Skip to content

Feeding the Beast

November 8, 2010

I slept for 10 hours last night. I went to bed at 9:30 (grandma) and my body naturally woke up around 7: 20. It was awesome. Just wanted to let you know.

*********************************

Since I ran a Half Marathon yesterday, I’ve been making a point to eat extra and my body has definitely been wanting it!

After my pancakes, I had an orange  and one of the homemade oatmeal bars from my Macaroon Monday entry.

 

Then I relaxed with a mani/pedi! Is it weird to put pictures of my feet on the blog? Sorry.

strange brown/greige color

 It felt soo good to get a little calf massage!

And then by 6:30 I was hungry for dinner! I almost drove to pick something up, but decided to be frugal and make myself some eggs. I had 2 eggs + some egg whites scrambled with red onion, spinach, and some soy cheddar cheese. On the side I had steamed broccoli and a toasted sandwich thin. 

I also had a Chocolate Brownie Clif Z-bar and some pretzels before bed. Where I slept for 10 hours. Just wanted to say that again.

 ******************************************** 

This morning I woke up feeling rested and my legs actually feel great! Just a little soreness in the knees, but I’m going to try to do some light walking or elliptical after work to they don’t get stiff.

OUTFIT:

Actually never done the shirt over a skirt thing. It’s 70 degrees in STL today so I wanted to wear a skirt while I could!!

Scarf - gift, Shirt - Old Navy, Belt - Company sale, Skirt - Loft, Shoes - Bakers

 

FOOD:

Breakfast was Vegan Pumpkin Pie Overnight Oats. I think I’ve  decided I dont like the raw nuts on the top of these. It also doesn’t keep me very full because of the lack of healthy fats…maybe I can find a way to modify the recipe because I love the texture and taste!

 

By 11 I was hungry for lunch, and then when I found out I had huge boxes to unpack at 11:45 I almost died. I was STARVING! Luckily I made it through got to eat at 12:45. I had a Dr. Praeger’s on Ezekiel toast with hummus, tomato, and spinach. I also had some edamame, broccoli and a honey crisp.

 

I brought TONS of extra snacks to work with me assuming I’d be famished throughout the day. We’ll see what I pick to have:) The Macaroon Monday snack bars are getting slowly eaten by co-workers, but no one has commented yet. That’s probably not a good sign. Oh well, can’t expect everyone to love the vegan health bars you make!

***************************************

I’m going to try to run in Central Park when I’m in NYC the weekend of November 19th. Anyone have any route recommendations or want to run with me? I’d also be down to try one of the many vegetarian cafe’s in Midtown. Let me know!

Happy Monday!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Shira permalink
    November 14, 2010 2:18 pm

    Hey! I just found your blog — I live in Manhattan (morningside heights) and my favorite run is around the reservoir in Central Park in the northern part of the park. Check out: http://www.centralpark.com/usr/maps/CentralParkRunningMap.pdf
    The southern part of the park can get pretty crowded, but the northern woods (101 – 110 st) are fun as is the ramble (74-78 st)

    Have fun!

Leave a Reply

