Skip to content

NYC Day 1: I Love Food.

November 19, 2010

I am such a morning person.

Last night when I arrived at my hotel, tired and frustrated with the 200 person line to get a cab at LaGaurdia, I just wanted all the people to go away! At 11:30 pm there were lines of people on the streets and crowds in the lobby. Why aren’t you people in bed???

But then this morning, as I headed outside at 8:30am for a run in Central Park, I was in LOVE with the city. 7th Avenue was filled with people taking walks or stopping in one of the many cafes. Total 180!

***********************************

Backing up.

Yesterday during lunch I ran to my community rec center to register for the Turkey Day 6 mile run. I had two separate women ask med if I was actually going to run it. Umm…yes? Why else would I sign up? So strange! And then on the way back to work I got my first Starbucks Holiday Cup! I grabbed a half caff. americano.

Before heading to the airport, I stopped into St. Louis Bread Company to grab dinner for my brother and I. And I took a picture of the sign to show you guys what a “Panera” looks like in St Louis!

I got a Mediterranean Veggie sandwich, no feta, and ate it on the plane. I asked to substitute whole grain bread, but they forgot. I also had two pickels and BISCOFF for Kath! YAY delta for still giving out free snacks.

The flight was painless, and it was good to chat with my brother and read a little more of The Girl Who Played With Fire. The line to get a cab, as I mentioned, was not painless. But I survived and got to the hotel ready to pass out. My parents were still out with friends at a bar across the street (party animals), but I wanted to get to bed so I was rested for my early morning run!

Here are the digs – notice my beautiful roll-away bed on the left.

And I slept.

*******************************************

Friday morning I woke up to my 8am alarm and ate a snack before my run.

1/2 banana with Justin's PB, and some tea. I actually went back for the rest of the banana.

I didn’t really have any set plans for the run, so I just walked the couple blocks to Central Park South and started out. I ended up running about 4.4 miles in a loop around the park. It was a little chilly, but BEAUTIFUL with so much to look at. Tons of people out with dogs, strollers, bikes etc. I could run in Central Park forever! Here’s my approximate route…

Then I headed back to the hotel, showered, and got ready for the day! My mom, dad, and I decided to head to SoHo first, and on the way to the subway station I ate an apple.

Mom getting on the subway. Such a city girl.

When we got to SoHo, my mom and I grabbed Lattes and then window shopped! We accidentally stumbled upon the new Kardashian store – DASH!! There was actually a guy filming a fake shopper for a show, but finally we got to go in and take some touristy pictures:)

 

love it

 

 

Then we hit the one store we wanted to GO in – Dean & Deluca! Foodie paradise. I snapped a few pics of the incredible produce before I was told to stop taking pictures. Huge pumpkins and mini brussel sprouts πŸ™‚

We tried tons of samples and eventually made a few purchases – a chocolate bar for my dad (his OWN!!), farro (want to grind it and try the farro breakfast from Foodbuzz that people raved about), some great granola, awesome local apples, ANNNND…..

MINI SPOONS!!!! I just love miniature utensils and I fell in love with these. My dad said he’d get them for me:) They fit in the palm of my hand!

Can’t wait to use them.

Then it was time to head to the Chelsea Market! This place has somehow flown under the radar for many people – my parents had never heard of the Chelsea market and even people FROM NYC that we asked for help with directions had never heard of it. Such a shame…it is my heaven.

We wandered through Anthropologie (had to introduce my mom to the store – she even picked out a scarf that my dad bought her for her birthday!) and then it was time for food. So many beautiful desserts and things to sample! We saw colorful cupcakes, tried cranberry blondies at Fat Witch Bakery (x2), sampled truffle butter, cheeses, and more.

 

And then I reached my Mecca.

 

 

One Lucky Duck!!

 

Unfortunately I’m not a coconut fan, so no extremely expensive macaroons were purchased. BUT my first ever extremely expensive green juice was bought! I was really looking forward to finally getting a juice in NYC since the Whole Foods in St. Louis doesn’t make them. I ordered the Thai Green

It was AWESOME. Kinda spicy aftertaste – just like a Thai sauce. My mom really liked it to, but didn’t want to spoil her lunch. (Vegetable Juice can spoil lunch? Not for me πŸ™‚ ) My dad didn’t hate it either!

 

so happy.

 

 

After surveying all the options and waiting for my brother to arrive, it was time for lunch. My dad and brother both got sandwiches from an authentic Italian store, while my mom and I opted for crepes! She ordered a crepe with hummus, veggies, and truffle oil. It smelled AMAZING


I love this picture of my mom:)

 

I ordered the Vegetable Pate crepe that came with Daiya cheese, veggies, lemon juice, and balsamic glaze. It was INSANE. One of the best things I’ve had in a while. Huge, but light and savory. At one point I started giggling while I was eating it and my brother said “she really loves this type of stuff, doesn’t she?”

