Skip to content

I need advice.

November 2, 2010

Happy  Last Day of Terrible Campaign Ads! That’s something to celebrate, right? I ran out and voted during lunch.

 

Let me get you up to speed:

Yesterday’s lunch was Amy’s reduced sodium vegetable soup, a WW tortilla with my last mozzerella laughing cow, and an apple.

Snack was oatmeal + Justin’s PB and some pretzels. I was fulllll after that.

I headed out on a 4 mile run. I debated not running at all since I was so tired from the weekend, but knew I would feel good after doing it. I was right. And good news is that “huge hill” no longer feels hard! Guess running hills during training has helped.

Dinner was some of the Butternut Squash and Lentil Stew that I had frozen in the fridge, and dessert was half an apple.  NO CANDY! Woohooo!

Pic from when I originally made it

 

*********************************
This morning I went to Bikram. It was my least favorite teacher (she’s just a little hesistent in her directions and says kinda funky stuff) but it felt good to sweat and stretch regardless.
Outfit today is pretty boring. But I put a braid in my ponytail to make up for it.

Sweater - Polo, Scarf - Free from A&F, Pants - J Brand from TJ Maxx, Shoes - Shoe Saleyay!yay!

 

yay!

FOOD:

Confession:  I’ve never actually made overnight oats. In my head, I consider my yogurt messes to be overnight oats, but that’s only because I’m insane. Due to my lack of yogurt and and desire for something pumpkiny, Angela’s Vegan Overnight Pumpkin Pie Oats were created. And THANK GOD…they are AMAZING!! I used flax instead of chia seeds because I don’t have them. The little bit of maple syrup in the recipe takes them over the top.

Here’s what they looked like after I prepared them last night…

And then this morning, after chillin in the fridge all night! I topped them with some walnuts and dried cherries.

gooey and pumpkiny and mmmmm!

Last night my boyfriend told me I have a pumpkin addiction. When someone who lives in a different state says you have an addiction, it’s probably true. I’m not mad.

I had lunch at my desk after voting. They said the polls had been super busy which is great!! I had a Dr. Praeger’s with hummus+tomato sauce on a sandwich thin. On the side I had some steamed brussel sprouts and a sliced pear.

I kinda like not having my regular groceries. I got to try overnight oats and I switched up my normal Honeycrisp for dessert thing. I actually broke up with apples over the summer after a stomach bug. They just started to make me feel sick. But now I have this mentality where lunch isn’t complete without one, and I don’t like being so repetitive! Maybe I’ll just never grocery shop again.

Or I will tonight after work like I plan on doing.

So About The Advice I Need:

 

I’ve mentioned before on this bliggity blog that race training while working full time has been a tough adjustment for me. Even training for this half marathon has been hard as it gets darker and colder. I hate being limited on time and not being able to run when I have the most energy. It’s been especially hard since my running buddy, LB, is on such a different schedule than me. She is in grad school and so has more time during the day to run. Her training has been awesome too! Running almost every day, tons of mileage, and super fast. It’s great for her, but definitely makes me jealous. It’s really hard not to compare my training to hers and feel inadequate, even though I know I’m in a different situation. (You are not at fault for anything, btw, LB! 🙂 )

Anyway, LB has decided to run a full marathon in April. A full marathon is something I’ve always dreamed of doing, and something I always thought I’d do with her! However, I’m super nervous about being able to train during the winter when just training for a half has been a little challenging. I don’t want to end up frustrated for the next four months because my training isn’t going well and I don’t want to sign up for something that I really don’t have the time to do well!

However, this might also be a great opportunity to run a marathon with LB! I don’t know that I’ll ever really feel like I “have the time” to train for a marathon, so maybe I should just suck it up and learn to run in the dark and cold. And I’ll just have to accept that fact that LB can run more than me.

  • So what would you guys do, take the chance and sign up for a marathon with a friend? Or say no for now and avoid the comparison trap and training frustration?

 I also worry that if I decide NOT to run the marathon, I’ll end up just as frustrated and upset with myself.

In other running news, here are some races I’m considering in the next couple of months:

Girls On The Run 5k on Nov 14th

Webster/Kirkwood Turkey Trot 3miler or 6miler

St. Louis Track Club Frostbite Series –5 races of varying distance throughout the winter. Could be good way to keep up my distance!

***********************************************

Confession: I’m listening to Christmas music on Pandora.

