Skip to content

Schlafly Oatmeal Stout Ice Cream (& Girls’ Weekend Part Two!)

December 5, 2010

The first activity scheduled for Saturday was a Schlafly Brewery Tour. Schlafly is a small craft brewery here in St. Louis, currently famous for their Pumpkin Ale (hey Kath!!). I didn’t even know you could take a tour there as people usually stick to Anheuser-Busch when visiting, but we found out they had free tours and tastings too! We arrived a bit early and had time to grab a pint. The five of us each tried a different beer, and I went with the Coffee Stout. It as INCREDIBLE – like a lighter Guinness with a strong coffee flavor. New favorite (well…one of my new favorites:) ).

The other beers tried were the Oatmeal Stout, Seasonal Christmas Ale, Pommegranite Cider, and something called an ESB? The seasonal and oatmeal stout were both great too. Then we started the tour – we were taken into the plant and taught how the beer making process works. Compared to AB, Schlafly is so TINY!! It’s crazy that they can produce so much beer in such a small space. They literally keep all of their yeast in a kitchen refrigerator from the 1980s.

Every Schlafly beer is “Bottled With Love” 🙂

After a 30 minute tour, it was time to TASTE! We got to try three of their most popular beers and also got some pretzels to snack on.

LB

cute old lady next to me was sipping teeny bits

Then, as we were perusing the gift shop, we noticed they sold OATMEAL STOUT ICE CREAM. So of course we had to go back to the bar for ice cream and another beer:) Dani and I split a Pumpkin Ale. So freaking good.

The ice cream was out of this world. They need to sell this stuff in stores!! We got two orders to split between the five of us.

And do you notice something wrong with this picture? Later in the day when my beer buzz wore off, I realized I ate ICE CREAM. SO much for my no sweets deal! I was upset at first, and then realized it doesn’t really matter if I have some ice cream. Especially on such a fun occasion! However, I then subconsciously gave myself permission to eat sweets for the rest of the weekend, so tons of reeces pieces, cookies, chocolate, and cookies were eaten. No good. Back on the no sweets track tomorrow.

***************************

At this point, Dani requested a burger. We considered going to a local greasy joint, Courtesy Diner, but decided to hit up a O’Connell’s, a pub known to have some of the best burgers in St. Louis! We split a pitcher of their ale, and everyone got burgers except me. Veggie burger was good:) As were the french fries. Another buzz-justified meal.

So the plan WAS to go to that free Trapeze class at 4pm, but by the time we finished our “lunch” it was already almost 4:30. And in our state trying to swing on ropes would have been pretty ridiculous. Instead we drove Dani through downtown St. Louis, wound up in some train car lots because we were distracted talking, and then went back to LB’s. She had a dinner for school, so I brought Dani to my house where we relaxed on the couch and showered. I had some trail mix and a homemade veggie hummus wrap to get some real food in me before a night out.

We headed back over to LB’s where some friends came over to pre-game. I had some wine that Kevin had to open by pushing the cork INTO the bottle – LB couldn’t find her corkscrew anywhere!!

Kevin, you will get your own feature when you do something feature worthy. Cleaning LB"s whole apartment ALMOST cut it. 😉

We went out to a bar called the Dubliner where we talked, played quarters, and got into intense debates about public health. Dani and I were pretty wiped out, but I managed to drink a vodka water with lime (wayyyy better than you would expect!) as well as a Jameson Ginger Ale. Dani tried her first Irish Coffee but it was pretty strong.

By the time we got to bed it was after 3am. SO LATE FOR ME! And even thought my body did wake me up at 7:30, I managed to keep falling back asleep until after 11am. 11am??? That is like midday for me usually!! I felt like a regular old college kid again.

******************************

Once we were all awake, it was time for breakfast. We wanted to try this little old-fashion donut shop we always pass near LB’s house. It was ADORABLE. An old lady with netted hair spray and caked on make up at the counter, and an old man rolling out the dough behind her. Donuts were 50 cents and cokes were 60 cents.

Dani & LB each tried a glazed donut, but after the candy I had eaten (and the previously unmentioned 3am quesadilla), I thought a donut might set me over the edge. Instead we went to this ADORABLE coffee shop we found on UrbanSpoon called Hartford Coffee Company. We got coffees and a real meal – an egg, cheese, and tomato sandwich on a whole wheat bagel for me. I totally want to head back there if I’m in the area because there were tons of great salads, baked falafel, and hummus options!! Love little neighborhood cafes like that.

After eating, the three of us went to some boutiques before seeing Morning Glory. Cute, funny parts, but nothing too special. Rachel McAdam’s hair pissed me off the whole movie. LB and I shared chocolate covered peanuts and I got a diet root beer.

And then it was time for Dani to go to the airport! 😦 Such a fun weekend and I’m SO SO glad she could come see what life is like for us in St. Louis!! It was just like we were back at school –kind of surreal to just wake up on the couch and see Dani hanging out on her laptop. Miss those days.

*******************************

 

Tonight I went for the gym just for a quick and easy 30 minute elliptical session. Just wanted to get my heart beating a little since I’d snacked on chocolate, cookies, and crackers all day. I did some TJ’s grocery shopping afterward and then microwaved some Amy’s vegetable soup to get some nutrients in me. Dessert was FOUR little chocolate chip cookies. Totally unnecessary, but back on track tomorrow! Like I say EVERY WEEKEND. Gotta work on not making that necessary…weekends don’t have to be a time to get off track!!

 

 

NOTRE DAME WOMEN’S SOCCER WON THE NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP!

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend! Tell me the highlights–I love to hear a good happy story!

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2010 10:26 pm

    I love Schlaflys! They actually have really good food! They use local ingredients and stuff.

    Sorry you didn’t like the movie that much. I thought it was cute, but I won’t buy it or anything! I always feel bad when I steer people wrong with recommendations! Hopefully my tweet wasn’t the only reason you went to it. =/

    I ran a 10 mile race this weekend and I have a tomorrow off. Yay for odd weekends.

  2. squigglefloey permalink
    December 6, 2010 12:33 am

    Hahaha…what did her hair look like?

  3. Ellen permalink
    December 6, 2010 8:03 am

    Sounds like you girls had a great time. Loved your story and only wish I could have been there!!

  4. December 6, 2010 8:11 am

    Looks like you had a GREAT weekend! A lot more fun than mine…we got 8 inches of snow in Minneapolis so mine wasn’t half as exciting as yours!

  5. December 7, 2010 12:25 pm

    First off, you discovered THE best donut shop in stl. Love that place. Then you went and found the best coffee place too. Too much.

    I am a big fan of the Schafly Christmas Ale. also, my husband is in the tour video! He is the guy at the end that holds up the beer and gives a uber cheesey smile.

  6. December 7, 2010 12:34 pm

    Oh definitely. Frosted cake donut from world fair, yum.

    Dang it about the video. It plays on a continuous loop in the waiting area at the bottleworks.

Leave a Reply

