Skip to content

Surprise on a Surprise

November 14, 2010

Ahhhh in my PJs after a hot shower back at home. Another wonderful but short trip up to ND. Let me tell you about it!

****************************************

As you may have guessed from the picture in my post on Friday, I booked a flight to Chicago and decided to reverse the surprise this weekend! I had told my boyfriend I decided not to go.

Friday during the day, I got an email from him “calling me out” on trying to surprise him this weekend. I was SO MAD that he suspected me!! I guess he just knows me too well.Β  I decided to keep up my lies and try to keep the secret going…

My brother dropped me off at the airport Friday night and my amazing mother drove to Chicago to pick me up! This was totally out of the way for her and SO nice, so I brought her her favorite caramel apple to show my thanks πŸ™‚

Merb's Bionic Apple

By the time we got back to South Bend it was alright nearing 1am, so I decided to go straight to our favorite bar, Finnies, and surprise Alex. I was super nervous for some reason!! It was perfect –I found him facing the other way talking to a friend in the middle of the bar and simply tapped him on the shoulder. Even though he called me out, he was still so shocked!! It was so late already that I think he lost hope of me showing up. All weekend he told me how great the Surprise on a Surprise was. YAY!

SO SURPRISED!

Molly & Dani were surprised too! (Not really. They knew I was coming)

Sorry about the bad bar lighting. Funny story – while these pictures were being taken both Dani and Alex kept yelling “BLOG PIC BLOG PIC!!” Love it.

*********************************************

 

Saturday morning around 9 am I sorta woke up and could not stop thinking about whether or not to go on a run. I wanted to sleep in some more since I got to bed pretty late, but my mind was so occupied that I decided just to get up and do it! I got to use my NEW Garmin that came pretty quickly in the mail, and decided to do a quick little 5K run to make up for the fact that I was missing the Girls on the Run 5k in St. Louis.

After my run I showered, had breakfast, and got ready for tailgating! Breakfast was a Justin’s PB + Banana sandwich on wheat bread (are you sick of these yet? I’m not!) and of course some coffee.

I also stopped by a Notre Dame favorite, Studebagels, to pick up a hummus and veggie bagel for lunch later. Had i known that Dani’s family’s tailgate would have veggie subs from Jimmy John’s I wouldn’t have done this, but oh well, it was yummy:)

I met up with the girls at Dani’s brother’s apartment for a little before heading to the parking lots. Throughout the day I snacked on some fruit and pretzels, a few gummy bears, and 3 beers along with my bagel sandwich. Here are some pictures from the afternoon:

Dani, Molly, Me

with Kev:)

Randomly ran into Alex & some friends!

Classy beer at the adult tailgate...perks

At Notre Dame, random bagpipers walk around and play. Totally normal.

Ran into my crazy senior Marketing professor! Some friends and I dressed up as him for Halloween last year. How do you think we did?

Dani, Me & Jackie, Halloween 2009

I also saw something I’d never seen before at the “Senior tailgate”. My senior year, we had a huge ~15 apartment long outdoor tailgate to celebrate our last home game. This year’s seniors weren’t quite so organized, but did have a truck bed set up so people could bob for beer!


I didn’t give it a try, but I heard it’s pretty impossible to get your mouth around a beer can. Still, major fun points to this year’s seniors.

It got progressively rainy and cold throughout the day, so Alex & I got hot chocolate when we got to the game. (Oh yeah, my dad managed to get us two free tickets. It always works out!) I haven’t had hot chocolate yet this season and it was SO good. I want to find a good brand of hot chocolate with a decent ingredient list. Suggestions?

I believe he was saying "WHY are you trying to take a picture of me while I'm watching a football game!?"

He’s going to kill me for posting that.

ND UPSET UTAH!! Such a great game even though most of our starters are out with injuries. It was so great for the seniors at their last home game, and just truly exciting to see the student body happy again after a season of dissapointing play as well as the death of a student a few weeks ago. Everyone rushed the field!

After the game I spent a few hours relaxing on the couch and stealing the neighbor’s wi-fi. Eventually I walked to the nearby grocery store (I miss Martin’s so much!!) to grab dinner. I got a can of Amy’s minestrone soup and made myself a little side salad with romaine, celery, peas, tomato, chickpeas, kidney beans, egg, and some artichoke salad. Wanted veggies after the beer and snacks!

Eaten at my old desk 😦

And don’t worry, I got the requisite Pretzel M&Ms. A trip to ND wouldn’t be complete without them.

I debated going out on Saturday night. I wanted to see Alex, who was having a major “bro-out” session with his guy friends before heading to the bars, but I was feeling pretty lazy on the couch. Danielle and Molly invited me over to relax and watch a movie, and that ended up winning out.

