Skip to content

One Less Thing To Fit In…

December 1, 2010

Remember how my dad used to always eat my chocolate bars? Well now he has one of his own….

A full pound of chocolate. His first trip to Trader Joe’s and this is what he leaves with. At least my chocolate will be safe for a while.

 

************************

Lunch today was leftovers of last night’s dinner. My co-worker is out of town and that means I can use his office for pictures. Yay natural light!

I also had an orange as a sweet ending to the meal. And my snack was the same as usual – pumpkin yogurt + blueberries + Go Lean.

 

Tonight was the playoffs for my volleyball league, and we had the potential to play until 10pm. I picked up Subway before our first game and ate in between matches. No picture, sorry, but it was a 6 inch veggie on wheat with pepper jack, lettuce, tomato, cucumber, spinach, green pepper, and spicy mustard.

 

As For This Post’s Title….

The girls I play volleyball with are trying to field a team for the winter league. At first I told them that I’d still play – I felt like it was good to be involved in a sports league and meet new people. But last night, after being so busy that I didn’t get home until 8:30pm, I realized that it really stresses me out to not have a little time to relax at night. It means I can’t make a good dinner, talk to my parents about the day, get meals and clothes prepped for the next day….

Then tonight when I wasn’t really looking forward to playing volleyball, I realized that maybe it isn’t something I need to include in my schedule. While it can be fun, the girls I play with are all married and and totally different stages of life than me so we don’t exactly “click”. The games aren’t super intense and competitive, so it really just seems like a weekly obligation rather than a fun activity.

So I told them I wouldn’t be able to play this winter. I really feel like it is a good decision for me. I’d rather be able to spend my time cooking, practicing the harp, and catching up with my family and friends than rushing to get to a game I am not fully invested in. So there is one less thing to fit in for me! Hopefully it’ll help me relax a little bit more during the week!

 

 

So as for tonight’s playoffs, we won our first game (meaning we aren’t the worst team in the league) but lost to the #1 team in the second round. The ref said we were definitely most improved!! I was actually really relieved that we didn’t have to keep playing (uh yeah, definitely shouldn’t be on that team) becuase now I get to watch last night’s GLEE! I’m enjoying some peppermint tea and an apple during the show, and then it’ll be time for bed.

 

 

  • Have you guys ever had to remove an activities from your life? Was it good for your sanity?

 

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2010 8:41 pm

    Wow, now THAT’S a chocolate bar!

  2. December 1, 2010 8:43 pm

    Good job on saying no. sometimes that is the hardest thing to do! Also, I like the outfit posts, don’t stop them. You have an eye for finding work appropriate clothing at F21.

  3. December 1, 2010 8:56 pm

    I’ve definitely quit things when they feel like obligations rather than fun. Sometimes it’s such a relief! Other times I miss whatever the activity is–if so I find a way to fit it back in.

  4. December 2, 2010 8:32 am

    I think giving yourself a mental break is a good idea. Sometimes you just need time to yourself. That doesn’t mean you are quitting, just taking a break!!

  5. December 2, 2010 8:34 am

    I think you made a good choice, if something that was suppose to be fun is just stressing you out, its not for you.

    Now, this may sound REALLY BAD and not an option for a lot of people but i had to leave my JOB because it was making me one HUGE stress ball. I was working 70 hours weeks, ate breakfast lunch and dinner at work, working out was a NIGHTMARE, i had to do it on my break if i even got one. i worked 20 days straight sometimes. My bosses were terrible people…

    Obviously not the job for me, or anyone?

    by the way, your apple is enormous and i think i need one. 🙂

  6. December 2, 2010 10:58 am

    I definitely enjoy my evenings of being at home and cooking, hanging out with my husband, bloggin, and just getting ready for the next day. When I have other commitments in the evenings, it throws me all off!

  7. Melissa @ HerGreenLife permalink
    December 2, 2010 11:56 am

    Where is the volleyball league? I’ve been wanting to get back into volleyball for awhile. Not sure if this would be the right fit for me, but I’m curious.

Leave a Reply

