Skip to content

How I Started Eating Breakfast & Running

October 22, 2010

I’m preparing a regular post for later tonight (including some intense grilled veggie sandwiches) but wanted to quickly write about a conversation that came up at lunch today.

I met two of my girlfriends for a post-birthday lunch, and among other hilarious conversations, we talked about breakfast and running. The girls were talking about how they don’t have (or make) time for a good breakfast, and also how they “cant” run. Eating a big breakfast and running were both crucial parts of my road to health, so I wanted to address them individually.

DISCLAIMER: I am not a Registered Dietitian or Personal Trainer. These are tips are from my own personal experience. Always check with your doctor before you start anything new:)


BREAKFAST:

I always had something but it was usually just a Dannon Light ‘n Fit yogurt or a granola bar. I was usually starving by lunch,  but I didn’t like the idea of eating so many calories so early in the day (what if I eat extra later?!  Life will end!). After reading so many blogs, especially Kath’s, I finally caught on that a big breakfast was a probably good thing. I’ll admit I was super nervous the first time I made Kath’s oatmeal. 400 calories at breakfast!  But it was DELICIOUS, and I wasn’t  starving an hour later. By eating a bigger breakfast, I was able to avoid snacking or binging later in the day, I was satiated by smaller amounts at my next meals, and did I mention it was delicious? I literally had a bowl of whipped banana oats with pumpkin and almond butter for breakfast every day of second semester.

 

Breakfast from January, 2010:)

Now that I’m working I had to figure out some new ways to get in a good breakfast. Stove top oats just aren’t in the cards most mornings, especially when I exercise before work. Here are the breakfasts I usually have now:

I like that these are easy take to work, and that I can either make them the night before or as I’m checking email in the morning. (Most offices these days have microwaves or hot water).

For my friends that say they just can’t possibly get up a minute earlier to get in a good breakfast, here are my tips:

  1. Find a breakfast you LOVE. And I mean love as in it gets you out of bed in the morning because you can’t wait to eat it. For me it was my oatmeal:)
  2. Make it ahead of time! It might seem like more work the night before, but it is so worth it to be able to just grab it on the way out the door.
  3. If you can’t possibly do either of these things, at least have some easy to grab items that can combine into a decent breakfast – yogurts, bananas, apples, healthy bars like Lara or Luna, or portioned bags of nuts. If you combine a few of these things it will work out to be a good sized breakfast that incorporates fruit, carbs, and healthy fats.
  4. Once your body gets used to eating a bigger breakfast (since often people say that just aren’t very hungry in the morning), it will crave it. And your life will get infinitely better. 🙂

RUNNING:

As it says in my “work outs” section, I was a self-proclaimed Non Runner. A few times a year I would maybe be able to do two miles on a treadmill if the ellipticals were full, but never more than that and never outside. But again after reading so many inspirational blog stories, I decided to give it another try. I was already in decent cardiovascular shape, so one day I went outside and just ran for 30 minutes. I just didn’t stop, no matter how much I wanted to.

Holy Half Marathon, April 2010

Looking back, I think my two biggest problems when I had attempt to run were that I didn’t have a goal and I didn’t know my pace. I would start out way too fast, get winded quickly, and just stop. So here are my tips for new runners:

  1. Have a goal – whether it be a certain amount of time or a set distance. It can start out as 5 minutes or half a mile, but having some goal will prevent you from stopping when you get a little tired.
  2. Start out SLOW! You can always pick up the pace later if you are feeling good, but starting too fast will set you up for a quick burn out.
  3. To make both of these things way easier, get a GARMIN WATCH! It is invaluable for knowing your distance and pace. I ended up asking for mine for Christmas, and got a 405 which I love. It’s expensive, but I definitely get my money’s worth.
  4. Use a website like MapMyRun to plan a course, especially if you don’t have a Garmin. This way, you’ll know how far you are running and where to go. If you have a course pre-planned in your head you are much less likely to stop half-way through.
  5. Eventually, sign up for a race! Even a 5K will be a great goal and motivate you to run even on days you’re not quite in the mood.

Obviously running isn’t for everybody, and it doesn’t have to be. But if you’re interested in getting started, hopefully these tips will help! I am SO glad I got up the courage to go outside and try it last Thanksgiving. I have fallen in love with it and there is no greater feeling than completing a challenging run or setting a new distance record!

****************************************

Again, these are just my experiences. If you guys have any other questions about my breakfast or running, please ask! And if you want to know about any other changes I made to get healthy, let me know:)

  • What changes did you make to get healthy?
3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2010 8:42 pm

    I used to just grab a granola bar in college for breakfast! It didn’t keep me full enough. I eventually realized it just wasn’t working. I can’t imagine not eating breakfast! I’d be so hungry.

    For a quick breakfast, I love to have yogurt with a high protein frozen waffle (like Van’s!). It keeps me full for a while.

    I think for me racing was key for liking running! I just love the race feel.

    • October 22, 2010 8:44 pm

      Looks like we had similar experiences! I love Vans waffles too, with yogurt and PB on top. They are usually a weekend breakfast for me, though.

Trackbacks

  1. Dinner Mistake « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

