Skip to content

Green Monster Q&A

November 29, 2010

I’ve received a few questions lately, particularly about the Green Monsters that I drink, so I’m gonna do a little Q&A at the end of this post!

But first, the day so far:

WORKOUT:

 

Went to Bikram this morning. It’s my workout version of “getting back on track”. I would have loved to go over the weekend, but I can’t stand how crowded it is! If I’m moving my body into weird positions, I’d like to do so without worrying about getting kicked in the face.

Class was good – it was a teacher that doesn’t hold the postures for very long. This seems like a positive thing, but actually kind of frustrates me because I know I’m not getting as good of a workout. Oh well, yoga is wonderful no matter what!

OUTFIT:

Finally wore my new plaid skirt from Forever 21. It’s a little on the short side, but my bosses are out of town so I decided it was okay today 🙂 My mom always tells me it would be so simple and cheap to make, but honestly why bother when you’ve got  a Forever 21 price.

FOOD:

Breakfast was a Barney Butter & Banana sandwich on ezekiel 7 grain. Also had a grapefruit and coffee. I’ve been really into the carbs & peanut butter lately. They feel so much more homey and wintery compared to my normal yogurt messes. But I’m sure the tides will turn again soon…my breakfasts are always phases!

 

Lunch was leftover stirfry from last night and an apple.

 I ran to World Market to pick up some little gifts at lunch and found the coolest kitchen accessory:

This “Brown Sugar Bear” is apparently a miracle worker – it keeps your brown sugar moist (SO NEEDED), keeps spices or dried fruit fresh, dries out wet technology, etc. Check it out!

It was only $4, and I’m sending it to someone as a gift, but if I hear rave reviews I’ll definitely be buying a few for the house. Has anyone used one of these before??

Q&A

  • Natalie asked where I got this scarf:

It’s from American Eagle just a few weeks ago! It is the kind that is just one big loop and you can wrap it as many times as you want. Totally love it and want to get more colors. So easy to wear…highly recommended!

  • Damaris & Marla asked what pilates DVD I use.

I use this one!

I picked it up at Sports Authority a few years ago and it’s perfect for quick but intense targeted workouts. I mostly use the abs and flexibility, but all of them are good!

  • Natalie asked what brand of pumpkin yogurt I buy:

I don’t! I have tried Stoneyfield’s yogurt, and while delicious, it has over 20 grams of sugar in it so it’s not the healthiest option. Instead I make my own by mixing plain greek yogurt with 1/4 cup pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice, and a little stevia. It’s SO GOOD.

  • Bunches of people asked about Green Monsters.

Green Monsters are a smoothie/juice made with spinach or another green and were made popular by miss Angela of Oh She Glows. She now has a whole website dedicated to them – GreenMonsterMovement.com! On the website you can find tons of different recipes, as well as information on the benefits of drinking green monsters.

image from the green monster movement website.

I made my first one last spring and became addicted. I add protein powder to mine, so they are a perfect post workout drink. I totally notice the energy I get from them, as well as a “clean” feeling from knowing all of the beneficial nutrients I’m putting in my body! It’s perfect for getting in tons of vegetables in quick and tasty way.

My standard recipe is:

  • blender full of spinach
  • 1 cup almond/soy milk
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1 scoop chocolate amazing grass (another awesome product that you can learn about here)
  • 1/2 scoop Jay Robb vanilla whey protein powder
  • ice
  • xantham gum (used to thicken and smooth it out)

But I’ve also experimented by adding more banana, blueberries, peanut butter, etc! So many versions and so many benefits:) My skeptical roommate tried some of mine and thought it tasted like a vanilla milkshake! And my boyfriend said they helped his hangovers! The  banana totally cuts out any of the spinach taste, but these aren’t your super sweet Smoothie King smoothies. Try different ingredients until you find one you like…the worst that can happen is you’re not a fan and you make something new to eat, right??

*********************************

Lastly, Sophia put up her first post in her eating disorder series. It is a totally open and honest look into what it is like to struggle with an eating disorder. If you’re interested, check it out. She did a fantastic job.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2010 4:03 pm

    I have the same scarf from AE except for in blue!

  2. November 29, 2010 4:14 pm

    I could never get into the Green Monster trend. I have that same dvd! Great ab workout 🙂

  3. squigglefloey permalink
    November 29, 2010 9:33 pm

    I’m loving the color of your nail polish! Your skirt is adorable as well. But I’ve been freezing and layering it up over here so skirts are pretty much out of the question. I’m assuming your workplace has central heat? hehe

  4. November 29, 2010 10:25 pm

    I need a pilates DVD. you’re totally inspiring me to stop being lazy.

  5. November 30, 2010 12:36 am

    That brown sugar bear is pretty awesome!! I’ve never heard of anything like it…I may have to seek one out for myself

  6. November 30, 2010 1:27 pm

    My mom always say the same stuff about my clothes….”I can make that” and “that’s so easy to make”….but I agree, if the price is right, why not buy it right?

    Cute outfit and thanks for sharing your Pilates DVD of choice. I have an old DVD that I got from infomercial a long time ago.

Trackbacks

  1. crazy robe lady with a camera. « Banksyface
  2. Faces of Beauty & New Breakfast! « Fitting It All In
  3. My Ab Exercises « Fitting It All In
  4. Reader’s Request: What I Ate To Lose The Weight « Fitting It All In
  5. Tuesday Time & Lara Bar Review « Fitting It All In
  6. Shangri-La Vegetarian Diner « Fitting It All In
  7. My Favorite Recipe Blogs « Fitting It All In
  8. Bloggie Trends You Just Aren’t Into « Fitting It All In
  9. Giveaway Winner! « Fitting It All In
  10. The New Kashi Ad « Fitting It All In
  11. Speed Demons « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

