Skip to content

My Nerdy Lunchbox

October 25, 2010

Happy 2 months until Christmas!!

I’m one of those people that can listen to Christmas music anytime of year and has no problem with decorations being out early. Why wait to celebrate??

 

Outfit:

Today’s was pretty classic, but I spiced it up with the shoes:)

Shirt - A&F, Belt - Target, Pants - H&M

I got the shoes at my company’s shoe sale where everything is $5. They are VERA WANG and a teensy bit small and slightly cut off my circulation, but I make them work. Because they are Vera Wang. And they make me feel edgy.

 

WORKOUT:

I did the level 3 Shred this morning before work. I was debating between the level 2 and 3, but the shadow boxing with weights was calling my name. I’m a big freak.

I also ran 6 miles after work…6 hilly, windy miles. (We’re supposed to get tornadoes tonight). Garmin says 53:20 with a pace of 8:53. For the first time my knees felt a little achy, which makes me nervous, but it wasn’t anything major. I think I’ve been using my calves to run more than my thighs. Is that wrong? I don’t know proper running technique.

 

FOOD:

I made my breakfast and lunch last night, as usual. Breakfast was my yogurt bowl (which I’m thinking of switching up. Either deconstructing or putting less ingredients in it. This was caused by my “mindful eating” experiment earlier. I feel like separating the foods and using less will allow me to more enjoy what is there. Thoughts?”

Lunch was my leftover eggplant and squash, topped with spinach, quinoa, pasta sauce and some nutritional yeast. It was actually really good, but when I saw Angela’s recipe I wished I had made that instead.

So I thought I’d show you how I take my food to work.

That is what it looks like –breakfast, lunch, and snack. And that would be my super nerdy lunch box from Target. I carry it around my wrist like it’s some designer handbag. But I love it:)

I stick in these two little freezable coolers that I got from a tupperware set to keep it all cold and I don’t even need to use a fridge during the day!

Pre-run snack was oatmeal + Justin’s PB.

Then for dinner I decided to make tuna salad wraps using a new ingredient: Nayonaise!

Real mayonnaise kinda grosses me out (mostly for health reasons, even though I know it’s fine in moderation!) But I decided to try this instead.

Taste test….

Loved it! It actually tasted like mayo – although my mother says its “nowhere as good as the real thing”. But I think its awesome and my dad liked it too.

For the salad I mixed one can of tuna packed in water, 2 stalks of celery, 1 carrot, and some onion. I put in 1 TBSP Nayonaise, a blob of spicy mustard and some garlic and pepper.

Mixed it all up with a fork and got this:

I put half of the mixture on a whole wheat wrap with some spinach and a little bit of Daiya cheese, then grilled it up on my mini George Foreman (which sucks and burns things on the top). With some grilled asparagus, I had dinner!

 

I ate it while flipping through the new J.Crew catalog. Ugh, I want everything from that store. Every single outfit is so adorable.

Time for some Dancing With The Stars, possibly dessert, and bed!

 

 

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. squigglefloey permalink
    October 25, 2010 8:55 pm

    Omg I love your shoes! When I see them they look hard to pull off, but you definitely did. I need a nerdy lunchbox too. I tend to just put my Tupperware in my plastic bag, which doesn’t always do the trick.

    • October 25, 2010 9:05 pm

      Thank you!! They kinda make me nervous too, but I decided to go for it.
      And yeah the lunch box is awesome, especially with the ice packs so I don’t need a fridge.

  2. October 25, 2010 9:01 pm

    I have come to the conclusion that there is no cool way to carry a lunch box. I look like I am transporting an organ for a transplant or something.

    • October 25, 2010 9:05 pm

      hahah I know! Everyone else just brings plastic grocery store bags…but mine is cuter, right??

  3. October 25, 2010 9:53 pm

    I can’t find a cute lunch bag that will hold all of the food I need for a day!

    I’m lucky, and I get an hour for lunch. I live super close, so I just go home every day!

    • October 26, 2010 9:11 am

      I wish so badly that I could go home for lunch! Lunches would be so much more exciting:)
      Also – this Target bag is HUGE and holds everything, including coffee mugs and things! I

  4. October 26, 2010 1:59 pm

    love those shoes!

  5. October 26, 2010 3:52 pm

    Those shoes are super cute! : )
    I like that you griled the tuna wrap! It looks great!

    • October 26, 2010 4:09 pm

      Thanks! I had forgotten that we had the George Foreman so now I”m all about using it:)

  6. November 24, 2010 1:24 pm

    i would always love to hear those christmas music with a very happy tune ‘-:

Leave a Reply

