Skip to content

No Tofu Tacos??

October 28, 2010

Hi Guys!

Sad day in South Bend. A Notre Dame student died yesterday in an accident while filming football practice. Please pray for him and his family. Here is an article on the incident.

*************************************

Moving on. Yesterday afternoon was just a marathon of eating. I ate my lunch in small parts and then continued to snack all afternoon. Here’s a photo tour:

Sweet potato

Brussel sprout salad, minus the raw shrimp:)

0% Plain Oikos + Honeycrisp

Smores Luna Bar (the quote on the back is my favorite part:) )

Grapefruit that I did not have the proper utensils to eat with

 

+ Unpictured handful of pretzels. (BTW I don’t always show you guys everything I eat. Just an FYI so no one is comparing/concerned).

I worked kinda late and then it was time for my family birthday dinner at Terrene! My parents were out of town for my real birthday, so we had to do it a week late. I had been to Terrene once before with my Dad and loved it. They have the most phenomenal Tofu Tacos that even got written up in our newspaper! Here is the recipe🙂

Terrene is a restaurant that uses ingredients from local farms and changes the menu seasonally. They always have good vegetarian options too! Unfortunately, the Tofu Tacos were no longer on the menu!!!! I didn’t know Tofu was seasonal? I was super bummed, but I guess it was a blessing in disguise because I got to try something new.

I got the tempeh cakes  vegetable tempeh cakes, black beans, zucchini, cherry tomatoes, corn, red pepper aioli. I had heard great things about these from my Harp teacher Eileen, so was excited to try them.

 

They were AWESOME!! I even got my brother and aunt to try them and they liked the Tempeh!! I ate every single flavorful bite. They were not oily or greasy at all and the texture reminded me sort of a well made crabcake –meaning little mayo filling and mostly deliciously packed-in ingredients:) The blackbean and veggie salad on the side was a perfect counterpart. I really liked the portion too – filling but not too big.

I also had some bites of spaghetti squash and veggies that my family got as sides. They were good, but a little too buttery for me.

My brother John is apparently no longer embarrassed of me taking pictures of my food, but now instead is jealous. He wanted me to show you what he got too!!

Chicken Pot Pie

Both my dad and my brother got the Chicken Pot Pie, and said it was a little underseasoned. I tend to think of Chicken Pot Pie as a bland dish anyway, but I guess they wanted a little more punch.

 
 
For dessert I got a dark chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream. The cake was so dense and fudge like, and the ice cream was from a local shop called Serendipity! It was sooo yummy.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
I also helped the table finish the order of apple pie with salted caramel ice cream. The ice cream was OUT OF THIS WORLD. I may have actually liked that dish better, but I can never pass up dark chocolate!! 
 
 
It was a fantastic dinner and I got some great presents too:  My VERY OWN FOAM ROLLER (which the guy at Mad River Running explained to my mom was extremely popular and hard to keep in stock. She doesn’t get it). I also got a seasonal veggie cookbook, a super cute apron with cupcakes on it, new bronzer, and some money for shopping!! Thanks everyone!
 
*********************************************
 
This morning I had time to get in a quick 3 miler before doing last minute packing for my trip to Florida. It was FREEZING and DARK at 6:45 am! My running this week has not looked like that of someone who is about to run a half marathon…hopefully I’ll be okay!
 
My mom dropped me off at work so I don’t have to leave my car over the weekend and we stopped at Starbucks on the way:)
Breakfast was a yogurt mess and outfit is totally based on planeride comfort.

 I always go for stretchy pants, comfy walking shoes, and WARMTH on planed. The scarf is strategic –can use it as a pillow!! Did you know that AirTran won’t provide pillows anymore, but they have Vitamin Water Zero as a free drink option? Seems odd.

  • Whats your go-to travel outfit? LB once told me I shoudl always wear tennis shoes on planes incase we crashed and I had to run over some flaming plane pieces. But thats a little too morbid for me to follow I guess.

 I’m super excited for my trip to FL this afternoon! Who knows, maybe I’ll run into Julie’s wedding party??

