Skip to content

My Feelings on Oatmeal

December 6, 2010
Good morning! Today I was greeted by an email from my Aunt Joanne telling me how much she loves my blog. (And that you can get the Schlafly Ice Cream at a place in Minnesota where she lives!!) I also got a message from LB’s mom telling me she loves it too. Thanks for making my Monday a little brighter, you two:)
 
I let myself sleep in this morning and boy did my body need it. I slept so soundly until 7:30am! The plan is to run at the gym after work.

OUTFIT: 

My boss and team are back this week and we have tons of meetings, so it’s another round of Corporate Clare. I don’t whip out the black dress pants often. These are Gap’s straight leg version (I LOVE their new line of black pants) worn with Target Grey booties, ruffle shirt from J Crew, & a cropped jacket from J Crew.

Can you see in my eyes how TIRED I am??

  

BREAKFAST:

I had a Barney Butter jar on it’s last leg. I probably could have gotten another round of AB toast out of it, but decided to just use it up for Oats In A  Jar (OIAJ) since I was at home to make it. I love the Barney Butter, but it really doesn’t spread very well.
I made my whipped banana oats and poured them in. I was able to scrape some Almond Butter into every bite. Perfect way to bid farewell to the jar.
 

So I’ve decided something about oatmeal.

All over the blog world we hear about creative bowls of oats with tons of mix ins and flavorings and toppings. From Pumpkin Pie to Chocolate Candy Cane to Eggnog Raspberry Chai with Vanilla Whipped Egg Whites (exaggeration) there is constantly new inspiration to beef up your morning meal.

But I think simple banana oats with nut butter are the best.

The banana ads the perfect sweetness to contrast the salty nutbutter and creamy oats. Nothing too overpowering. Though I’ve made a good bowl of pumpkin oats in my day, I think that when you start getting creative it can be pretty all or nothing. You have to use the molasses and pumpkin pie spice to REALLY get the flavour, or the right amounts of sugar, cocoa powder, and vanilla to get a good chocolately version. When you just toss in a scoop of pumpkin and some egg whites for protein, the bowls can become a blah mish mash of flavours.

My point is, when I’m craving oats in the morning, I’ll stick to my regular banana version. If I have time to get fancy schmancy and try a crazy flavor profile, I’ll do it all the way. Otherwise I just wind up a little dissapointed. And I NEVER want to have a dissapointing breakfast.

  • What is your favorite way to make oats?
  • Do you have a go-to flavor combination or do you experiment?

***********************************

I hope you all have a wonderful start to the week!!

If you enjoyed the first installment of the Eating Disorder Series on BurpandSlurp, check out the second edition on recovery. Sophia has a knack for putting all the emotion and struggle into a beautifully written post.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2010 12:20 pm

    Hey girl! Cute outfit. Sometimes its nice to dress a little more “corporate” ;). Glad you got some sleep. I’m not a big fan of too many toppings on oats either. I actually just like mine plain with a little banana and a little honey.

    In terms of the granola, this is my favorite recipe: In a bowl, mix together 2 tablespoons honey, 2 tablespoons vegetable oil. Then add 2 cups oats, 1 1/2 cups coconut, 1 cup mixed nuts and seeds (whatever you have on hand). Mix WELL- make sure everything is coated. Baked granola for 1 hour at 250 degrees. Let cool a few minutes on cookie sheet and then remove to a separate container to finish cooling. Do not put the lid on until granola is completely cool (so it can get nice and crunchy). At this point you can add in dried fruit and chocolate chips if desired.

  2. December 6, 2010 1:21 pm

    doing it up south side style! i have so many more places to suggest to you. local harvest cafe will send you over the edge. it’s on morganford and it’s amazing amazing amazing.

  3. squigglefloey permalink
    December 6, 2010 3:20 pm

    When I do have oatmeal or cream o’ wheat (which I also enjoy!) I never put a buncha toppings or try to recreate anything that I’ve seen on other blogs — I also just stick to keeping it simple — brown sugar or honey and bananas if I want some fruit on it. I can’t seem to want to have it with a crunchy fruit.
    Cute blue belt btw! I’m having a tired monday as well hehe

  4. December 6, 2010 7:39 pm

    I 100% agree with you! Banana oats and peanut butter is the way to go! I started adding chia seeds to mine though for extra protein, you can’t really taste them at all…and they expand so it seems like you have more 🙂 !

  5. December 7, 2010 9:28 am

    Thanks for the tip on our love for gaps black pants! I need to wear dress pants to my NEW JOB 😀 so i will be in the market for some i dont HATE.. i really kinda hate black dress pants. Although i had a pair of skinny leg dress pants i was in love with but theyre to small on me now BOO…

    anyway, with the oats im a super experimenter i LOVE coming up with fun mix in ideas. I dont usually measure the mix ins though. I think my fav combo is mashed banana with pumpkin and almond butter. I also love putting a little granola on top for crunch.. i love crunch..

    have a great day!

Leave a Reply

