Skip to content

Is My Mom Crazy?

November 18, 2010

Hi guys! Thanks for all the congratulations on becoming a Featured Publisher. I’m super exicted.

Also really excited about Erica’s Blogger Baked Goods Challange! It’s like a secret santa – email her if you want to join the fun!

******************************

Yesterday.

Those are the new boots I bought. They fit over my pants so I think I can keep them! The 7s are a little snug but I think the leather will stretch out. Etienne Aigner “Costa” boots if you’re wondering.

And if you can handle any more good news, my volleyball team won our first match! And we only had 4 players! We’re planning on winning the league championship now.

DINNER:

Dinner was complete randomness. I was hungry before my 7pm volleyball game and started snacking on wheat crackers and an orange. Then I decided to just eat and made myself a quesadilla – broccoli, mixed greens, and Daiya cheese on a whole wheat wrap with some salsa.

Then the chocolate craving struck, only to find that my dad ate ALL my dark chocolate! He had finished my original big bar, so I bought two mini portioned bars a few days ago. Gone.  So annoying…he doesn’t even care that it is good dark chocolate so I wish he would go buy some himself!

Oh well, I found some caramel hershey’s kisses to eat way too many of.

*****************************************

I didn’t have a run planned this morning since all my running gear is packed for NYC, so I just Shredded (level 3) and finished with a 10 minute pilates for Abs video. Something is better than nothing, right?

Outfit:

 

After spending so much time trying to figure out what I need for nice dinners, nights out at the bars, sitting through outdoor football games, and walking around site seeing in NYC, I was NOT in the mood to try to put myself together this morning!

FOOD:

Apparently I wasn’t in the mood to eat anything interesting either, because I brought nearly the exact same meals as yesterday to work with me.

Pumpkin Yogurt Mess for breakfast

Tofu sandwich - this time on a sandwich thin with soy cheese for lunch. To be had with carrots and a pear.

Snack will be either oatmeal & PB or a luna bar. My brother is going to grab sandwiches for us to bring to the airport for dinner.

Is My Mom Crazy?

One of the many challenges of living at home is sharing the kitchen with my mother. Quite honestly, I use it way more than her so getting in each other’s way isn’t a big issue. However, cleaning the kitchen IS an issue.

After I cook or prepare a meal, I make sure to wipe down the counters so there are no crumbs or mess left. What I don’t do is use the cleaning spray, check cabinet door knobs for smudges, and wipe out the microwave. I think those deep cleaning things are more of a weekly necessity than an every day one.

My mother disagrees. Almost every day she gets upset with me because she sees some pam residue on the stove top or a red mark from pommegranite juice on the microwave handle. She thinks that I need to do way more than just wipe things off after I cook. But I think she’s being a little extreme…

I have told her she has become one of those people that would rather the kitchen be sterile than actually used for cooking, and she actually agreed with me. She just thinks it is completely disgusting and unsanitary to have any sort of food residue AT ALL in the kitchen.

So who is right? Obviously I need to comply with my mom’s wishes considering it is her kitchen, but it takes so much time to do the extra cleaning. Is she crazy for asking me to do this, or am I just a gross person that is okay with a little bit of kitchen mess?

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2010 12:31 pm

    My parents are the type of people who keep it clean instead of using it! So annoying.

    Honestly, I think she is being kind of extreme, but I see where she is coming from I guess. I don’t spray things down that often. Maybe once a week.

  2. November 18, 2010 12:37 pm

    I am lucky enough to not have to share my kitchen! I am deff more like you in the sense that i clean up after cooking and baking but there are deff some stains on and IN the microwave and pam on that stovetop… I DEEP CLEAN maybe once a month and thats when i hit up those things 🙂 I guess were just dirty haha

  3. Olympe permalink
    November 18, 2010 1:20 pm

    I am pretty much like you, cleaning quickly after I cooked. I do more intesive cleaning twice a week and hard core cleaning every 2 or 3 months.

    My mother is more like yours though but I do live on my own so no disputes over how I should clean my kitchen!!!

    Maybe you can compromise on something.

    Have a lovely day.
    P.S: I love with your new boots!!!!

  4. November 18, 2010 2:09 pm

    Omg I am chuckling to myself right now because I can definitely relate to this. My mom is a major cleanfreak, and I try to be equally clean when I cook or bake in the kitchen but somehow, someway she always manages to critique something that wasn’t done “her” way. It’s frustrating! Hopefully I’ll be moving out soon! ADORABLE boots by the way!

  5. November 18, 2010 2:09 pm

    My mom sounds like yours. I make sure that I wipe down the counters and make sure there isnt food or crumbs left on the counter tops, but if she gets home from work and the microwave isnt absolutely white on the inside and there are plates left out or there is even a crumb of food on the counter tops, she freaks. I mean I understand she paid alot of money to update her kitchen, but I mean we have to use the kitchen!! 🙂

  6. Lindsey permalink
    November 18, 2010 2:56 pm

    Well you want to hear something gross? My husband and I moved into our condo about 6 months ago. We had NEVER deep cleaned it. We finally hired a cleaning lady. Our place is 800 square feet. That is VERY small. It took the cleaning lady 4 hours because our house was such a mess. We pick up after ourselves but just can’t be bothered with wiping things, spraying things, dusting, moping etc. We must hide it well. The place was barely recognizable when we got home from work on Tuesday (she came Tuesday morning).

    So, yeah, under my standards (which isn’t saying much), your mom is overly extreme. You have to follow her rules unfortunately.

  7. November 19, 2010 1:55 am

    I think she is, but many others would disagree. There are the neat people like you, and then there are the REEEAAAALLy neat people who insists to spray you with bleach spray if you don’t clean up every speck. I personally think that is a tiring way to live…but I’d rather just spend a few extra minutes tidying up as your mom wants, than to spend hours arguing with her. 😉

  8. November 19, 2010 1:06 pm

    I’m kind of in the middle. I have a class stove top so that has to be clean all the time otherwise it would drive me bonkers, and I think having food smudged on the microwave would bug me too.

    I clean the microwave and the fridge weekly but for the most part after cooking I just wipe down the messes I’ve made (including the stove and microwave) if they are dirty and move on.

    Crumbs are SO annoying to me, if my fiance makes a sandwhich there are crumbs EVERYWHERE and it drives me up the wall, I hate that so much!

    Your outfit is so cute!!

Leave a Reply

