Skip to content

Dinner Obligation & Oatmeal How-To

December 1, 2010

Afternoon snack returned in glory yesterday…I know you were worried. I had pumpkin yogurt with blueberries and Kashi Go Lean again. When I don’t have my yogurt in the morning, it makes a great snack! Just a little time consuming to pack for work.

BTW – Anne P. is hosting a Stonyfield giveaway. With the amount of Stonyfield Oikos greek yogurt I consume, winning this would be awesome!

After work I had a little bit of time to kill before a work get together, so I window shopped at the mall and got a decaf americano at Starbucks.

I look a little possessed in this

And by the time I got home after my harp lesson, I was FAMISHED. 7pm appointments just don’t work well with my eating schedule. Usually I would have just microwaved some soup or a frozen burrito, but tonight I felt obligated to cook! See at my harp lesson, my teacher Eileen asked what I was making for dinner tonight. STUPID BLOG. Now I have to cook! I guess since I have a food blog I really owe it to you guys to get a little creative every once in a while….so into the produce drawers I dug.

I steamed some onion, garlic, and chopped zucchini in a pan while microwaving a  fork-pricked sweet potato for 5 minutes.

Next I added a can of rinsed black beans, some spinach, a little vegetable broth and a hefty dose of garlic powder and cumin.

I let this simmer until most of the liquid was dissolved, then spooned half the mixture over half of the sweet potato (the other half is for lunch).

I topped it with some salsa and had some roasted caulifower on the side. My mom was already roasting the caulifower when I got home because it was about to go bad. She used a little olive oil, some thyme, and some dill. It was an awesome flavor combo!!

Totally easy and filling dinner and a great way to use up all the veggies we had leftover from last week. Best part = lunch is already prepared for the next day. That alone is often motivation enough for me to cook at night.

Dessert was an unsweetened applesauce with a side of advent wreath and gym bag.

 I went to bed with a full and happy stomach.

***************************************

WEDNESDAY WORKOUT:

Yoga again this morning! This time it was one of my favorite teachers. She keeps the class fast paced and her voice, while stern and commanding, is somehow so soothing. It was a great practice today. I’m loving feeling like part of the group since it’s often the same people that go at 6:30 in the morning. I also wore my spandex shorts inside out. Oh well.

OUTFIT:

Sweater dress & Tights - Forever 21. Belt - My mom's. Boots - Macys

 

 The red belt makes me feel very holiday-ish. Do you guys like this feature of my blog?? It makes me feel like a total diva when I pose for pictures of myself with my hand on my hip. But it’s also kinda fun to try to put together decent outfits. Let me know.

BREAKFAST:

Honestly, the only reason I didn’t make another AB & banana sandwich was so that you didn’t have to look at another picture of one. I know, the things I do for you.

Instead, I made whipped banana oats at work! And I figured I’d give you a little how-to since I think the pictures are missing from my last one. While not optimal, it is pretty easy to make a good bowl of oats at the office if you have access to hot water and a microwave. Here’s what I start with:

First I pour hot water into a bowl of quick oats & cinnamon. While that is working it’s magic, I slice half the banana and microwave it for 20 seconds.

The banana slices should be nice and gooey. I slide them into the bowl of oatmeal and stir like crazy.

Then I top the mixture with the other half of the banana and half a packet of Almond Butter! Lick the end of the packet just to make sure its all clean before I put it away for next time…

Perfect Breakfast.

**************************************

Hope you guys have a great Wednesday! I think Starbucks is offering a discount for World Aids Day so don’t feel guilty for getting your fix:) I might just have to go again. I’d like to thank Alex & Molly for their birthday giftcards that are now fueling my new addiction to Starbucks.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2010 11:38 am

    I like you outfit posts! I love that it makes you feel like a diva! : ) I also love that red belt, so festive!

  2. December 1, 2010 11:39 am

    *your

  3. December 1, 2010 11:53 am

    I love your outfit section of your posts! They inspire me to try to look cute at work, unfortunately it’s business – suits and stuff.

    You may have mentioned this before but do you go to a yoga studio or do you go to classes at your gym? My friend is looking for a yoga studio in St.L.

  4. December 1, 2010 2:34 pm

    i like the posted outfits, i’m always looking for new fun ideas. The red belt definitely makes the outfit festive!

  5. Pearson Smith permalink
    December 1, 2010 4:12 pm

    Found your blog on SkinnyRunner and love it. I am 24 and can totally relate to your eating history and struggles these days… seems to be a constant on the mind. Always nice to read about someone doing as well as you are!

    Love the outfits!

  6. molly permalink
    December 1, 2010 6:48 pm

    Yayyy!! Shout out on the blog!! Mmm banana oatmeal looks fabulous and of course I like the picture of your outfit part of your blog. 🙂

  7. December 1, 2010 7:15 pm

    I think Starbucks holiday cups make getting starbucks that much more fun 🙂 GREAT dinner. The extra cooking effort seems to always pay off. And adorable outfit as per usual!

  8. December 1, 2010 7:51 pm

    great tutorial! office oat making skills are super handy 🙂

    hope you had a great day girl!

  9. Brandi permalink
    December 1, 2010 8:42 pm

    Oh no! Whatever you do, do NOT stop doing the outfit of the day. Tis my favorite part! You always look so darn cute. I work in a law firm and have to go to court often so dont get to dress cute, just boring suity suits ;(

    Outside of work I always try to wear cute stuff to make up for it so need the outfit of the day for inspiration (read: to copy). Then sometimes, I am just too lazy and end up in jeans and a tee.

  10. squigglefloey permalink
    December 1, 2010 9:01 pm

    What a great tutorial! I love the whipping action photo haha.
    And no worries, we all have looks of possession in our eyes when we’re holding starbucks 🙂

  11. December 1, 2010 10:18 pm

    I’m all for the outfits – they’re adorable and the fashion aspect is awesome!

  12. December 2, 2010 10:04 pm

    I make the same oatmeal snack 🙂 so yummy!!! Love your outfit it’s so adorable 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. One Less Thing To Fit In… « Fitting It All In
  2. I’ll Have Fish Another Time « Fitting It All In
  3. My Most Prized Posession « Fitting It All In
  4. Wobbly Wednesday « Fitting It All In
  5. Nut Butter Me Up « Fitting It All In
  6. Weeknight Out « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

