Skip to content

Clarification

November 17, 2010
 

Ok I need to clarify. When I say I think Bristol Palin is adorable, I do NOT mean that I think she should have beat out Brandy in Dancing With The Stars!! That is just insane.

Glee was really good last night though. So I guess that kinda makes up for it. Gweneth Paltrow is amazing!

******************************

So last night I made a huge step in “fitting it all in”. I took a harp lesson!! I haven’t actually taken a lesson since high school, so it was totally strange to be corrected on form. But it was so good to see my teacher again and I’m learning some great tunes that I can play for gigs. Very exciting!

Dinner last night was some vegetarian chili that I picked up at whole foods when I stopped in to get the greek yogurt. I really liked the chili – it had a more tomato-ey taste than other chilis. Got me thinking about what type of vegetarian chili I should make for my family’s chili night next Wednesday. Anyone have a favorite recipe?

 I had it along side a mixed green salad with some scallions, feta, and balsamic vinegar. 

I was craving something sweet for dessert, but not chocolate. I try to only do the chocolate when I really want it, otherwise it becomes a habit! I had the end of a loaf of Ezekiel 7 grain  bread smeared with raspberry jam and Trader Joe’s pumpkin butter. On a dirty paper towel.

*************************************************

This morning I woke up and immediately thought “I’m getting sick”. My nose was stuffy and throat a little sore. But I was already up to go to yoga, so I went anyway. I’ve had this issue lately where on the way to yoga I get in my own head with thoughts like “I’m tired” or “I don’t feel well” and just assume it will be a terrible practice and I’ll have to sit out a ton of postures. But once I start I just keep going and it always ends up fine!! My nose was actually a ton better after class today.

Outfit:

Scarf & Pants – H&M, Sweater – Forever 21, Boots – Walmart. Yes.
 
 

 

I wore pants today because my new boots finally came in at the office and I want to make sure they fit over skinnies. Mental note to remember to try them on!

   

 

 

FOOD:

Breakfast was the same as yesterday – pumpkin yogurt mess with pom seeds. It held me over really well! I wasn’t hungry for lunch until 1pm.

 

strange view

 

 

 

 

   

Before my harp lesson, I pressed the tofu to get the water out. My method involves sandwiching the block of tofu in between a bunch of paper towels, and placing it in a bowl.

Then I find something heavy to weigh it down. Note: a block of cut-co knives does not work. It doesn’t balance correctly. But a bunch of my mom’s cookbooks works just fine!

I let that sit for a few hours before slicing up the tofu, sprinkling it with some spices, and popping it in the oven. I actually only baked 4 slices (350 degrees for around 30 minutes) and saved the rest of the raw tofu for later use.Today’s lunch used the tofu in a sandwich! 2 slices with avacado, pasta sauce, and lettuce in between two pieces of Ezekiel 7 grain bread.

I had it with some carrots and an apple.

Back to work!! Our system at work got upgrade and now it’s acting all funky.

 

PS – Anyone notice a change on the blog? I’m officially a Foodbuzz Featured Publisher! YAY!

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2010 2:38 pm

    OMG!!! Congrats on becoming a food buzz publisher! I am still dreaming of that day 🙂 Loving the outfit! Your boots are super cute! I get the same way, when I go to yoga, I usually talk myself out of it and turn around and go home, and lately I’ve been on a yoga kick and going 3xs a week and I’m loving it 🙂

    Loving the blog 🙂

  2. November 17, 2010 3:52 pm

    Congrats on becoming a food buzz featured publisher! yayyyy! Chili is delicious. One of my favorite fall/winter meals. I have a few favorites- this one is kind of different: http://www.itzyskitchen.com/2010/01/adjusted-tina-bars-acorn-squash-and.html. Cute outfit as always. I just ordered brown boots and I can’t wait to get them

  3. squigglefloey permalink
    November 17, 2010 6:43 pm

    Omg CONGRATS on being a food buzz publisher!!! How exciting! A few things:
    1- omg those boots are adorable, and from walmart?! are they comfy??
    2 – my friend just got me into Glee and I’m starting from season 1. Can. not. stop. SO good! this isn’t good for my homework load! haha
    3- i saw on yahoo that some dude shot his tv after b. palin wasn’t voted off last night! major LOLZ. (even though i don’t watch it)
    😛 ok that’s all!

  4. November 17, 2010 9:09 pm

    Congrats on being a featured publisher!!!!!!

    I’m loving Kurt and Blaine on Glee!

  5. November 18, 2010 5:25 am

    congrats!! Thats fun news, you should go sing in the rain like Gweneth did. How cool was that??!!

  6. November 18, 2010 8:15 am

    Congratulations!!

    And I LOVE your H&M picks! The closest one to me is 2 hours away 😦

  7. etk122 permalink
    November 18, 2010 11:36 am

    Congrats Featured Publisher! 🙂 That’s exciting. Have you tried the butternut squash black bean chili that’s been going around the food world? I think it was originally Emily’s from The Front Burner? I know a few other people, including myself have made it and it’s soo good!

  8. November 19, 2010 9:54 am

    here’s my chili recipe 😉

    http://eileenskitchen.blogspot.com/2009/02/chili.html

Leave a Reply

