Skip to content

The Best Bowl of Oatmeal EVER

November 6, 2010

That was the plan this morning. I haven’t had  a lazy morning at home to make oatmeal in a while. I’ve always either been out of town or had a long run planned. So today I wanted a big warm creamy bowl of pumpkin oats. I was going to pull out all the stops.

Here’s what I got out to play with:

And then half way through cooking realized I forgot important things like vanilla, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, and pumpkin butter. But you guys know what those things look like.

I combined 1/3 cup oats, 2/3 cup water, 1/3 cup vanilla almond milk, 1 tsp flax, 3 tbsp egg whites, a splash of vanilla, and some salt in a sauce pan on medium.

I stirred and stirred, and stuff got coated to the bottom of the saucepan anyway, and then when it was nice and frothy I added half a banana, 1/3 cup pumpkin, and a boatload of pumpkin pie spice.

I stirred some more and until I got the consistency I wanted.

Then I poured it in my Buddha bowl and topped it with half a pear heating with cinnamon, a little teeny bit of granola, and some pumpkin butter. I decided the almond butter would take away from the pumpkin flavor, so it got nixed.

The verdict?

I really really good bowl of oats. I’m glad I didn’t put the almond butter in it. And it was nice a creamy, but a little more crunch and an even stronger spice flavor in the oats themselves would have been nice.

Good effort, Clare.

**************************************

Backing up to last night. I finally left work around 7:45 and was exhausted. I got home and just wanted something quick for dinner. I heated up an Amy’s frozen Indian burrito (my new favorite kind maybe?) and had with leftover pasta, green beans, and a Honey Crisp apple. A nice, big meal to start getting some extra calories before the half marathon!

And then I had some cereal + chocolate chips while watching What Not To Wear on the couch. Great night.

plus another handful of chocolate chips 🙂

************************************

I stayed in bed til around 8am this morning before making that bowl of oats, then headed to the mall and bought my entire winter wardrobe at Forever 21. That store is so hit or miss, and it was a hit day. I also bought those measuring bowls from Anthro:) HAD TO!

Once home, I roasted some salt and vinegar chick peas to have with lunch. I had them on a bed of lettuce with some red onion, grilled asparagus, and a piece of toast with Barney Butter. Random lunch but very good and filling.

 

400 degrees - 10 min asparagus and 25 min chickpeas

 

After lunch I created my dish for Macaroon Monday and have to type up a post to send in:) LB came over and we went to the race expo to pick up our bibs. I had an apple and then a taste of my MM dish before Church.

Tonight we went to a Notre Dame Club of St. Louis trivia fundraiser with my parents. It was super fun –would have been way more fun if we could have taken advantage of the open bar!:)

Dinner was Pizza from Dewey’s. YUMMM. I had two slices – a mushroom and a veggie. Wanted to try a Caprese but it went fast! I also had a TON of raw veggies, some pretzels, a cookie, too many M&Ms (tried to get my mom not to bring M&Ms but she wasn’t having it) and some candy corn. Probably overdid it, but whatever…hopefully the sugar will stick with me through the half marathon tomorrow!!

x like 7

 

and now I’m freaking out because I should be in bed!! We get an extra hour tonight, thank goodness, but it’s an early rise for the half. Wish me luck!!

 

PS – CONGRATS TO MISS HEAB ON THE BIRTH OF HER BEAUTIFUL BABY GIRL!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. squigglefloey permalink
    November 7, 2010 3:02 am

    Hehe I just loled, my cat’s name is Dewey! 🙂 Have a wonderful rest of the wknd!

  2. November 7, 2010 8:55 am

    Good luck with your race!

Leave a Reply

