Skip to content

Make Your Own Pizza At Last!

November 27, 2010

Friday morning I woke up and hit the gym right away so I could get in a work out before Alex arrived. I snacked on some crackers and grapes waiting for my car to warm up in the driveway.

At the gym I did 45 minutes of elliptical intervals – really I just picked up the pace for 1 minute at the beginning of each new song on my ipod. I need to do intervals more often. They really turn a blah elliptical workout into something more intense. I ended with some stretching, abs (using the ab moves from my pilates video because they work) and some bicep curls/lunges/etc with 8lb weights.

***********************************

Alex neglected to call me when he was getting close, and just walked into my room as I was halfway finished drying my hair. umm..hi!! He patiently waited while I finished prettying myself and then I had breakfast while we lounged on the couch for a little bit.

banana oatmeal with cinnamon apples and pumpkin butter

 

Then it was time to Ice Skate!! Forest Park has an outdoor rink that plays Christmas Music and serves hot chocolate and it is just the most perfect way to start out the Holiday Season. It was a beautiful day and we busted out our best skating skills. Or rather his skills, mine were sub-par.

We had our picture taken by a bystander. She told us we were a “handsome couple”. Such an old-fashioned term…so nice!

After ice skating we headed home for a late lunch of Thanksgiving leftovers. I wasn’t really hungry until I saw the food…then I somehow became ravenous! I made myself a repeat plate of Thanksgiving night – oyster stuffing, roasted vegetables, and maple quinoa. MMM.

*****************************************

MYO PIZZA NIGHT:

When Alex and I first started dating, he told me he had the “most perfect date idea”. It was a huge secret and but he definitely talked it up. Well, one day I suggested we do make your own pizzas sometime and he confessed that that was his date night plan! Ever since then it has been on our to-do list, but somehow we have never gotten around to it.

Tonight, despite the copious amount of left overs and all my family members being at home, we decided to make it happen. We grocery shopped at Trader Joe’s for their 99cent pizza dough, mozzerella, and veggies.


We took turns tossing the dough….

And then loaded on the toppings. We split it in half – one side with tomato sauce and one side just olive oil. We topped it with tomato slices, mozzerella slices, chopped onion, some spinach (for my side 🙂 ) and fresh basil from our plant.

All ready to go…with Kevin walking by!

The pizza took longer than we expected – I think we left the dough too thick. Instead of the 12 minutes recommended we probably baked it for 20 and it was still pretty mushy. While it was in the oven, Alex flirted with Mia:

And finally it was ready!!

dork.

My slices

I mean COME ON. Slightly browned mozzerella, doughy wheat crust brushed with Extra Virgin Olive Oil, fresh basil….INCREDIBLE! Especially with some crisp white wine 😉

l

We took our date night picture with the rest of the family…had to document it as it truly was!

bunny ears necessary

Dessert for me featured an item my mother neglected to tell me she had purchased…

TJ's Pumpkin Ice Cream!!

I had it with a slice of leftover pumpkin cheese cake….times two. The ice cream is for serious pumpkin lovers as you can definitely taste the strong nutmeg and cinnamon spices.

****************************************

After everyone finished their dinners, we took some final family pictures. Everyone was here except my older brother John 😦

Mia was ready:

sweet shades.

So typical - my family taught Mia how to make a farting sound in her arm.

*****************************************

Had I known that my friend Claire would invite us over to make Christmas Cookies, I may have skipped my double dessert (that’s a lie. I totally would have had the pumpkin ice cream anyway). But regardless Alex and I headed over to make Rice Krispy Treats and Oatmeal Raisin Cookies with Claire and her boyfriend Charlie.

As it usually happens with people that have never made rice krispy treats before, Claire and Alex were shocked at how easy it was! They made quite the team…

Claire and I even made a peanut butter glaze to spread on them…tasted JUST like puppy chow and was just powdered sugar, water, and peanut butter stirred together.

Charlie’s oatmeal raisin cookies started a little shaky…he didn’t realize you were supposed to mix the wet ingredients and THEN add the dry! Oh well, nothing some hand mixing cant fix:)

They attempted to use cookie cutters but the batter wasn’t cooperating much. I think they ended up just making one giant sheet pan cookie!

By 11pm, Alex and I were stuffed with raw cookie dough and ready to pass out. We headed home and watched some episodes of East Bound and Down (a ridiculously vulgar HBO TV show) and then went to sleep. It was such a fun, delicious, holiday-themed day! Even though Alex could only stay for 24 hours, I’m really glad he came and got to meet my family. Also, I don’t think I remember what being hungry feels like.

******************************************

I found this quote in Self Magazine while on the elliptical – it was called “Break Free” and was exactly what I needed to read. Hopefully it helps some of you out as well!

When you’re in the thick of it all, it can be easy to lose sight of what’s important. (Remember what they say about not seeing the forest for the trees!) So here’s a bright idea: rather than feel crowded by your obligations, take a deep breath (or 10), clear a space for yourself, and focus on what truly matters: You’re happy. You’re healthy. And you’re loved. Everything else is just details.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2010 5:16 pm

    I found you via A Foodie Stays Fit. What a cute couple and you and Alex do make a handome couple!

    ps. what pilates abs workout are you talking about? Share your secret please.

  2. November 27, 2010 8:05 pm

    Your pizza looks amazing! I hope it was yummy!! Brian and I also recently had a make-our-own-pizza-date-night but we had to make a gluten-free crust. We didn’t get the crust right or something because it wasn’t very good…that’s the problem with gluten-free cooking. 😦 But half the fun is in making the pizza, anyway!
    I miss you tons!! Hope you had a great Thanksgiving! 🙂

  3. squigglefloey permalink
    November 27, 2010 8:42 pm

    You guys are quite the handsome couple! 🙂
    I’m going to have to try that .99 cent pizza dough soon. I live right across from Trader Joes so I might as well when I’m at my apartment during the week.

  4. November 27, 2010 10:28 pm

    YAY for Ice-Skating!
    And pumpkin ice-cream 😀

  5. Marla permalink
    November 27, 2010 10:34 pm

    I was also wondering what pilates DVD you mentioned. Sounds like you had a great holiday!!!

  6. irene permalink
    November 28, 2010 1:45 am

    I love the “break free” quote! (I also love East Bound and Down)

  7. November 28, 2010 11:52 am

    I love making homemade pizza with my husband; it is so much fun!! I tried pumpkin ice cream the other day, and it was really good!

  8. November 28, 2010 6:09 pm

    Ice skating looks so fun! I hope i can get some of that good stuff in this winter!
    The pizza looks and sounds AWESOME, so simple. I love thick crust too. After hearing about your cookie adventures i may go have to bake my first batch of christmas cookies if i can get off my butt!

    I LOVE that quote, looks like something i should keep in mind next time i freak out.

  9. November 29, 2010 10:43 pm

    My boyfriend and I met at that ice skating rink!

    I love reading a St. Louis blog.

  10. December 1, 2010 5:04 pm

    i just came across the quote in Self when i was on the elliptical today, i tore the page out 🙂

Leave a Reply

