    I like that you created most of your nutcracker costume with stuff you already had around the house. I made a pretty cute pirate costume that way a few years ago. I am NOT a fan of just going out and buying a cheap Halloween costume (or a anything else, really) that will just be used once.

    • October 19, 2010 12:12 pm

      Thanks! Me too. I was excited to be able to put it together with stuff I already had. The rest should be able to be made pretty cheaply. So much more satisfaction when you can do it yourself!

Trackbacks

  1. Persian Food! « Fitting It All In
  2. New Goals « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

