Skip to content

A White Thanksgiving

November 25, 2010

It’s SNOWING!!!

Knowing the midwest weather, it’ll probably be 70 degrees on Christmas. So at least today we can celebrate a White Thanksgiving:)

Thankfully it was only misting at 7am when I woke up for my run. I almost just hit snooze and went back to sleep, but I had to at least check the weather. Since it wasn’t raining I really had no justification for skipping out, so I suited up and got ready to run.

Wanted some energy but was still stuffed from the night before, so just had half a banana with some Barney Butter with my coffee:

All decked out with my spandex (same pair I wore the first day I started running!!), running jacket, gloves, and ear warmer. Hoping it wouldn’t START sleeting during the run!

I parked a couple of blocks away from the start, and not knowing exactly how the race was set up, walked to the start about 30 minutes early. Bad idea!! It was so informal that I should have just stayed in the warmth until the last minute. The 6 mile run ended up starting a few minutes late while we waited for the last of the 3-milers to finish, and then we were off!

The run was mainly through neighborhood streets of my hometown, many of which I run on a regular basis. After about a mile I warmed up at somewhere in mile 3 I realized I could feel my toes. With about 2 miles left I found a girl that was 2 years below me in high school and we chatted for the remainder of the run. My garmin time said 50:39, averaging around an 8:30 pace which i am pleased with! Of course I wound up happy that I ran….never regret a work out! And I’ll count this as my 1-year running anniversary celebration.

**********************************

I got home and found my mom starting on her apple pie 🙂 After a hot shower and some stretching, I got to work on my dishes! I wanted to get them out of the way before my relatives came over and crowded the kitchen. I was making Angela’s Salt & Vinegar Roasted Chickpeas and her Mandarin & Maple Spiced Quinoa.

While I was boiling the chickpeas in vinegar, I prepped all my ingredients for the quinoa:

 

spices, mandarin juice, toasted almonds, dried cherries, dried apricots

 

After boiling the quinoa, I added the dried fruit and let it cooked for a few more minutes

Next came the toasted almonds, maple syrup, and sea salt:

After stirring in the mandarin oranges, I poured it into the serving dish and topped with toasted walnuts!

I snuck a taste test before putting it in the fridge — SO YUMMY! The maple syrup is awesome with the quinoa. A great side dish packed with healthy fats and complete protein. Can’t wait for my serving at dinner tonight, and I think all of my family will love it too! I’m really glad I decided to make something a little different for Thanksgiving this year.

 

****************************************

After I finished my cooking, it was time to put on some real clothes and eat breakfast. It’s hard to make myself get very dressed up when I know I’m sitting around with my family all day, but I wanted to look more decent than the black leggings & black t-shirt I threw on after my shower.

So I threw this on–> the belt has stretch in the back 🙂 🙂 Had to wear a warm sweater and scarf because all of the women in the house like to keep it extremely cold. And though I might look put together, my feet still look like this:

 

big comfy green socks.

 

 

Breakfast for me was some greek yogurt with pumpkin, raw oats, and fresh fruit:

I also snuck some bites of bagel that my aunt brought over.

And now the family is sitting around chatting, watching football, and of course already starting on the appetizers. Because it’s been about an hour since we last ate 😉

I had some more fruit from breakfast and a bunch of the roasted chickpeas! A few burned (I guess the 45 minutes on the recipe is too long for my powerful oven) but they are still crunchy and addicting:

 

 

My family will probably eat dinner between 5 and 6 and I’ll give you a full recap of the meal after that.

Before I head off to be social, I want you all to know that I am so so thankful for all of your support for this blog. The blogging community truly is welcoming and encouraging, and it makes the time I put in 100% worth it.

I am of course so lucky to have all of my relatives together after so many years, to have such hilarious friends that I still get to see regularly, and to see this guy tomorrow:)

 

And lastly, I’m thankful that despite my occasional melt downs, I am in good health and have abundant food, shelter, and other American freedoms.

 

HAPPY THANKSGIVING EVERYONE!!

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Clare permalink
    November 25, 2010 4:44 pm

    IM 99% SURE KEVIN BRADY IS THE COOLEST PERSON ALIVE. THEREFORE I GIVE THANKS FOR BEING HIS SISTER. HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

  2. November 26, 2010 12:00 am

    happy running anniversary! 😉
    adorable outfit as usual… Hope you had a WONDERFUL THANKSGIVING

  3. November 26, 2010 12:31 am

    Great job on your race! I was complaining about 50 degree weather to run in this morning… I would have died in the snow!

  4. November 26, 2010 8:20 am

    Looks like you had a wonderful thanksgiving! Where did you get your scarf???

Trackbacks

  1. Frostbite Series 12K « Fitting It All In
  2. My Favorite Recipe Blogs « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

