Skip to content

My Must Haves

November 16, 2010

Holaaa!

This morning I DID wake up to my 6:15 alarm to go for a run. I think I slept a little bit better because I actually used the eyemask I have sitting on my bed. I usually only use it when I’m napping during the day because I keep my room pretty dark at night. But napping doesn’t exactly happen anymore…and kath’s mention of eyemasks made me try it last night! Success! Apparently any teeny bit of light is enough to wake me.

WORKOUT:

 

4 mile run outside. It was cold enough that I got to wear my new running jacket. I loved it — the longer length meant I didn’t have to keep pulling it down, and the thumb-holes kept the sleeves in place. Happy with my purchase. But using my new Garmin just doesn’t feel the same. It doesn’t have the history of all of my first runs on it. Sad. Guess I’ll have to make new memories with this one!

When I got home I did Jillian Michael’s 30-Day Shred Level 3. I hate mountain climbers. Especially on carpet when wearing socks.

OUTFIT:

I bought this white leather jacket over the summer and have never worn it. It’s hard to wear!! I think the all black look might be a little too biker-ish for me, so next time I’ll try pairing it with a more girly skirt or something to balance it out. I do like my new Forever 21 green necklace though! (You can’t really tell it’s green in the pic.) I’m trying to branch out and wear different accessories.

FOOD:

 

Breakfast was the same pumpkin yogurt mess, but this time with pommegranate seeds instead of peanuts. I bought a pommegranate yesterday, used all the fun “how to cut a pommegranate” tricks I’ve learned from the plethora of videos in blog land right now, and then accidentally spilled half the arils on the ground. Oh well.

Lunch was another new Amy’s product – the Teriyaki wrap. Sorry for the lack of creative meals this week, but I haven’t bought much fresh produce since my family is leaving town again this weekend.

The wrap was yummy! A definite pineapple taste to the teriyaki sauce. I wish there were more red pepper inside. I could tell it was a bit higher in sodium – I always can with teriyaki or soy flavored foods – but it wasn’t anything too drastic. Just not an every day lunch. I had the wrap with some extra steamed broccoli and an orange to try to make this runny nose go away! I hope it’s just the colder weather.

Inside view…

And as I type this I am finishing licking the inside of an empty Justin’s Maple Almond Butter packet that I used for my afternoon snack. Had the remaining half of it on top of some oatmeal. My go-to snack that I haven’t had in forever!

**********************************

So I know I mentioned that I haven’t done a ton of grocery shopping since I will be out of town this weekend, but I think I’m going to stop afterwork to pick up some greek yogurt. I could get by without it for the rest of the week, but don’t really like the idea of coming home to a house without it on Sunday.

So here’s a fun question – what 5 foods are your must haves?

Mine:

  1. Oatmeal
  2. Greek Yogurt
  3. Apples
  4. Spinach
  5. Bananas

Some helpful extras:

  1. Almond Butter
  2. Sweet Potatoes

Give me these and I’ll be set for at least a little while.  I can get creative.

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 4:30 pm

    Glad the eye mask worked!!

  2. November 16, 2010 5:26 pm

    Love your new running jacket! I love when they come down long on your hands and have thumb holes! Its also pretty IMPOSSIBLE to do mountain climbers in socks I to have tried and failed 🙂

  3. November 16, 2010 8:47 pm

    1. brown rice
    2. kim chee
    3. almond butter
    4. egg whites
    5. broccoli
    6. greek yogurt

    we have some overlap! nice blog!

  4. squigglefloey permalink
    November 16, 2010 11:55 pm

    Hmmm… mine are probably,
    1) pita bread
    2) fruit
    3) danon yogurt — I’m still not used to the Greek kind
    4) honey bunches of oats
    5) carrots and string cheese.
    Okay, that’s 6, but the last two go together well! 🙂

  5. Natalie permalink
    November 17, 2010 12:25 pm

    It’s tough to narrow down, but I would have to say:
    1.) Bananas
    2.) Greek Yogurt
    3.) Hummus
    4.) Fiber One Frosted Shredded Wheat
    5.) Peanut/almond butter

  6. November 17, 2010 1:05 pm

    cute jacket!
    my husband and I have very different opinions of must haves. His probably include butter, beef, cookies, ice cream and pizza haha
    Mine are
    1) milk
    2) spinach
    3)apples
    4) string cheese
    5) dark chocolate kisses (am I the only one who keeps a stash of these and pops 1 when I feel a chocolate craving?)

Leave a Reply

