Skip to content

COOKIES

December 3, 2010
tags:

Remember when I taunted you with pictures of cookies last Sunday? Well I can finally tell you about them! I made two different cookies – one for Erica’s Blogger Baked Goods Secret Santa, and one as a St. Nick’s gift for my boyfriend.

First up: Chocolate Cranberry Cookies!

Ashley, my Secret Santa recipient, requested something gluten free and dairy free. My first thought was “oh crap”. But Google pulled through with tons of options, and I chose based on what looked good and what ingredients were fairly easy to get. I ended up using this recipe from livingwithout.com and only had to purchase some gluten-free baking mix. I followed it to a T – I was not about to mess around with a gluten-free recipe!

Here we go….

I mixed my dry ingredients first so they were all set when I had to add the wet. I didn’t want to have hot chocolatey batter ready to pour, but nothing to pour it into!

Gluten Free Flour is kinda yellow!

Next I melted 1/4 cup Earth Balance with 2 bitter sweet baking squares in a sauce pan, stirring (almost) constantly.

Then I added in the sugar, eggs & vanilla before mixing it with the prepped dry ingredients

Then I used a little elbow grease to get it all mixed together, added the dried cranberries and semi-sweet chocolate chips, and stuck the batter in the fridge to cool for 2.5 hours

When it was finished cooling, I scooped the batter into little balls, dipped them in powdered sugar, and put them on the baking sheet. The recipe says it will make over 50 cookies, but mine only made 30. The cookies aren’t huge either!! I’m not upset…. 30 is still a lot of cookies 🙂

These guys only had to bake for 12 minutes, and were soft coming out of the oven, but firmed up a bit by cooling. I’ll admit that I didn’t try these myself – I am on my post-Thanksgiving no sweets thing, but luckily my dad is an excellent cookie taster. He LOVES his chocolate chip cookies and is not at all into health foods, so when he said these were great I took it as a good sign! He said they were very chocolatey (duh) and even told my mom about them. That was enough to give me the go ahead to mail them as gifts!

Cookie #1 complete. Onto #2

Angela’s Favorite Snickerdoodles!

A few months ago, Alex asked me to make him snickerdoodles. All the recipes that said they were “the best” called for Crisco, and since they weren’t for me I went for it. Unfortunately the last time we used the Crisco in my house I was probably having a sleepover, so the cookies were a huge bust. They smelled off and tasted even worse. Straight into the trashcan…in the garage. I have had a great aversion to making snickerdoodles ever since, but when Angela posted her recipe I knew I had to give it another go! Granted Alex isn’t vegan nor does he care if his cookies are whole wheat, but I figured they couldn’t be any worse than the ones I made before.

First I beat the Earth Balance and sugar. I used an Earth Balance stick and it didn’t get super creamy. I don’t know if that affected anything…

Next I mixed in the dry ingredients and formed the dough into a ball that chilled in the refrigerator for one hour. The chilled dough was definitely easier to handle, which is good when it needs to be rolled in cinnamon sugar!

I formed 10 little balls and dipped them in the cinnamon sugar mixture. I loved that Angela’s recipe made a small batch – I don’t always need 30 cookies!

As suggested, I smooshed the balls down with a fork before baking them for 10 minutes. They came out of the oven beautifully crackled, like a good snickerdoodle should be!

Again, I didn’t try these. My dad said they were just “okay”. I’m assuming this is because Angela decreased the amount of sugar in her recipe, so they weren’t the super sweet snickerdoodles of our childhood. For me that’s perfect, but I’m not sure how the boyfriend will feel! I sent him one of the chocolate cookies too, just in case 😉

And that concludes my cookie baking Sunday! I’ll definitely keep the chocolate cranberry recipe on hand (which is so strange to me because of it’s ingredient restrictions!) but will keep trying other Snickerdoodles for Alex.

Let me know if you try any of these, or if you have a great Snickerdoodle recipe for me to try!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2010 12:43 pm

    You didn’t even try your own cookies? I have a problem with that! I need to try everything I bake! All the time! : )

  2. December 3, 2010 2:47 pm

    NICE job girl! Baking for those with special requests is always a toughie and you did an amazing job. I am about to get to baking and I cannot wait!

  3. December 3, 2010 11:30 pm

    mmmm the chocolate cranberry cookies look amazing 🙂 maybe ill give them a try soon. I FINALLY began my baking today and will continue tm… i cant be stopped now
    i have no idea how you can not try them! Im good with not eating full cookies but i at least have to have a nibble if i bake them!

Leave a Reply

