Skip to content

A Date Review

October 24, 2010

So sorry I didn’t post yesterday  – my computer wouldn’t accept the wireless at the house where I was babysitting. In fact it won’t pick up wireless anywhere but my house…it always says “Your wireless configuration has been changed by another program”. Anyone know what that means?

****************************************

Anyway, I woke up to NO RAIN for my 12 miler! In fact it still hasn’t rained much (Sunday morning) but apparently it’s on the way.

I had my pre-run breakfast of toast with almond butter and banana and coffee.


I tried a new bread – Ezekiel 7 grain. I had just had 100% whole wheat before, and love this one even more! Dough-ier I think?

 

mmm actual bread, not a sandwich thin. I could get use to it:)

Anyway, I headed out on my run. I had a few different course options in my head depending on what I was feeling and when I needed water/bathroom breaks. I brought a GU gel with me in case I just wanted to keep running, but ended up swinging back by my house around mile 8.

The Date Review:

I had 2 dates and almost a whole Gatorade G2. The dates were delicious and gave me some energy, but I don’t think I like them as running fuel. I originally wanted to bring them with me, but then realized they are way too big to fit in the pocket of my running pants (I looked like I had some lumpy butt growth). Also, you have to eat around 5 to get 100 calories, and that is just too much food in my stomach in the middle of a run. Even the 2 was pushing it.

So I’ll probably go back to GU gels (and maybe try chomps?) for the rest of my runs. They are just much more convenient to carry and less to consume for the same energy boost.  Sorry dates. I’ll wrap you in veggie bacon and eat you that way:)

***

My run really wasn’t very mentally challenging, even though I had never run more than 9 alone previously. My legs were getting tired and I was anxious to get back for the Notre Dame game (great game btw. seriously? ugh.) That’s my same problem with running before work…I hate knowing I am in a time crunch!

My Garmin says 12 miles in 1:52:33 with an average pace of 9:23. However, I forgot to stop the clock during a bathroom break so I’ll give myself a few minutes. It wasn’t super fast, but I think that if I push myself I could come in at a 2 hour half marathon! SO, barring any illness, injury, or other extreme circumstance, I think it is reasonable to say my goal is to run around a 2 hour half marathon. And I’m happy with that.

 

*************************************

After a little bit of stretching, showering, and icing, I made a post-run breakfast. I had a green monster made with spinach, unsweetened vanilla almond milk, chocolate amazing grass powder, half scoop vanilla jay robb protein powder, half a frozen banana, and some ice.

I also had an egg sandwich on REAL whole wheat bread with egg whites, soy cheese, a tomato, and siracha.

Then it was off to babysit! I was babysitting for a couple that was going to the Mizzou/Oklahoma football game. The father actually grew up next door to me…and now I babysit his kids. Weird!

Throughout the day I ate myself into uncomfortable fullness. I had a ginormous honeycrisp and a luna bar that I brought along. I also had some handfuls of pretzels and rice cakes. However, I felt the need to finish any food the kids started…which meant TONS more snack food.

Dinner was pizza that I picked the pepperoni off of 😦 I think I had around 3 slices between my own and finishing the kid’s leftovers. I also had a bunch of Girlscout cookies for dessert – trefoils and thin mints!


 

x a billion

I seriously think there was constantly something going into my mouth.

Anyway, the rest of the day was spent playing with these cuties!

"I am SO over the cat in the hat"




The parents didn’t end up getting back until 3 am. I had been dozing on the couch, and was super out of it! I have not seen 3 am in a looooong time! They offered to let me stay the night, but I was up and just wanted to get home. Needless to say I’m in a bit of a haze today and am super glad I got my run in yesterday:)

And that was Saturday.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    October 24, 2010 4:25 pm

    Kids are precious…but draining. I babysat two girls–2 and 4–all summer. phewwwwwwww. Granted they were pretty well behaved, but my gosh. It’s a work out. And I thought I was a picky eater, hah!
    Thin Mints are the best. My mouth is actually craving them right now. Is it Girl Scout season?!?! Sadly, I’m thinking it’s not..

  2. October 24, 2010 4:33 pm

    Tell me about it! I was joking that yesterday was a great form of birth control 🙂
    And I’m not sure…I think girlscout cookies are spring? But I wasn’t going to pass those up!

  3. squigglefloey permalink
    October 24, 2010 8:24 pm

    Kids are adorable but they’re SO much work! Taking care of little ones is a workout in itself it seems. 🙂 glad u had a nice wknd though!

    • October 24, 2010 8:32 pm

      I know! Remind me to never run 12 miles before babysitting every again!

Leave a Reply

