Skip to content

New Goals

October 24, 2010

I slept until 11am after going to bed at 3 am last night. My stomach was feeling a little funny after my eats yesterday, but it was craving PUMPKIN for breakfast!

I made myself a pumpkin pie smoothie and had it with 2 Vans waffles + maple syrup.

Into the smoothie went:

  • 1/2 cup Libbys pumpkin
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • tons of pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon
  • 1/3 scoop Jay Robb vanilla protein powder
  • some xantham gum, some stevia powder
  • ice

*************************

On the way to church I munched on a cereal sample I received at last weekend’s 10K.

The rest of the day included blogging, Target, and the fabric store to get some things for my Halloween costume! Apparently Hancock Fabrics thinks St. Louis is a big market for Notre Dame snuggies?

Eats throughout the afternoon include the last of a butternut squash that I roasted….

my last two dates….

a baby apple (well, baby compared to the usual honey crisps!)

and a few hersheys kisses.

Then, after I picked my parents up from the airport, we had our first approximation of a “family dinner” in a long time! John came over and we picked up Bread Company (Panera) on the way home. My dad had texted John & I earlier in the day inviting us to “family dinner”, which I have learned means nothing because my mother has no intention of cooking. John doesn’t know this yet, and was expecting more than Bread Co. when he decided to come over. Even so, it was great to have everyone together to recap my parent’s trip and talk about life!

I had a you-pick-two with black bean soup and the orchard chicken salad (no chicken, no gorgonzola). Whole wheat bread on the side. I put it on a plate so it felt more like a real meal.

And I just had a deep chocolate Vitatop with a little bit of pumpkin butter on top. MMMM so glad I bought Vitatops again!

*********************************

In the past couple weeks my snacking and sweets intake has been a little out of control. I have no problem treating myself or snacking if I’m truly hungry, but I need to cut back on handfuls of jolly ranchers, hershey’s kisses, and starburst I’ve been having. My face doesn’t appreciate all that extra sugar, and it makes me feel sluggish.

So my goal for this week is to limit my mindless snacking and sweets. I will have dessert if I am truly hungry or craving it, but I will make myself the dessert, sit down to eat it, and be finished. Hopefully this will help me feel my best leading up to my Florida visit and then the half marathon the next weekend!

Additionally, sometimes I’m really bad about my artificial sweetener. Between diet sodas, other zero calorie drinks, and adding stevia to some foods, I can tend to overdo it. But sometimes I go back and forth between whether or not stevia should count as artificial sweetener. Do I need to limit my stevia at all??

On a side note…has anyone noticed what I am completely failing to “fit in”???

HARP LESSONS.

Ugh. My teacher and I have an agreement that I’ll call her when I want a lesson, but I just can’t motivate myself to do it. I know I need to, but I always have a training run or something else to do! I just need to schedule the lessons so that I have to go and I have to practice (the same way signing up for a race makes me run!). So add that to my goals…I WILL start taking harp lessons before this year is over!!


  • What are you slacking on lately?
  • Any new goals you are setting for yourself?
5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2010 12:36 am

    I’ve been slacking in eating well, too. I have the same problem as you, except my snacks are more like meals in that they’re sandwiches, nuts, eggs, etc. I’m more into the savory stuff. It’s ruining my appetite for proper meals!

  2. squigglefloey permalink
    October 25, 2010 1:35 am

    I know how you feel about wanting to limit your artifical sweeteners. I wonder if sometimes I’m overdoing it, esp. since it’s winter and I have hot tea a lot with equal or sweet n low.
    Good luck this week, I’m sure you’ll do fine as you seem to be so disciplined with your life. It’s not easy to run that many miles!

    ps. Where do they carry VANS waffles? they look so yummy!

    • October 25, 2010 9:23 am

      Glad to know I’m not the only one with the artificial sweetener issue. And thanks – hopefully if I have set goals I can try to stick to them!!

      And almost all major grocery stores in St. Louis are carrying at least one Vans product these days, but Whole Foods has the best selection. Also little health food stores tend to carry some. Try to find them…they’re great!

Trackbacks

  1. Perfect Timing « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

