Skip to content

A First: Israeli Couscous

December 2, 2010

I’m getting more into this whole social media thing – I now have twitter (@fittingitallin) & a blog facebook page! Head to Fitting It All In and like me:)

******************************

My snack choice lately may require multiple containers…

But the end result is delicious:) I love mix of textures – creamy yogurt, crunchy cereal, and blueberries that burst in your mouth. MMMmmm.

I didn’t have anything to do after work (YES!!) and was actually kind of at a loss with what to do with my time. It was too early to start dinner, so I decided to get out some Christmas decorations. I’m the only one in my house that really cares about decorating (read: I have decorated our tree by myself for the past two years). And even though I can’t put up all the garland and lights by myself, I can accessorize with pillows and candles! Little touches to spread some cheer.

How does/did decorating work in your family? I wish that we had a tradition of decorating the day after Thanksgiving like some other families, but no such luck.

****************************************

Finally it was time to start on dinner. All day I knew I wanted to roast brussel sprouts, but I wasn’t sure how to use them. When I saw Caitlin top her dish with balsamic reduction, I was reminded of the incredible balsamic we have! Once home I found a new product – Israeli Couscous – in the pantry and just like that, dinner was invented.

I roasted the brussel sprouts with some garlic powder for 40 minutes at 400 degrees. Then I popped in the broccoli for about 10 minutes.

I didn’t make the couscous according to package directions – they involved sauteeing and then cooking. Too complicated. Instead I made it just like rice and used 1/2 vegetable broth and 1/2 water. When the liquid was almost gone, I tossed in my roasted vegetables and then plated!

I topped it with a drizzle of balsamic and had had my leftovers from Tuesday night on a bed of lettuce on the side. The Israeli Couscous turned out very soft and chewy, which I loved. And combined with perfectly browned brussel sprouts and broccoli that still had a little snap to it, it was an awesome dish!

Dessert was an apple, but this time I returned to my favorite Honeycrisps. Peppermint tea on the side!

Thanks to Allie’s twitter tip, I’m now watching The Santa Clause on ABC family! CAN’T WAIT for such a fun weekend!!

  • What’s the last new food you tried? Did you like it?
8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2010 9:03 pm

    Israeli couscous is awesome, isn’t it? So much more pasta-ey than regular. LOVE! I always cook it like the regular kind though…boil and scarf!

  2. December 2, 2010 9:13 pm

    I had peppermint tea tonight with dinner as well! The Husband and I normally put up decorations within a week after Thanksgiving. I usually do most of the decorating, but he always helps with the tree! I can’t remember the last new food I tried….sad huh?

  3. December 2, 2010 9:29 pm

    This is the first year since the beginning of college I’ll be home to get and decorate my tree. I’m thrilled.

  4. December 2, 2010 9:49 pm

    I got lonely right after Thanksgiving alone in my apartment, so I hastily put up our two little artificial trees next to our TV. At home, we always have a festive holiday evening of decorating our (MASSIVE) tree, but the actual decorating is always such a chore to me, since it’s so huge and time-consuming. Instead, I like to treat it as a spectator sport and enjoy a cocktail/hot chocolate while I watch everyone else put up ornaments. And after enough cocktails, I can entertain everyone by singing carols.

    We also have a tiny wooden Christmas village that I like to put up in our living room. I’ll have to take a pic of it once I’m back in MO.

    p.s. I’m making my first Green Monster tomorrow morning… very excited.

  5. December 2, 2010 10:02 pm

    I love your blog 🙂 I’ve behind on my blogging and catching up on everyone with school and graduation in 2 weeks eeek! I love that you have a twitter. I have one too! How did you get a facebook page?!?!

    You are doing so amazing with your blog! 🙂

  6. December 2, 2010 10:11 pm

    I JUST GOT YOUR PACKAGE!!!! THANKS LOVE THEM!!!

  7. December 3, 2010 9:38 am

    Ya for joining Twitter!!

    My mom breaks out the Christmas stuff on Thanksgiving… no joke 😉

  8. December 3, 2010 11:27 pm

    yay twitter 🙂

    Ive never tried israeli couscous, but i think its a must try for the future.

Leave a Reply

