Skip to content

Back To Normal!

November 27, 2010

Mission for the day: get back to normal eating habits! No more random spoonfuls of stuffing or bites of pecan pie. The amount of left overs and Tupperware containers piled up in our fridge actually makes me pretty anxious, so I have decided to just stop with the leftovers all together and start making simple nutritious meals again. Let’s hope I can keep this healthy eating up!

 

Alex and I were both awake by 8am but layed around before making breakfast. I whipped up some dippy eggs and toast (admittedly, my eggs were much runnier and better than his ๐Ÿ™‚ Sorry!) He had bacon on the side, while I stuck to grapes and half an apple. I also had multiple cups of strong black coffee.

He had to hit the road pretty early to get back for some family events, and while he left drive home I left for the gym! I’ve been such a little gym rat lately…love having so many options for what to do next.

I ran 3 miles on the treadmill looking like this:

0-.5: 6.7 mph

.5-1: 7 mph

1-1.5: 7.2 mph

1.5-2: 7.5 mph

2-2.25: 7.7 mph

2.25-2.5: 8 mph

2.5-2.75: 7.5 mph

2.75-3: 7 mph

Then I did 20 easy minutes on the elliptical and 10 on the recumbent bike just to finish a magazine.ย  After a very brief abs session I headed to Target to grab some random necessities.

****************************

 

Back on track mode continued with lunch – a green monster and almond butter toast!

Green Monsters are a miracle drink! Even Alex said they helped his hangovers when I used to make them for him at school. I make mine with

  • A blender full of raw spinach
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 scoop chocolate amazing grass
  • 1/2 scoop Jay Robb vanilla whey protein powder
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • ice
  • xantham gum

Energy in a cup.

 

Since we had a free afternoon, my brothers and I decided to be cute and see a movie together. None of us had seen Harry Potter pt 7.1 yet, so it was an easy choice. The movie was good, but I missed Hogwarts!! I haven’t read the book since it first came out, so it doesn’t bother me when the movie strays a little. I think its a good technique…instead of re-reading them to remember, let yourself forget!

 

After the movie I picked up dinner at my favorite, Crazy Bowls & Wraps. I knew my family would eat more leftovers and some healthy brown rice, veggies, and tofu sounded perfect to me. I added some asparagus and peppers to mine.

 

Then at half time of the Notre Dame vs. USC game, I managed to avoid all the pie and cookies sitting out and instead made myself a small bowl of oatmeal with fresh blueberries and a small scoop of Barney Butter. These types of desserts are more filling and way better for me! I’m going to try to commit to having this when I’m hungry after dinner instead of going directly to chocolate and sweets.

 

 

And somehow, despite 4 turnovers, Notre Dame managed to beat USC for the first time in 8 years!! It is a bitter rivalry and so exciting that we finally won. GO IRISH!!

I’m hoping to utilize the good weather to go for a long-ish run in the morning, so bed time is fast approaching. I love that today is only Saturday! Holidays are the best:)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. squigglefloey permalink
    November 27, 2010 11:25 pm

    Haha it’s funny that you mentioned the USC/ND game, we were watching it at my place too! And we were totally rooting for ND even though we’re in So.Cal…but both my parents went to UCLA so rooting for ND was an easy choice for everyone ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. November 28, 2010 11:55 am

    A green monster is on the menu for me today as well!

  3. November 28, 2010 3:21 pm

    Looks like you’re definitely on track getting over the T-giving “crap food” hump. Oatmeal and fruit is a great dessert that I always somehow forget about when chocolate it laying out…shall definitely be resorting to that more ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. November 28, 2010 6:13 pm

    i made smoothies all the time with tons of different things but i have never tried xantham gum, does it make an difference in flavor or texture?

  5. November 29, 2010 3:32 pm

    Today is my second day of intuitive eating… I’m trying to avoid taking bites of random food when I’m not hungry as well ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

