Skip to content

Twenty-Three

October 21, 2010

I have had an amazing birthday! Thank you to everyone that made it so special:)

I guess I’ll walk you through it.

I couldn’t sleep last night…don’t know why. But after tossing and turning until 1:30am I decided to go downstairs and open my package from Alex. He said I had to wait until my birthday…1:30am counts!

He made me another HILARIOUS card –like 10 pages of pictures and funny notes about my 22nd year! And also sent a big 6-picture frame with our favorite pictures in it (one for each month we’ve dated, right? 😉 ).

After staring at my presents for a while, I decided to head back up to bed and finally fell asleep.

WORKOUT:

I had a speed-work session planned at the gym before work, but I was exhausted!! I ended up only running 3 miles at various speeds, and then I walked the other one. Then I got ready, grabbed some free Kaldi’s coffee (<3 my gym), and headed to work.

I also got to take a PUMP class during lunch. I bought a “Ticket to Health” package through my company’s United Way campaign and today’s class was one of the options! I didn’t push myself TOO hard (didn’t want to get too sweaty before going back to work), but it was great to get some burn in my muscles. I wish I could go to these types of classes more often.

 

OUTFIT:

The chosen outfit for the birthday. I’ll call it “country comfort”:) Black skinny pants from Urban, flats from Bakers, and my new plaid shirt and belt from Target!


I’d been looking at plaid shirts for a while, but was being super picky about the color and pattern. Nothing TOO country, but nothing too pink and green and girlish either. I thought this was a nice in between, and gotta love the Target price!


DAY FOOD:

Pumpkin yogurt mess for breakfast. Amy’s black bean burrito over some spinach salad for lunch. Honey crisp for dessert.

My co-workers know me too well and decided to forgo the usual quadrouple chocolate cake in favor of some whole grain cookies from the market next door! LOVE.

I guess they noticed that I typically don’t have a slice of cake at other people’s celebrations, although I definitely would have on my own birthday! These cookies are fantastic though and it was super thoughtful. They are called “Mookies” and are made with whole grain flour, flax seed, sesame seeds, etc.  They brought me two flavors – Cranberry Walnut and Peanut Butter.


I had one of each as my afternoon snack with some Tazo Refresh tea. I can’t decide which flavor I love more! Definitely need to go back and try the other flavors this company makes. I managed to pawn lots of them off on other people so I wouldn’t do all the damage myself 🙂

I also received an adorable hand-made card signed by all my co-workers. I work with fantastic people.

********************************

NIGHT FOOD:

After work I ran some errands. I got some new almond milk and replenished my Greek yogurt, honey crisps, and Justin’s packets. I also picked up a dinner treat – Crazy Bowls! I got my usual tofu veggie bowl, brown rice, jalepeno cilantro sauce, light rice, extra veggies.

 

Purple Cabbage:)

 

 

And and 8 I’m meeting the girls at Yo My Goodness, one of the self-serve fro-yo places! I think they have pumpkin pie fro-yo….

********************************

 

Aside from all that goodness, I received countless birthday text messages, phone calls, facebook messages, and hugs. I got BEAUTIFUL roses sent to me at work from Alex (he is amazing), AND!!! the Groupon was for Shangri La vegetarian diner in St. Louis! Has anyone tried it before?? I can’t wait.

 

I am so so lucky to have such wonderful friends and family. 23 is going to be a fantastic year!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    October 21, 2010 9:58 pm

    happy birthday!

  2. October 21, 2010 10:01 pm

    Happy Birthday!!

    I haven’t tried Yo My Goodness. I’ll have to try it next time I’m in St. Louis. The town I’m in now has no self serve frozen yogurt places. It sucks.

  3. Julia permalink
    October 22, 2010 10:13 am

    Happy Belated! Just found your blog through HTP. I love that plaid shirt by the way. Fabulous.

    • October 22, 2010 10:36 am

      Thanks for reading!! (And for the birthday wish and shirt compliment!)

  4. Danielle permalink
    October 22, 2010 11:12 am

    passion tea is my favorite – fyi
    love, john

    • October 22, 2010 11:50 am

      Good to know. I always try fruity teas and they kinda make me sick. The mint has worked, but the grocery store was out last night 😦

  5. October 22, 2010 2:55 pm

    What a fantastic birthday! Love the outfit- so cute! And your man sounds like such a doll! Great job on the gifts- big applause to him. Doesn’t pump rock? I teach it and just love it to bits. Awesome to get a full body workout in, in 1 hour! Hope you have a great weekend- keep on celebrating

    • October 22, 2010 3:20 pm

      I definitely love Pump and wish that I knew of a place in St. Louis that had the real Body Pump! Also, my gym caters to stay at home mom’s so the times of the class do not work with my schedule 😦 I had weight training on my own.

Leave a Reply