  

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2010 5:41 pm

    It won’t be easy because training for a marathon is not easy. If it was everyone would do it. I trained for the St. Louis marathon last year. It took as lot of 5 am runs and some treadmill runs since my husband wasn’t thrilled about me running in the dark by myself. BUT it is totally worth everything you put into it! I doubt you would regret doing it. . . well at least not after the race, but maybe on your 20 mile long runs.

    • November 2, 2010 7:23 pm

      Thanks for the advice! I know I won’t regret it when I’m done…that’s why I want to do one so badly! And Obviously I’d plan the longest runs on the weekends when I can do them in daylight. I need to actually start looking at some training plans and see if they seem doable.

  2. November 2, 2010 8:47 pm

    I think it will be tough to do both but I think if you stay on top of things you can totally do it! I say go for it!

  3. November 2, 2010 10:14 pm

    girl i wish i could give you the best advice but im def NOT a runner BUT I feel like both would be a lot! But you may like to take on a lot of things at once- i cannot do that!!
    and you are ADORABLE

    • November 3, 2010 9:31 am

      hahah thanks!! Yeah I kinda thrive on being busy…but lately I’ve realized there is such a thing as TOO much! I need some down time!

  4. November 3, 2010 12:15 am

    I love your confession! I almost listened to Christmas music today too! 🙂

    But I didn’t… it just doesn’t feel right when it is still 80 degrees outside! Maybe tomorrow. 😉

    • November 3, 2010 9:28 am

      Ugh I WISH i had 80 degree weather to make it not feel right…but it feels just fine in 30 degrees:(

  5. November 3, 2010 5:53 am

    Soup/stew- the perfect fall food! The Butternut Squash and Lentil Stew looks really good. I don’t think your outfit is boring! I think its super cute- love the scarf. On the marathon front, I’d just take the time to examine your motivations. If you WANT to do the full marathon for you, then I’d say give it a go. You can always pull out if you feel like its too much. But, if you’re doing it because shes doing….I’d say its not the right time

  6. November 3, 2010 8:29 am

    i think you have to do what’s right for your body! there will be plenty of marathons to run in the future but i say take on small challenges at first and see how you feel after that! i signed up for the disney marathon without even running a half marathon and i ended up injuring myself during training and haven’t been able to really run since! my advice is definitely take it slow 🙂

    thanks for checking out my blog girl!

  7. November 3, 2010 9:18 am

    You heard my advice already! I’m not going to repost it.

    I want to do some of the St. Louis Frostbite runs! I work Saturdays, so i don’t know how many of them I can swing off, but I want to try for at least one.

    I need more long races in my life before marathon training.

  8. November 3, 2010 10:13 am

    I ran the St. Louis marathon this year. I used the Furman Institute plan (FIRST) which is only 3 days of running. You can add more runs or cross training but it’s not necessary. There are a lot of theories on higher mileage but for me I didn’t need it – and if you’re worried about time, this one is a time saver! The book published about it is called “Run Less, Run Faster”. Training for a marathon is tough and you have to be very dedicated. Getting up in the middle of winter on a weekend to run is not easy! But it’s worth it in the end 🙂

    • November 3, 2010 10:24 am

      Definitely want to check out that plan! Plans with lower mileage/days of running scare me, but its so encouraging to know you did it!! Thanks for the tip

  9. November 3, 2010 1:39 pm

    My advice:

    Run with me.

    The only runs we will talk about are the ones we do together. Other than that, no miles or times will be discussed. I will committ to getting up early and running with you if need be. I want to do it with YOUUUU!! And, I think that after we run the half together this weekend, we will be pumped up and ready for the next challenge. Anything I can do, you can do better 🙂 love you bear

    • November 3, 2010 1:43 pm

      hahah I totally forgot about the fact that I’ll have major race fever after this weekend! I think I’m leaning towards doing it:) Maybe we can find some days during the week where we can run after my work? I looked at training plans and eventually you get to like 10 mile runs on a Wednesday which could be tough. But whatevvvss

      Ps I just drove the half course during lunch. It’s kinda hillyyyy

  10. November 5, 2010 12:35 pm

    So what’s the verdict? Are you doing it? In my opinion,I absolutely think you should go for it! Take a training schedule off the internet and make it your own, tweek it to fit your schedule and if you miss a run, you miss a run. For my full, I compared several schedules and made my own. I just check the schedule to see how many miles I should be doing total and what the long run is for each week, make the quota for the week and the long run. If you decide not to do it, no biggie, there are other marathons you can run. I personally, with my very little experience in running races, certainly enjoy having a buddy 10 times more than going solo 🙂

    Good luck this weekend and let us know what you decide!

Leave a Reply

