Skip to content

Grilled Banana French Toast With Greek Yogurt, Blueberries, and Peanuts.

December 4, 2010

mmhmmmm that happened this morning.

But first let me catch you up on last night!

 

My mom, Dani, Laura and I went to dinner at Triumph Grill before the Nutcracker. My mom had a Groupon for this modern restaurant, which is attached to the St. Louis Moto Museum.

To start we all shared the fried asparagus, which was a lot like tempura. I had one piece and most of the fried part fell off when I cut into it, but the flavor was delicious!

My main course was a tough choice with so many delicious options like shrimp enchiladas and an orchard salad, but ultimately I went a lunch portion of the salmon. On the side was a wild rice that was a perfect combination of chewy, sweet, and nutty. And more asparagus is never a bad thing.

Demolished. The lunch portion was the perfect size. And to drink I stuck with club soda instead of wine. I knew that a glass of wine would make me sleepy during the ballet, and I planned to have a drink or two after the show anyway.

 

Then it was time to walk to the beautiful Fox Theatre to see the Joffrey Ballet perform the Nutracker. I wish I had pictures of the inside of this huge theatre that would do it justice, but the lights were so dim that you can’t see all the beautiful ornamentation and Christmas decorations.

The Ballet was incredible! I had never seen the Nutcracker (or any real ballet for that matter) and was consistently impressed by the gracefulness and strength of the dancers. It was great to finally see the dances that go along with the classic music we hear during Christmas time.

 

las chicas

my mom and me πŸ™‚

 

After the show, we headed to a little hipster place called Sasha’s Wine Bar to meet up with some of LB’s friends. When we arrived we were surprised to see that the St. Louis Gay Men’s Choir was performing! They were fantastic and it was a little promo for their big Christmas concert next weekend.

I had a glass of Chardonnay (they were out of the Pinot Grigio I wanted to try) and we chatted for a few hours. By 11:30 Dani and I were ready to pass out (boring working girls!) while the Grad School kids could have partied forever. We headed back to LB’s where I had a Dulce de Leche Luna bar and some chips before going to sleep.

 

This is LB's boyfriend Kevin. He makes fun of me for going to bed "at 6 o'clock". I wish.

 

*******************************

 

Since I already have trouble sleeping, staying on a couch doesn’t bode well for me. I was up at 7:30 and couldn’t fall back asleep, so I decided to head home while the other girls continued their beauty rest.

First order of business was some coffee – a little flavor packet I picked up in the dollar bins at Target.

 

Then it was time for my take at Caitlin’s Grilled Banana Sandwich.

First I sliced a banana and placed it on a PAMed pan for a few minutes, flipping once and sprinkling with cinnamon at the end.

While that was cooking, I mixed 4 tbsp egg whites, 2 tbsp almond milk, 1 tsp vanilla and a bunch of cinnamon to dip my bread in.

I placed them on the pan at medium low heat, and flipped once. I really need a griddle pan because I couldn’t get them to cook evenly! When they were finished, I layered the bananas in between and topped with a few peanuts.

 

On the side I had some plain 0% Oikos greek yogurt mixed with a little stevia and topped with blueberries and cinnamon.

But the plan all along was to smear it on top of my french toast:)

 

I will repeat what everyone else says: GRILLED BANANAS ROCK.

Sweet,warm and gooey, mixed with cool and creamy greek yogurt on slightly crisp eggy bread. Ah-mazing. You will make this, in some form, very soon if you know what’s good for you.

 

*********************************

I snacked on some Kashi Go Lean for no reason, as well as like 4 cans of LaCroix, while typing this up. But now I have been informed that sleeping beauty Dani has arisen and it’s time to head back over to LB’s! Brewery Tour Next!!!

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2010 9:20 am

    I love how grilling bananas brings out such a unique taste!

  2. Danielle permalink
    December 4, 2010 11:45 am

    call me cinderella. i got my beauty sleep, now get over here!! time to go trapeze!!

    • Kim permalink
      December 4, 2010 10:55 pm

      mehhh im so jealous of you girls.. I actually know a girl in my class that has done trapeze since she was 12 and was legit in the circus- baller.. i need to hear all about this =) ❀ you all

  3. December 4, 2010 1:56 pm

    yea, that sandwich rules. I am also a firm believer that peanuts make just about everything better πŸ™‚

  4. squigglefloey permalink
    December 4, 2010 3:39 pm

    Hahaha 4 cans of sparkling water? You’re sounding like me now.
    And don’t worry, I’m old lady status too…I started yawning at 1130 last night, while my friends continued till 2am. Sheesh!

  5. December 4, 2010 6:09 pm

    hey cutie! you and your mom are precious! i LOVE Caitlin’s grilled banana sandwich…i think that’ll be on my menu for tomorrow. yummy!!!! the Nutcracker sounded like a blast! annnnd i’m early to bed too, so no worries!!! πŸ˜‰

  6. December 5, 2010 12:26 am

    You know what that sandwich needs? Nutella. πŸ˜‰

    Yay for a great night! I’ve never been to a ballet before.

Trackbacks

  1. A Very Brady Christmas « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

