Skip to content

Half Marathon #2: Reelin’ Em In

November 7, 2010

My body is awesome.

To think that a few years ago I was trying to survive off of diet coke just to get through the day, and now I have trained and eaten well enough to bust through 13.1 miles is incredible. I’ve come pretty far 🙂

 

St. Louis Track Club 31st Annual Half Marathon:

The race expo on Saturday afternoon was nothing to rave about. LB and I got there about an hour before it closed and some stuff was gone already. The race had less than 1500 people I think so can’t expect too much. We got really nice long sleeved performance shirts, some dried fruit and granola bar samples, and some New Balance coupons. The vendors were selling some running gear, 13.1 stickers, GUs etc.

 

This morning I woke up at 6am. My clocks changed automatically and I had no problems with alarms. But I kept having dreams that I was like 5:45 so I would be ready to get up, and then check the clock and see that it was only 4:30. Weird!

 

All dressed! Bib UNDER the pullover in case I took it off

 

 

My stomach was a little nervous, but I managed to eat my standard pre-run breakfast of toast with almond butter and banana. This time in sandwich form since I’m obsessed with them lately!

with coffee, of course!

LB came over at 6:30 and my parents dropped us off at the start. LB’s friend Greg met us there for a little pre-run pep talk. He is insane and had already run 11 miles this morning (actually at like 1 am at 24 hour fitness I think). He also WON the Ultramarathon he ran a few weeks ago. But let’s just ignore that for now…

 

Before the start I realized that my GARMIN BROKE! It was stopped at 6:44am and no buttons would function! I kinda freaked out, but thankfully Laura had hers and we were running together.

I also totally failed at meeting up with Anna. We had talked about it a while ago but never set a time or place! Sorry Anna – hope the race went well!!

 

LB & Me before the race

 

 

The race started pretty uneventfully and it only took us about 2 minutes to cross the start. Our first mile was just a little slow trying to break out of the pack, but then we really picked up the pace. Not having a Garmin was actually AWESOME. I didn’t worry myself with constant checking, and I think let myself run faster than I would have otherwise. If I had seen 8:30 on my watch I would have slowed myself down, but when LB told me our quick pace and I felt fine, I just went with it.

I took a GU a little after mile 7 – chocolate outrage, my fav:) – and saw my parents with signs around mile 9.5! I’m so so glad they came. They didn’t really know what a race was like, and it was great to share the experience with them!! They also took some great pictures.

 

having fun!!

 

 

LB and I definitely helped each other out towards the end of the race. Having her with me was INVALUABLE- totally couldn’t have done it without her. Around mile 10.5 my legs were starting to hurt, and she gave me a “push through” pep talk. I did the same for her around mile 12.

She taught me a fun trick that Greg had taught her. You pick a person a little bit ahead of you, cast your line, and “reel ’em in”. Basically pick a person to pass, and DO IT. We did this to about 20 people at the end of the race! It takes your mind off the running and gives you a challenge…great trick!

LB and I BOOKED it through mile 12 and even hit a 5 minute mile pace for the last .1! I didn’t know my legs could move that quickly.

Our final time on LB’s watch was 1:50:03 with an average pace of 8:27. My first half marathon was a little over 1:49, but it was a short course at only 12.66 miles, so I definitely PRed today! AWESOME! Considering I felt under-trained and my goal was to just finish this race, with a dream goal of under 2 hours, I was SO FREAKING PROUD. I almost cried at the end, but my parents were rushing me for pictures.

Here are the splits:

1: 9:28
2: 8:31
3: 8:25
4: 8:34
5: 8: 35
6: 8:36
7: 8:24
8: 8:32
9: 8:16
10: 8:20
11: 8:31
12: 8:10
13: 7:32
.1: 5 minute mile

My dad calls me "stoons" 🙂

 

Afterwards I stole some oranges and bananas but really wasn’t hungry. My mom saw my stash and goes “not trying to be subtle I see” haha.  I got home and iced my knees and calves for about a half hour, foam rolled, then took a long hot shower. Ahhhh.

*************************

 

For my post run meal  I decided on pancakes. After browsing some blog recipes, I decided to try the Fitnessista’s Perfect Protein pancakes . I used my Jay Robb Vanilla Whey protein powder. I thought the pancakes looked perfect, but were actually kinda dry — maybe my serving of protein powder is bigger than hers?  I don’t think I could have eaten them without my yogurt topping.

I topped them with pumpkin yogurt (1 Oikos 0% plain, 1/4 cup pumpkin, PP spice, and a little stevia) as well as half a banana.

I also made them into a pancake layer cake because I’m annoying.

 

And I’m already thinking about what I’m going to eat next. LB and I are meeting to get pedicures in a little bit, and then maybe I’ll see a movie tonight?

 

 

The race today was a huge running confidence booster and is amping me up for this Marathon that I’m *pretty sure* I’m going to do in April! I also have been convincing some friends (ahem JILLIAN) to maybe try a 5k with me this winter! Woohoo!

Hope you’re all having a fantastic Sunday! Up next:  Macaroon Monday entry.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2010 4:24 pm

    Congrats! That was an awesome run. Let me know if you ever want to meet up and run together. I’m always looking for a running buddy!

  2. squigglefloey permalink
    November 7, 2010 7:25 pm

    Can definitely relate to the idea of existing on diet coke. I did that in the past too, and I felt hooorrrrrible (although I thought it was cool at the time). No. Haha. You should be SO proud of urself! Congrats! 🙂

  3. November 8, 2010 6:21 pm

    I realized we didn’t set anything up as I was on my way over there!!! I’m in St. LOuis a lot though, so that is good.

    What an awesome race for you!!! I beat my PR by 1 minute 50 seconds (and since it was hilly I figure that is EXCELLENT!).

    Congrats.

Trackbacks

  1. Macaroon Monday: Vegan Granola Bars « Fitting It All In
  2. Feeding the Beast « Fitting It All In
  3. I Suck At Surprises « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

