Skip to content

When You Become Inexplicably Sad…

October 20, 2010

Vent to your best friend!


Around 4pm today I got randomly emotional and sad. I really couldn’t figure out why, but luckily LB was on Gchat to cheer me up. I think that subconsciously I knew that it was around the time I had planned on leaving for the airport to spend the weekend with Alex (work ended up not letting me take off). I also was NOT looking forward to my run after work, and got bummed out about that fact that I can no longer go for a run any time of day like I used to do in college.

Anyway, LB of course knew just what to say- that it was okay to complain sometimes, but that it could be the other way around – I could NOT have a full time job, NOT have a boyfriend, NOT have a blog I love and NOT be able to run at all. She was so right!! I have all these wonderful things in my life and I should be happy about that. Thanks, LB:)

WORKOUT:

Turns out that run I wasn’t looking forward to ended up being great! I had tons of energy (probably from some extra afternoon snacking 😉 ) and ended up running 7 miles in 1:01. Average pace: 8:47. I love how 7 miles was my long run a few weeks ago, and now its just a midweek fun run. Is it weird that I strategically plan my runs so that I can go on highway overpasses? I find it strangely empowering to run on top of all the cars.

After my run I did a 10 minute pilates video for abs. These are the two work out videos I use, FYI:

I love to do the flexibility 10 minute video in the morning, and the abs one really does make you feel it!

FOOD:

You guessed it – pumpkin yogurt mess for breakfast.

Lunch was another sandwich, side, and apple combo. I had a Dr. Praeger’s on a sandwich thin (which Heather made herself today!!)  with spinach, tomato, and hummus. Broccoli on the side and a honey crisp back at my desk for dessert.

I ate outside while enjoying the new issue of Cooking Light. Soaking up the sun while I still can.

I had my normal oatmeal + Justin’s AB for snack, but also snuck a bunch of  pretzels from the big jar at work. I was feeling quite full and a little angry with myself for snacking when I didn’t need it, but it ended up fueling the fantastic run I mentioned above. I also just end up having a smaller dinner on days when I have extra snacks, so it all evens out.

Dinner was SUPPOSED to include a green monster made with Kale, but my almond milk was spoiled:( Instead I made a quick pizza-inspired quesadilla before my volleyball game – spinach, pasta sauce, Daiya, and red pepper on a whole wheat wrap.

That ended up getting rolled up in aluminum foil and eaten as I dashed to my game. WE WON OUR FIRST GAME! Yes our first game, but we were sooo excited! What a great early birthday present!

And this present should be good too:)

Found that on the doorstep when I came home. Can’t wait to open it in the morning!

******************************************

I just had a Smores Luna Bar and am about to head to bed.

See ya tomorrow!


15 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2010 10:06 pm

    Another Shred lover! It’s seriously one of my favorite strength workouts… I don’t know what I would do without it!

    • October 20, 2010 10:12 pm

      Definitely! My strength training would be SERIOUSLY lacking without it!

  2. October 20, 2010 10:33 pm

    I saw you commented on Kath’s blog, and I came over here! I just wanted to say that I love St. Louis! I went to college there (Wash U), and now I’m about 1.5 hours away. I still visit my boyfriend there!

    I love reading bloggers from St. Louis because I know the places!! Haha.

    • October 21, 2010 9:28 am

      So great to hear from you! I feel like the St. Louis blogging community needs a little kick-start to get on the level of all those east coasters:)

      And yes, I’m falling in love with St. Louis all over again now that I’m an “adult” in the real world! Tons of fun festivals, cool restaurants, and beautiful parks. Next time you come visit, let me know!!

      • October 21, 2010 10:10 am

        I will let you know for sure! I’m running the St. Louis Track Festival Half November 7th. The races in St. Louis are just way better than the races in Springfield, Il!!

        Turning 21 in St. Louis was excellent!

        When I do long runs, I really miss forest park.

  3. squigglefloey permalink
    October 20, 2010 11:18 pm

    Glad you’re feeling better and able to be thankful for all the things you DO have 🙂 I know days go by when I forget about being thankful.
    xoxo.

    • October 21, 2010 9:29 am

      Definitely –it’s important to remember how lucky we are!

  4. laura permalink
    October 21, 2010 1:19 am

    just found your blog and I love it! i’ll definitely be reading regularly 🙂

  5. October 21, 2010 1:27 am

    That’s so great that you have someone to lean on, and someone who is wise enough to cheer you up like that! 🙂
    I think it’s important to know who to turn to when you’re down. Some people will just drag you down in the dumps more, while there’s others like your best friend LB who can lift you up!

    • October 21, 2010 9:30 am

      You’re so right — sometimes different friends have different purposes and it’s good to know who knows the right thing to say:)

  6. October 21, 2010 12:03 pm

    Mmm smores luna bars are THE best!

  7. October 21, 2010 12:37 pm

    I seem to always have great runs on bad days because I have alot more to think about to distract me from actually running. Glad you had a great 7 miles, and glad you are feeling better about things!

    • October 21, 2010 1:20 pm

      Thanks! Yah the same thing usually happens…it’s a struggle at the beginning but ends up being a great run!

Leave a Reply

