Skip to content

Halloween in St. Pete’s

November 1, 2010

Another great long weekend in Florida. It’s especially nice to visit now since I left 35 degree weather and landed in 80 degree weather. Love it, but I looked a little ridiculous in my sweater, coat, and scarf:)

 

FRIDAY:

I got into St. Pete’s late Thursday night and Alex picked me up. I saw Julie’s fun wedding welcome at the airport!! She looked BEAUTIFUL on her wedding day, btw. As I mentioned before, he surprised me with breakfast in bed on Friday morning!! No picture because I didn’t want to ruin the moment, but he made me his mom’s special pancakes. I have had these at his house before and LOVE them — he even took the time to make the batter the night before and let it set in the fridge!! What a good guy;)

I was pleasantly surprised to find out the decadent tasting pancakes are actually pretty healthy — oatmeal, whole wheat flour, baking powder, egg whites, and buttermilk. Nice:) Will recreate.

I was a little nervous to eat the pancakes before the long run on my agenda, which he understood, but I had plenty of time to digest. I ended up snacking on a banana + AB and some toast before heading to run.

  

Worst. Run. Ever.

I went to a park called Crescent Lake which was a 1.1 mile loop.  I had 8 or 9 miles planned. I was exhausted from about 5 hours of sleep the night before, and right when I started running my stomach went a little crazy. It was also HOTTER than I was used to and I was dehydrated! All bad news.

There wasn’t a bathroom in the park, so after 4 miles I drove to a nearby gas station. I went back to the park determined to finish, but could only manage another 2.3 miles before my stomach was upset again. So I called it quits after 6.3 miles, called my mom & Laura freaking out about not getting in a last good run before the Half marathon, and headed back to my friend Kim’s apartment.

 booo bad run.

I grabbed a greek yogurt and some fruit for a post-run snack. Love that gas stations in Florida sell greek yogurt.

Then it was time to shower and get ready for a girls’ dinner at Ceviche! I have heard  a lot about this tapas restaurant and it definitely lived up to expectations. It is right downtown by the pier and there are plenty of ocean-view outdoor seating options.

The menu was HUGE! See below x2 when you include opposite side.

I finally decided on a glass of white wine, Salmon Ceviche, and a vegetable platter. I almost couldn’t do the ceviche after my raw shrimp run in, but decided I HAD to if that is what the restaurant was known for! Good choice too, it was delicious.

we got to try caviar:) Not bad, just salty.

 

I also ate about half a loaf of bread with an amazing pesto dip during girl talk. STUFFED, but not too stuffed for some halloween candy dessert! It was a great girls night out –so glad that Jen could meet Kim and I since she just moved to Florida!

After dinner it was back to Kim’s apartment to help the girls get dressed for the Stetson Halloween Party. I didn’t go – went back to Alex’s school dance and had an early night. But helping them get into costume was fun!

SATURDAY:

Alex had told me he had a “surprised activity” planned for Saturday morning. So before leaving, I geared up with a bowl of banana oatmeal!

We stopped on the way so that Alex could get his haircut. It was a little traditional barber shop that his roommate recommended. I LOVED IT – so old fashioned and the lady had worked there for like 50 years!

Then it was off to….the SATURDAY MORNING MARKET!! Aka my dream. Tons of vendors with free samples, live music, cute craft stands, and fresh produce.

I grabbed an iced coffee on the way in.

We walked around and tried tons of food (including a pumpkin cream cheese dip…had to get my pumpkin fix:) ). I loved seeing all the small, local companies with unique and healthy products. I wish I could go back every week to try something new –there were french crepes, African breakfasts, fish tacos, fresh smoothies, and more!

I ended up grabbing a raw veggie burger for my lunch. I’d never had anything “raw” before and I loved it! Definitely not burger texture…more chicken salad as it was just a blend of nuts, veggies, and seeds. But very flavorful. Alex wouldn’t try it 😦

Then it was back to Alex’s to watch the pathetic, dissapointing Notre Dame football game. One bright spot would be the buffalo chicken dip Alex made. He is quite the cook lately which I love! Wish I could have tried it…it got devoured!

I ate my fair share of chips and mini halloween candy though. I wasn’t even hungry for dinner, but made myself a PB sandwich since we had a night of drinking ahead. (I USED REAL SHELF STABLE PEANUTBUTTER. I haven’t had the non “all natural” stuff in years. So much easier to spread! And I survived.)

Then we got dressed to head to a Halloween party in Tampa! We had a little pre-game (slash all-out decorated party) with some teachers from Alex’s sister school in Tampa before heading to” Guavaween”.

Nutcracker + Where's Waldo

Where is he??

Guavaween was this huge outdoor street party. The street was like mini-bourbon street with tons of bars, drink stands, and live music. Very cool.

I think the most common costume was Alice in Wonderland, which I wasn’t expecting. But there were also some Chilean Miners and a whole lot of general sluts.
 
