Skip to content

Yogurt Made My Heart Sink

November 3, 2010

While in Florida this weekend, my friend Kim was grabbing an afternoon snack and pulled some Dannon Light N Fit out of her fridge. She held the container up to me with a puzzled look and asked “What exactly is wrong with this? You said on your blog that it was bad!”

And my heart sank.

I do indeed refer to Dannon Light N Fit as a “terrible diet food”  in  My Story. But I never EVER want to make anyone feel guilty or bad about what they choose to eat! If I have learned anything through my weight struggles, it is that food is a very personal thing. So I thought I should explain why I classified the yogurt this way.

 source

 

I am not a nutritionist so everything I say should be taken with a grain of salt, but I really don’t believe that Dannon Light n Fit is a “healthy” food. I know that it is low calorie, and I’m pretty sure that means they have replaced a lot of the dairy fat with sugar and artificial sweetener. It is pretty high in sugar, (which is why it tastes like dessert) so for that reason I would say that plain yogurts or yogurts naturally sweetened are a better choice.

But more importantly, Dannon Light N Fit was bad for me  because I was eating it for the wrong reasons. I went through at least two of those little 60 calorie containers a day because I didn’t want to be eating AT ALL. They were low calorie and sweet, so I ate them instead of other good, nutrient dense foods when I was hungry. They were a way of avoiding calories.  And that is no way to live a healthy lifestyle.

But like I said, I don’t want people to think they CAN’T eat this! It is delicious (all though much too sweet for me now that I am used to plain yogurt). My mother and brother eat it almost every day for breakfast, and in a pinch I would too! I definitely do not make healthy choices  all the time, so I’m sorry if I made anyone confused or feel bad about eating this. It was not my intention.

Also , Kim asked me what the difference between regular and greek yogurt is. I’ve had this discussion multiple times with my mom, and we’re pretty sure that greek yogurt is just  regular yogurt that has been strained for a longer time. The additional straining removes some of the whey (I think it’s whey??) which makes a thicker, more protein packed yogurt. I personally like the texture and use greek yogurt as a form of vegetarian protein, but my mom argues that the extra straining removes some important bacteria and live cultures.

So I don’t know. I eat it ’cause I like it. I should probably save money and just strain regular yogurt myself, but I don’t.

************************

Snack yesterday was a Nature Valley bar that I stole from my mom’s stash (hi mom love you 😉 ) and dinner was Whole Foods hot bar domination. I really meant to cook, but I was there buying groceries and couldn’t resist.

 

From top left on a bed a spinach we have: roasted broccoli and awesome marinated mushrooms, ratatouille, vegan fajita, mojo tofu, and spiced sweet potatoes. For the first time in my life, I DIDNT LIKE THE SWEET POTATOES. I actually couldn’t even finish them. Whatever they were spiced with was just terrible.

And I don’t know if I can get fresh  juices made at my whole foods. I don’t know what section it would be in. In what section are the juices made at your Whole Foods?

  

WEDNESDAY:

I had my regular doctor’s appointment this morning. I mentioned that I go to the bathroom a lot, and specifically that I wake up in the middle of the night to do so. Since I’m not diabetic, she said the only solution is to stop drinking so much water! WHAT? When was the last time a doctor told someone that?? It’s frustrating because I like staying hydrated, especially when I have long runs planned. The doctor also said I could try to train my bladder to wait longer, but that sounds like some sick torture method. I don’t know what I’m goign to do.

Also my mom says my sleeping issues might be because I’m type A and stressed out. But since I already do all the “right” things –  yoga, journalling, no computer in bed, noise machine, fan on in my room, dark, etc – she thinks I might want to consider going back on light dosage of prozac. (My mom is a doctor btw, so I trust her advice).  I don’t really remember if I slept better when I was on prozac, but she thinks the anti-anxiety features could be helpful. I REALLY don’t want to go back on the meds, but sleeping through the night would be nice. I’ll have to think about it …likely while I’m awake in the middle of the night.

Outfit:

This is the sweater I would wear to my graphic design classes at school when I wanted to fit in with the artsy kids. I got it at a BCBG outlet and it is kinda weird and drape-y, but super comfy. I feel slightly exposed with the leggings, but my black skinnies weren’t cutting it.

Breakfast:

Had to do the Pumpkin Pie Overnight Oats again.  Just had to. They weren’t as pumpkin-y today, probably because I didn’t measure the ingredients as carefully. Still awesome though.

 

And sushi is on the agenda for lunch today! I picked up a package of brown rice veggie sushi at Whole Foods yesterday after seeing it all over blogs! Hopefully it’s good.

Lastly, thank you to everyone who gave me marathon advice! I’ll keep you posted on my decision!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 11:20 am

    Because of the straining process, they have to use more milk in greek yogurt! I think that is why it has more protein.

    I ate regular yogurt today, and it did not keep me as full as greek. But that is just me!

    • November 3, 2010 11:53 am

      Good to know! I think it keeps me fuller, also, because of the higher protein content.

  2. November 3, 2010 12:59 pm

    You have great fashion sense 🙂 You are right, the whey is removed from the Greek yogurt and the protein retained, thus making it higher in protein. And WAY more delicious, I hate regular, runny yogurt.

    • November 3, 2010 1:29 pm

      Thanks for confirming! Any word on whether the removed whey is actually beneficial to us?

  3. squigglefloey permalink
    November 3, 2010 2:37 pm

    I just discovered Greek yogurt from TJs after always getting dannon light. Definitely keeps me full longer too because it’s so thick…and I really enjoy the high protein content since I don’t eat a lot of meat.
    I also have sleep issues because for the life of me my brain just won’t stop going when I lay down at night. I know I’m a nightowl, but I hope for 7hrs a night. I’m always thinking, worrying, wondering things though…even if I may actually be sleepy.
    That’s great that your mom’s a Dr and is able to give you advice. Let us know if you decide on the prozac. It’s been suggested to me too recently by my Dr, but I’m not sure if I want to get on something that’s going to leave me dependent on it.

  4. MC Mitsch permalink
    November 3, 2010 3:16 pm

    I like what you had to say about food being a personal thing! I think you’re completely right. What works for one person isn’t going to be the best for another. What’s most important is that we get past superficial cravings and really listen to our bodies. Food should be enjoyed, but we should also have an appreciation for why we eat what we eat!

    And I love your “artsy graphic design” sweater. 😉 Makes me miss you 😦

  5. Kim permalink
    November 3, 2010 3:37 pm

    hahaha this made me laugh =) I am glad that I had you to explain to me because I had been wanting to ask but kept forgetting until you were standing in my kitchen! Great times last weekend ❤

    • November 3, 2010 3:46 pm

      hahah i’m glad you said something to make me realize it!

  6. November 3, 2010 9:22 pm

    love your overnight pumpkin oats!!!! and your outfit!

Leave a Reply

