Skip to content

Patrick’s Request

November 30, 2010

Something crazy happened yesterday.

I didn’t get hungry for an afternoon snack! Usually, even if my stomach isn’t asking for it, I convince myself that I need to eat one. But not yesterday – I held out straight through the end of the work day! Instead, I had dinner on the earlier side and had my snack later in the evening.

Amy's Tomato soup with peas + sandwich thin with laughing cow, tomato, and spinach.

Pumpkin yogurt with Kashi Go Lean & Blueberries. Also had a few handfuls of green grapes.

************************************************

Tuesday Workout:

 

I had an outdoor run planned for this morning, but last night I decided to do it at the gym instead. At this point even the treadmill sounds better than 30 degree darkness.

At the gym I did intervals totalling 4.5 miles on the treadmill:

0-.5: 6.7mph

.5-.75: 7 mph

.75-1: 7.5mph

1-1.25: 8mph

1.25-1.5: 8.5 mph (hard!)

Repeat  the past 4 steps 2 more times

3.5-4: 6.7mph

4-4.5: walk at 4mph, incline of 5

Intervals, while tiring, are the best work out! Afterwards I stretched, made the gym guy find the foam roller for me, did some ab moves from my video again, and then ventured into the machine room. I did bicep curls, tricep push downs, inclined bench press, leg press, and quad raises. 3 sets – 15, then 12, then 10. And then it was time to get ready for work!

OUTFIT:

 

Not the most inspired, but I have a question about how to wear the scarf. I’ve seen it tucked into belts before and though it looked cute, but I kinda think it makes me look weirdly heavy on top?

I stuck to my normal scarf wearing for the day…

What do you think about belting the scarf??

P.S. – a whole bunch of women started walking in right when I was ready to take these pictures and I got super embarrassed and had to snap them really quickly.

FOOD:

Breakfast was the same as yesterday

Barney Butter & Banana sandwich + Grapefruit

Lunch was a Dr. Praeger’s with lots of hummus, tomato, and spinach on a sandwich thin. I had some asparagus and an apple on the side. I think I need to get more protein with lunch, especially if I don’t have greek yogurt at breakfast, because this is not holding me over as well as yesterday’s tofu stirfry did!

PATRICK’S REQUEST:

 

Last night as I was about to fall asleep, I got a text from my good friend Patrick asking why I never told him about the blog! Well…it’s because I’m still kinda embarrassed to tell people. Instead I just link to my posts on facebook and let stalking do all the work for me. Sorry Pat! Also, please observe my bedtime from now on 😉

Anyway, Patrick had a few qualms about my blog content:

One: I have made no mention of the delicious black bean brownies that I made last spring, and that he proceeded to eat half the pan of for dinner one night. I used the common recipe from HappyHerbivore (which is also where I got this picture from) and loved them! My roommates couldn’t guess that there were black beans in them. Definitely need to make these again since they are such a healthy dessert alternative!

Two: I have made no mention of “Aunt Debbie’s Angels” – the given name of the band we played together in last year! Patrick is an AMAZING singer/guitarist/songwriter that is currently working on making it big  – check out his website and listen to his music! Fun Fact – though he’ll probably deny it, I helped name his first album “Red Beer’.

I play the harp with him occassionally (Our favorite is an MGMT/The Fray mashup), and last Spring we teamed up with my friend Katie, who plays the fiddle, and my friend Santiago who plays some sort of weird South American drum, to play music before some of the ND Women’s Basketball Games.

And now you guys know about it. So I hope you’re happy Pat 🙂

Lastly: He was sad that I let the cat out of the bag on the Holy Half Marathon being a short course. Pat ran it too, and I guess we both like to think we did the real thing. I say if it’s called a Half Marathon, it counts!

Happy Tuesday!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 2:49 pm

    Black bean brownies sound like something to try! I like the scarf tucked into the belt! I think it looks cute, but I do like the other way better, maybe because that is how I am used to seeing scarfs?! Nice workout in the gym! I love using foam rollers too! : )

  2. Brandi permalink
    November 30, 2010 5:32 pm

    Pretty, colorful scarf! I like the way the scarf is displayed more fully when tucked into the belt. BUT I still think it looks better the regular way. It took me a while to accept the belt over a sweater thing though (now I think its supercute and doesnt add lbs at all) so I could be wrong.

  3. November 30, 2010 7:23 pm

    I love that blue bowl you have, where is it from???
    The scarf does look a little off tucked into the belt, almost like its trying to be a shirt haha but i do love how colorful the scarf is!

    so tell me about these black bean brownies….. Im afraid to make them because my boyfriend and all my friends ARE NOT what you consider health conscious and i dont want to eat them all… you really cant tell theyr’e made from black beans??

  4. squigglefloey permalink
    November 30, 2010 9:28 pm

    The tucked in scarf is such an interesting idea. I’ve never seen it done before (that I’ve noticed). But comparing the two I like the second option that you went with.
    And that’s SO cool that you play the harp! I don’t think I know anyone that knows how 😛

  5. November 30, 2010 11:51 pm

    I’ve never seen a scarf tucked into a belt but I kinda like it! I don’t think it looks heavy on top at all.

  6. December 1, 2010 1:34 am

    I still love that you play the harp. That is just TOO cool. I saw it in your about page but didn’t get to comment on it yet.
    I still don’t know how to wear a scarf. I need to learn the numerous way to style with it.

  7. December 1, 2010 12:00 pm

    Wow – those brownies look really amazing!
    And I just gotta try a nut butter+banana sammie for breakfast.. ASAP!
    😀

Leave a Reply