For dessert my father ever so kindly let ME have some of HIS chocolate bar, while the rest of the crew opted for gelato. I was way too cold for that!

John, Mom & Dad. John was saying "LOOK CLARE A SMALL SPOON!"

 

 

As we left the market, I said out loud “My tummy is SO happy right now.”

 

 

Next stop was Herald Square to check out the Macy’s Holiday store windows. So incredible – even the inside of Macy’s was insanely decked out! And then my brother and I hailed a cab to quickly get up to NBC studios. My friend Meghan’s boyfriend works for NBC and got us standby tickets to the Jimmy Fallon show. Usually most of the standby list is let in, but unfortunately a Friday near the Holidays meant tons of people showed up and we weren’t let in. Bummer! But so nice of Meghan and John to think of us!

Empire State Building

Empire State Building

store window

store window

 

inside Macys

Me: So what are you guys? Them: SNOWBALLS. DUH.

 

Since we couldn’t watch Jimmy Fallon, I met my parents back at the hotel before heading to the Notre Dame pep rally in Lincoln Center! The whole band was there and there was a HUGE turn out! So much fun. I ate a teensy Dean & Deluca apple and another wedge of chocolate along with some tea on the way there.

 

The band in front of the Pep Rally stage

 

 

 

Unfortunately the way back to the hotel involved a stop at the pharmacy to purchase this:

I’d been feeling sick for a few days, and it finally hit tonight. My nose is super runny, throat sore, and I have zero voice. My family is currently at a nice dinner – one of Charlie Palmer’s restaurants in Grand Central Station. My little brother finally arrived from school and we invited a bunch of family friends, but I was just not feeling well. I decided it was best to keep me and my no-good attitude at the hotel so I could rest up before tomorrow’s big day. I really don’t want to be sick for the football game!

My dad ordered me room service ( I say that because I have no voice to order with!) and I changed into my PJs. Weirdly after a day of eating of non-stop eating, I was still really hungry for dinner! I guess sometimes sickness can rev up your appetite instead of surpressing it.

I was hoping for soup, but it wasn’t vegetarian (in fact the description was something like turkey soup with bacon and sausage) so I got the veggie burger instead. It came with a massive wheat bun and totally hit the spot, and loved that I could get fruit on the side!

And now I am using the stupidly expensive Wi-Fi that I bought to blog about the day while I watch Entertainment Tonight. I so very badly wish I could have been at Oprah’s Ultimate Favorite Things!!

I’m still snacking – Justin’s Chocolate PB packet that I bought for my mom like 2 months ago and she never tried. A Smores Luna bar and a Nature Valley bar. Don’t get why I was so hungry but I’m just going with it.

Despite getting sick, today was INCREDIBLE. I go to do so much fun stuff in NYC!Β  I don’t know if I could handle the crowds and fast paced life for long, but I wouldn’t mind having access to the food scene here!

 

I’m going to vedge and then get some sleep, hoping to feel a ton better for tomorrow. Big things on the agenda – Mass at St. Patrick’s, ND band playing in Times Square, Tailgates, and then the football game!

I’ve got the results of A Very Bloggie Christmas scheduled to be posted so be sure to check for it! Goodnight!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2010 9:31 pm

    Looks like so much fun and good food too–always a plus! That’s crazy how “Panera” looks in St. Louis! I hope you feel better. I was sick all last week.

  2. squigglefloey permalink
    November 19, 2010 9:42 pm

    Haha I love how the juice and your green scarf match.
    Glad you’re having a wonderful trip! Your fam is adorable πŸ™‚

  3. November 20, 2010 12:40 am

    I feel like I have so much to say!
    1. running in central park is so awesome, I have only run there once and it was for my first 5k! I cannot wait to run there again. 2. I used to live in illinois and Panera was st louis bread factory there too, or at least it was 13 years ago haha . 3. your green scarf is amazing and I need it now! 4. Mini spoons are amazing! I have some on my christmas list πŸ˜€
    Looks like your having an AWESOME TIME πŸ™‚

  4. November 20, 2010 8:40 am

    You’re so lucky to be in NYC during Thanksgiving time! I was there fourish years ago when my sister was in the Macy’s parade and fell in love with the city. So glad you went to Chelsea Market! Hope you feel better soon.

Trackbacks

  1. My Melt Down Realization « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

