Skip to content

Perfect Timing

October 25, 2010

Just after writing a post about my goal to stop snacking, I got to attend a talk on mindless snacking! The third part of the Ticket to Health package I purchased is a speaker series (the first part being the massage and acupuncture, the second being the fitness classes I took last week).

Today’s talk was called Taking Care of You: Body Mind and Spirit  and was led by Mary Wissmann, a local MS, RD, and LD. After working as a registered dietition and getting frustrated when clients would SAY they were going to eat healthy but not actually DO it, she decided to look at the bigger picture of health. (This reminded me a lot of Integrative Nutrition).

The first thing Mary taught us was that when we are feeling overwhelmed and stressed, we have the choice to acknowledge our stressors and put them away. At that moment when our thoughts are aside, all is well. I have heard this lesson in my Bikram classes too, as a way to calm our minds during Savansana.

Next Mary taught is that stress manifests itself in our “Triangle of Awareness” – our feelings, thoughts, and body sensations. One important takeaway was our choice to React or Respond. Reacting is the negative manifestation of stress and causes tons of stress hormones in our body. It includes things like overeating, anger, and denial. Responding, on the other hand, is the positive manifestation (although some stress hormones are still released). It includes channeling our stress into exercise, journaling, or learning lessons.

We did two exercises during the program. The first was on Mindful Eating. She told us to take our desired portions of 3 foods – dark chocolate, wheat thins, and strawberries. What we chose didn’t matter, but we had to choose one and study it intensely. Then we had to take a bite and hold it in our mouths to experience the aroma, taste, and texture. Only then were we allowed to chew and swallow. The point was to take the time to enjoy our food, no matter what it is! The same goes for indulgences. We should actually enjoy what we are eating instead of scarfing it down and feeling guilty about it.

I think I could definitely use this lesson to help with my mindless snacking. Often when I was grabbing starbursts or chocolates, I wasn’t actually tasting them. I should realize WHY I am eating (is it because of stress and something I can RESPOND to?) and then actually take the time to savor the foods I choose to eat.

The other excercise was my favorite. Mary gave us a hand out that said “Life is too short to…” and “Life is too short not to…”. We had two minutes to fill out each section. Mary then told us to look for commonalities in our lists. These lists help us to realize what we value and what is important to us. She said we need to make sure we aren’t wasting time on things we don’t truly value, and that we are making time for things we do!

Here were my lists:

Life is too short to:

  • Let food control what I do
  • Skip plans with friends
  • Worry what other people think
  • Not spend any money because you might “need it later”
  • Let important relationships slide

Life is too short not to:

  • Eat dessert
  • Go after your dream job
  • Take a day off
  • Let your hair get wet
  • Have a few drinks
  • Laugh with friends
  • Appreciate your family
  • Indulge every once in a while
  • Splurge on a massage
  • Embarrass yourself
  • Stay up late

I found the “not to” list way easier to make, but I definitely don’t always live by my lists. Too often I hear myself saying “I don’t want to get in the pool, I’ll have to redo my hair!” or “I shouldn’t drink tonight, it’s too many calories”. But these are the things that make life FUN! I’m glad I was able to write them down and recognize it!

  

So I’m curious….what would your lists say??

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    October 25, 2010 6:24 pm

    Girl, your lists were right on the nose. But let’s see…

    Life is too short to:
    -worry about making everyone else happy, ALL the time
    -not enjoy every day
    -forgo mixed drinks and a couple beers!
    -stress about every school/work assignment

    Life is too short not to:
    -eat dessert whenever you truly want it
    -take random road trips
    -LOVE

    • October 25, 2010 8:10 pm

      LOVE your additions!!
      Especially the making everyone else happy all the time one:)

      Glad you liked mine, too.

  2. October 25, 2010 8:40 pm

    I totally agree about the mindless eating – I find myself doing that sometimes too. Then I stop and think, “okay why are you actually eating? Are you bored, procrastinating, upset, etc.?” Usually that can help me figure out why I’m eating and stop!

    Life’s too short to:

    – try to control everything
    – be jealous
    – have enemies
    – focus on little things (something I really need to work on)

    Life’s too short not to:

    – love
    – follow dreams
    – eat chocolate & feel good about it
    – sit at home!

    • October 25, 2010 8:44 pm

      Love it! Totally agree with the too short not to sit at home. I love getting out and DOING stuff!

Trackbacks

  1. My Nerdy Lunchbox « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