18 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2010 10:21 am

    AMEN to comfy traveling clothes!! you look SUPER cute as well!!! I am ALL about comfort! your clothes are comfort AND stylish tho! have fun in FLORDIA!

  2. October 28, 2010 10:44 am

    You and me both have similar outfits when we fly. I like wearing layers because I get cold easily and airplanes are always dry and cold for me. I wear scarf too (even on trips to Hawaii)…just because I’m going to Hawaii doesn’t mean the plane has Hawaii temp right?) and I pack an extra pair of socks in my purse. I wear flats but then put on socks once I’ve boarded.

    Cute outfit and functional! Great combo for trips.

    • October 28, 2010 10:56 am

      DEFINITELY on the plane temp thing…and love the socks tip! Don’t have to look cute once you’re on the plane anyway:)

  3. Emily permalink
    October 28, 2010 2:10 pm

    I actually just flew home for Fall Break yesterday, so this is perfect timing! I wore leggings, a white v-neck and a cardigan. I just have to be comfy. Jeans weren’t gonna cut it, especially since I wasn’t flying home til 9pm..and I was even more happy with this decision once my flight got delayed til mid night. oyy vay. Safe travels pretty lady, have an awesome time in Florida!!!

    • October 28, 2010 2:24 pm

      Last time I travelled I did the leggings/white vneck/sweater combo! Twins:) And yeah these are late flights so I need good sleeping clothes.

      Thanks for the well wishes!

  4. October 28, 2010 3:52 pm

    I usually do leggins with a big sweater on a plane! Warmth is key when traveling! : ) Also, anything I am wearing has to be ultra comfortable!

  5. October 28, 2010 8:29 pm

    Honey crisp apples are on sale at Whole Foods on Friday. $1.49 a pound for organic ones.

  6. October 28, 2010 11:48 pm

    Aw, you still manage to look cute! I just put on sweats and sweatshirt and my hair up in a floppy ponytail…your “comfy” still looks so stylish to me!

    And what is this fuss about tempeh? I tried it a while ago and had to spit it out into my napkin…maybe I just need to give it another try!

    • October 29, 2010 10:58 am

      haha thanks! Those black pants are actually kinda like leggings, so its a really comfy outfit. Especially compared to some work clothes!

      And I guess tempeh isn’t for everyone. Just like tofu, it depends on how you cook it and season it!

  7. squigglefloey permalink
    October 29, 2010 12:29 am

    I love that scarf! I love the color and the way it wraps! Where did u get it? hehe. And comfy to me is like what Sophia said — I just throw on lounge pants and a hoodie and snuggle it up. Have a wonderful trip this wknd!

    • October 29, 2010 10:59 am

      I really don’t know where the scarf is from? Green is my favorite color so I probably just snatched it up at Target or something when I saw it.

  8. October 29, 2010 5:21 am

    Mmm tempeh cakes sound amazing!

    Way to be cute AND comfy while you travel! Safe journeys girl!

  9. October 29, 2010 7:28 am

    I rock the same outfit! I tend to wear stretchy leggings, a tank top, a sweater or cardigan and a scarf; depending on where I’m going I’ll sometimes add a jacket, too. I run frigid up in the air! Loving the idea of the scarf pillow, though 😉
    So happy you’re coming to Florida!! Have a great time. It’s the best place in the whole world ❤ New to your blog but I love it already! I've been blogging myself for about two weeks now 😀

    • October 29, 2010 11:18 am

      Glad you found my blog — can’t wait to read yours! And Florida is a pretty fantastic place….running in a tank top instead of a jacket!! I could get used to it:)

  10. Melissa @ HerGreenLife permalink
    November 1, 2010 5:06 pm

    I think Terrene looks awesome, but I refuse to patronize restaurants that allow smoking. Maybe I’ll go in 2011, once the smoking ban finally goes into effect here, though I’ll still be annoyed at Terrene (and other restaurants) that didn’t make the decision to go smoke-free on their own.

Trackbacks

  1. Surprise on a Surprise « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