Super fun night, but we were exhausted by 1:30am!! I was also feeling slightly sick from the combo of alcohol + copious amounts of candy, brownies, etc. Really should have thought of that before hand, but what are you gonna do.

SUNDAY:

Sunday = sad leaving day. I woke up craving pizza and made an egg white sammy + cheese + pasta sauce to cure that craving. I also had some PB+Banana toast for no reason.

There were surprisingly no day-time Halloween festivities in St. Pete’s, so we decided on Chipotle and a movie. We used tin foil to make our arms into burritos and got our chipotle for $2!! Nice! (Although apparently those aren’t really the  rules anymore and they just gave  it to us anyway. Thanks:) ) We ended up watching It’s Complicated which I had seen before and really like.

Then it was time to head home 😦 I had a 3 hour layover in Miami which blew, so I passed the time with food. I tried my FIRST EVER PUMPKIN SPICE LATTE. Because I figured I should find out what the fuss was about.

Verdict? Thumbs DOWN.

I don’t really like sweet coffee drinks in the first place, so I should have known. It kinda made me sick. Maybe I should have asked for less pumps of syrup?? But a regular Latte is sweet enough to me. Oh well, guess it means I won’t be wasting money on those!

There were limited vegetarian options in my terminal, which surprised me for Miami, and I ended up getting a veggie/feta wrap from Au Bon Pain.

Interesting choice for me, considering I don’t like Feta. But it actually was good!! Maybe this is something new for me..???

It was huge, but I had a 3 hour layover so it didn’t stand a chance. I also grabbed some M&Ms to snack on justttt in case I hadn’t gotten enough sugar. But this week is Detox Week. No Ifs Ands or Buts!

****************************************************

WOW. Did you actually just read that whole thing?? Impressive. And Thanks.

I didn’t get home until after midnight so I’m exhausted and am also trying to figure out what kind of workouts I should do this week with the half marathon on Sunday. Any thoughts?

Hope you all had a wonderful Halloween weekend! It’s officially HOLIDAY SEASON!!!!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 2:32 pm

    i still am so excited that you saw that sign! 🙂 my mom was thrilled when i told her, too! 🙂

  2. Emily permalink
    November 1, 2010 3:02 pm

    Sounds like such a fun weekend! I went to Tampa/St. Pete last year for Spring Break and it was really gorgeous. Got the worst sun burn of my life while there, but fun nonetheless! Hah. It’s so fun to take weekend trips like that, but they always go way too fast. I hope you had a wonderful time with Alex! Props to you for the regular PB! I’m home for Fall Break and going through PB with drawl because for some reason my parents JIF is just so unsatisfactory. ..crazy since it’s what I grew up on. You may have inspired me to just go for it…I’ll survive. Hah, love pumpkin, love Starbucks, but their Pumpkin Latte just doesn’t do it for me, so you’re not the only one, no worries. Enjoy the cold! I’m going from home in NJ back to school in SC so I’m hoping for some warmth 🙂

    Haha, if I saw Julie’s sign, I would’ve died. I’d be like “Julie! I know her!” …Elf, anyone?!

  3. squigglefloey permalink
    November 1, 2010 3:09 pm

    Omg you are SO CUTE as a solider haha. Wonderful costume 🙂 Looks like you had an amazing time!

  4. November 2, 2010 2:07 am

    Bad runs suck…but not listening to it sucks more. I’m glad you stopped when you needed to. Giving your body a rest is the best thing to do then! Too bad you didn’t like that pumpkin latte, but that seems to be the common reaction among bloggers..too sweet! Funny how most people are used to that kind of sweetness.

    Did you use Jiff? 🙂

    And can’t believe you don’t like feta! hope that wrap changes your mind. 😉

    • November 2, 2010 9:32 am

      Thanks for the encouragement about the run!! It was definitely good to stop, I just wish I could have prevented it!
      And yeah, its crazy how that stuff is too sweet to me now. I used to eat super sweetened things–yogurts,etc–but ever since I’ve started buying plain and sweetened it myself my tastebuds are a lot more sensitive.

      And the wrap was good! Maybe I can start to use more feta…!?

  5. November 2, 2010 11:22 am

    I love Tampa/St. Pete! I almost went to school in St. Pete (but I went to Wash U instead!).

    I ran 6 miles for my last long run before this half too. =/ I think it will be fine though! I know I can finish it!

  6. Laura permalink
    November 2, 2010 12:46 pm

    Sounds like you guys had a blast! The market sounds like tons of fun. I just so happen to think pumpkin spice lattes are AMAZING! Then again, it hides the coffee flavor 🙂 so it is perfect. Love you! Get geared up for this weekend!!

Trackbacks

  1. The Return of Spandex « Fitting It All In
  2. A Very Brady Christmas « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