I was bummed about not spending time with Alex that night, but realized that while I don’t get to see him very often, I don’t get to see my girlfriends often either!! The girl talk was much needed, as were the leftover apple fritters, brownie, and cupcake I decided to eat.

We talked about how sometimes it just feels strange to go out to the bars as alumni when you don’t know that many people. I remember being in school and getting frustrated when the alums were making the bars so crowded. We had gone out the night before, so I didn’t feel too lame for spending one night in:) By midnight we were ready to crash.

***************************************

Sunday morning my parents wanted to deep clean the condo (My dad bought a condo up at Notre Dame since he is up there so often. I lived there last year with friends and it definitely saves him money on hotels!) Luckily they let me skip out on the work and grab breakfast with Alex.

Not at all tired or hungover.

With our favorite breakfast spot, Cedar House, newly out of business, we were at a loss of where to go!! The Studebagels line was way too long so I convinced him to hit up one of my favorite hippie cafes, Lulas. For him – bacon egg & cheese on an everything bagel and juice. For her – a whole wheat bagel that I gussied up with the remainder of my Justin’s PB & banana and black coffee.

I’m so glad that I got to spend some more time with Alex before we hit the road! I’m also super glad that I decided to fly up there so I could make the drive home with my parents.

On the car ride home I had an apple and some wheat thins while reading Better Homes & Gardens and Oprah magazines. I am a magazine addict, and the Holiday issues are always so much fun! I can’t wait to have my own house to decorate.

Once home I immediately made a green monster. These are KEY for me after a day of traveling. In this one went spinach, 1 cup almond milk, chocolate amazing grass powder, half a frozen banana, 1/4 of an avocado, stevia and ice. I’d never added an avocado to a smoothie before and loved how creamy it made it. Didn’t need to use any xantham gum.

I also had some pretzels before I unpacked and took a shower. Now I’m relaxing on the couch, about to do my nails, and deciding what to have for dinner. My mom is cooking some chili to freeze for Thanksgiving week so I don’t want to make anything too elaborate and get in her way. I’m not super hungry so something small like an egg sandwich might happen.

*******************************

It was a wonderful weekend and SO worth it to be able to spend some extra time with Alex & my girlfriends. The next few weekends are super packed with trips and visits, but it should all be really fun! Hope you all had a wonderful weekend as well!

Remember to keep your ideas for A Very Bloggie Christmas coming! And look out for a guest post this week on Bobbi’s blog, NHerShoes!

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. squigglefloey permalink
    November 14, 2010 9:14 pm

    Aww! Those pics are TOO cute. Glad to see the trip was worth it and that you had a wonderful time with the bf AND gfs πŸ™‚ Were you a business major in college?

  2. November 14, 2010 10:07 pm

    hey girlie!!
    what an awesome weekend! and heck yes for Garmin loving…i can’t live without mine! πŸ™‚
    I hope you have a great week ahead of you!
    xoxo!

  3. November 15, 2010 7:18 am

    Looks like you had a fabulous time. Your pictures are way too cute!

    xo

  4. November 15, 2010 7:23 am

    Ahhh you made me miss ND so, so, so much!! Sounds like an awesome weekend. I admire you for sticking to your healthy lifestyle despite tailgating and enjoying a fun weekend. I too easily cave in on such occasions by not working out/not eating well.

  5. November 15, 2010 7:47 am

    Whenever my boyfriend visits we go to Charlotte… it’s always spend a night together and spend a night with friends. It’s a tough decision to take time apart when we already never see each other, but like you said, girl time is much needed!

    Glad you had a great visit πŸ™‚

  6. November 15, 2010 3:41 pm

    sounds like a good weekend!! Your smoothie sounds delicious!! I want to try that Amazing Grass stuff!!

  7. November 15, 2010 4:45 pm

    awwwwww-you are SUCH a sweetheart to surprise him. The whole weekend looks like a blast. ❀ tailgating and football. I'd be all over bobbing for beer haha.

    Do you know what veg side dishes you're making? I'm making this one and figured I'd pass the idea along: http://www.ecurry.com/blog/curries/dry/butternut-squash-with-black-beans-and-walnuts/

    • November 16, 2010 10:20 am

      I haven’t decided yet – I think my mom is going to make a big roasted veggie dish, and I’ve been looking at some mushroom stuffings, but that looks AWESOME. It’s on the list!

  8. November 15, 2010 6:39 pm

    looks like such a great time!!! LOVE those pretzel M&Ms πŸ™‚

  9. November 15, 2010 7:46 pm

    A. Bobbing for beer is hysterical

    B. Going to the bar at 1 AM was definitely the right choice

    C. What a fantastic weekend!

  10. Alex permalink
    November 17, 2010 8:04 pm

    very flattering pictures of me. sums up my weekend. and I was trying to watch the football game I was at while you decided to take a picture. at least wait for a dead ball..

Trackbacks

  1. NYC Day 2: Once In A Lifetime « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

