Skip to content

A Monster Sandwich

October 22, 2010

Yo My Goodness did indeed have pumpkin pie fro-yo last night, making my birthday even better:) I got a combo of pumpkin pie, tart, and strawberry and topped it with reeces pieces, m&ms, cookie dough, and brownie bites.

YUM

LB brought “trick” candles so they could sing to me, but the candles burned right out anyway. Looks like SHE’S the one that got tricked! (terrible, terrible joke.)

****************************************

On to Friday….

 

Workout:

This morning I managed to get up for Bikram yoga. Fridays are always super crowded, probably because there is a really hilarious teacher. She was out of town today, and the sub was way calmer than her, but it was a great class anyway.

I also had my second free class from my United Way package — “relaxation yoga” after work. It was DEFINITELY relaxation and not at all difficult. That’s exactly what I wanted though…lots of light stretching and meditation. A great end to the week.

Outfit:

I think I took Casual Fridays to a whole new level.

Sweater - Polo Outlet, T - J. Crew, Jeans - Express, Shoes - Michael by Michael Kors

Luckily I can get away with pretty much anything at work. I just wasn’t feeling anything dressy today!

FOOD:

I switched up breakfast today and had my quick version of whipped banana oatmeal with Justin’s PB. As I mentioned in my previous post, I met Maggie and Molly at Chipotle for lunch! They weren’t able to get frozen yogurt last night, so this was my birthday treat from them:)

I got so caught up in seeing them that I forgot to snap a pick. I got a salad with black beans, fajita veggies, tomato salsa, corn salsa, medium salsa, and guac. YUM. And then of course I had a honey crisp back at the office.

I ended up having a Smores Luna Bar for dessert, and then the Friday afternoon snack attack was cured with a couple handfuls of pretzels.

***************************

All week I’ve had grilled veggies sandwiches on my mind. I’ve been having so many Fall soups and chilis that a regular old sandwich sounded like a nice change! Plus I had eggplant and squash to use up:)

I didn’t have any particular recipe, but here’s what I got out to work with:

I used my mini George Foreman (a full sized one would have made life much easier) to grill all the veggies with some cooking spray, basil, and garlic powder.

I also grilled some garlic that I rubbed on two pieces of Ezekiel bread:

After I finished grilling, this was the finished pile of goodies I had to stack on:

 

 

Clock wise from top left:  some fresh basil from our plant, grilled squash, a hunk of asiago, grilled eggplant, grilled red pepper, grilled onions, spinach, and a tomato slice in the center. I was super excited to see some Pesto in the fridge, but it had expired in September. These lovely finds happen often in the Brady refrigerator, sadly.

Then this happened:

 

So getting this massive sandwich pressed down didn’t work out too well….but the end result was delicious!

I had a bunch of the leftover veggies on the side, and then made myself a little tasting plate of new goodies I picked up at a local health store. I went in to get some Medjool dates that I want to try during tomorrow’s 12 miler. I like my GU gels, but if the dates work I think I’d prefer the natural fuel.

 

Chocolate covered ginger, a Medjool date, regular spirulina, chocolate spirulina

Verdict? The chocolate covered ginger was intense. Not a huge fan. I liked both spirulinas, but don’t really know how I would incorporate them into my diet. And the date was yummy, but for some reason totally forgot that there would be a pit!

  • Do you guys eat any of these things?

And now I’m sitting on the couch watching TLC and snacking on some desserts – baking chocolate,  2 jolly ranchers, and 4 starbursts. I have officially declared the kitchen CLOSED. (Edited to add: aside from the Busch Light I just got from the basement…because its FRIDAY and I’m at home. Beer is a necessity, even if it’s not good beer:) )

****************************************

The plan is to get in my 12 miler early tomorrow before the ND game (at 11am..whaa??) and babysitting at 12:15. It’s supposed to rain ALL WEEKEND, but tomorrow morning just says “light showers” while the rest of the weekend has thunderstorms. I figured it’s my best shot….

Goodnight!!

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2010 10:03 pm

    Pumpkin Pie FroYo. I must go there when I’m in St. Louis!! I think it will be my after half marathon treat!

  2. Emily permalink
    October 22, 2010 11:25 pm

    Sandwich looks delish! I love grilled veggies, eggplant is my favorite. We must have the same size Foreman though, cause mine will never press down unless I literally lean on it. Oh, and just like the middle of the sandwich gets grilled…fail. Hah! Cute sweater, the green is so fun!

    • October 23, 2010 8:11 am

      Thanks! It was, but the pesto would have made it sooo much better 😦 Next time I’ll probably just use a stove top pan and some bricks.

      And green is my favorite color!

  3. October 23, 2010 10:15 am

    I had pumpkin pie fro-yo last night too! Isn’t that stuff amazing?

    Love that monster sandwich. I tend to overfill them too and end up eating everything with a fork.

    Good luck on the run!

    • October 23, 2010 12:00 pm

      Yess!! Anything pumpkin is amazing:)

      And yeah, I wanted the sandwich for the veggies anyway so I didn’t mind.

      Just finished the run…update to come!

  4. October 24, 2010 11:25 am

    Pumpkin Pie Frozen Yogurt!!! Yum! I love love that sandwich, it looks great!

  5. October 24, 2010 11:44 am

    I have not gotten frozen yogurt in St. Louis yet. I don’t know what my problem is! Pumpkin pie sounds so good. I need to do that ASAP!!

    • October 24, 2010 1:31 pm

      Definitely do! I’ve only tried Yo My Goodness, but they are popping up everywhere!

  6. October 24, 2010 4:24 pm

    The grilled vegies look yummy. I am trying to eat healthier, so I have to skip the tempting treats you had.

    • October 24, 2010 4:31 pm

      Eating healthy doesn’t have to mean no treats at all!! I tried that and ended up binging on treats later. Although I could use a clean up in my diet…I’ve had TOO many treats lately!

Leave a Reply

