Skip to content

Droppin’ the Ball on NYE Plans

December 7, 2010

HI GUYS! I’m addicted to twitter. This is bad. I want to comment on everything all the bloggers say and then I realize that would just be a rando talking to them…

WORKOUT:

5 mile training run = COMPLETE! I took it really easy and stayed at 6.5 mph since I was worried about the distance so early in the morning. It ended up being totally fine…maybe I only get tired in the morning when I’m doing crazy intervals. Catching up on worldy news with Matt, Meredith, and Al helped too 🙂 Only problem was my right achilles KILLED by the end of it. Do you runners know if these means something bad or if I just need to stretch it more?

OUTFIT:

 

I’m volunteering after work today so my main goal for this outfit was comfort. I just really wanted to wear that sweatshirt top. Sometimes I can’t believe how casual I can be at work…so lucky! I also don’t know if I will wear regular shoes until spring. Flat boots = warm and comfy.

FOOD:

For breakfast I used the last of my Ezekiel 7 Grain bread (love the ends of loaves!) to make a TJ’s Salted Creamy Almond Butter & banana sandwich. That is way harder to say than Barney Butter! I don’t think I put enough of it on the sandwich to get a good taste, but I loved how drippy and easy to spread it was. Maybe I just need to keep two different types around so I can use whatever texture I need at the time

I also had a baby clementine with breakfast.

Lunch was the same tuna salad wrap that I made last night for dinner with a sliced honey crisp. I think I should have put just a little bit more nayonaise and mustard in the salad…next time.

*******************************************

New Years Eve Debate:

It’s that time of year where my girlfriends and I start talking about what to do on New Years Eve. In high school it was always about whose parents were out of town so they could throw a huge party that inevitably got broken up by the cops at 11:45pm. Now it is what overly-priced all-inclusive bar to go to and even what city we should celebrate in!

New Years Eve is such a hallowed night. I always dreamed of going to a classy party wearing a sequin dress and refilling my champagne flute all night. But for some reason I have never  had that ‘perfect’ new years eve. I’ve been in a car at midnight twice. I’ve been split up from my friends because no one can agree on what to do. I’ve ended up too drunk and secretly sleeping on a floor in someone’s basement because other plans fell through. It just is all built up and I’m always let down.

I don’t want to say that I’ve given up on a good night. I’d love to find that perfect bar to go to with all my friends where everyone is just calmly having fun and enjoying the night. But honestly I think it would be more fun to plan a party with my closest friends at someone’s house so that we could not spend hundreds of dollars, not worry about how we are getting around, not worry about where we are going to sleep, and ACTUALLY see the ball drop at midnight!

Someone tell me what the best fail-proof way to spend New Years Eve is! Please!

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2010 1:12 pm

    I’ve learned not to build NYE up at all, otherwise you will be dissapointed. I used to love NYE and get a new outfit and plan the perfect night, only to have something go wrong or the night not ending up what I visioned it to be in my head. Don’t think too much about it and just go with the flow, that way you have no expectations at all! Now that I’m older, usually the husband and I just stay at home (I like to advoid the drunk drivers) and cook a fun meal, watch the ball drop then get a good night sleep!

  2. December 7, 2010 1:29 pm

    I always dread NYE… Everyone seems to have super high expectations but they all end up disappointed. What works for me is having a great dinner with my friends and then going out but taking it easy. It’s just an other night and won’t change lives. Well at least not mine ;). I actually slept through last year’s NYE (because I flew to Japan on the 30th and got there on the 31th and was way too tired to stay up until 12..). 🙂

    • December 7, 2010 1:33 pm

      Maybe that’s a good plan! TO go out and have a drink or two, but manage to be able to get myself home later in the night! I just hate being a party pooper when my friends are going crazy

      *Clare Brady* https://fittingitallin.wordpress.com

  3. December 7, 2010 1:29 pm

    I always have this problem with NYE. In high school, my parents were OVERLY protective, especially on NYE so our plan had to be set in stone at least a week beforehand…it never was. In college, I’ve always traveled back up to Boston to be with my boyfriend. Amtrak on New Year’s Eve in the snow last year was one of the most disastrous experiences ever. This year, I really just want to do something simple, but I’ve already got friends at home wanting to get a hotel in NYC and friends in Boston wanting to do Foxwoods or something like that which will of course cost money that I don’t really have with unpaid internships. The start of the year always seems to result in so much planning failure that everyone is too stressed.

  4. Hillary permalink
    December 7, 2010 1:47 pm

    Yum, I love Barney Butter!!

  5. December 7, 2010 1:49 pm

    I’m doing the big going out thing for the first time this year. I’m excited.

    Last year my friends and I stayed in and had a movie marathon. It was nice. I like low key New Year’s Eve plans!

  6. December 7, 2010 3:06 pm

    Glad the run went well 🙂 Good TV always helps. Cute top! In terms of New Years- we love going low key. We invite all of our friends over and usually have some kind of tv marathon of a show we all want to get into . Everyone makes tons of food too. Its a blast

  7. squigglefloey permalink
    December 7, 2010 3:15 pm

    When I first got twitter I was addicted too! It took me awhile to calm down, and now I only look @ it once a day if I’m lucky haha. What’s your twitter, I’d love to follow you!
    NYE has been pretty low key for me these past few years. I think the last time I did anything big for it was going to Lake Tahoe with a few friends for that week and celebrating in our cabin…that was pretty nice actually. I’m not a fancy NYE girl 😛

  8. December 8, 2010 8:58 am

    NYE is always a problem for me to. I ALWAYS get excited, buy a new outfit etc and then end up doing WHATEVER i can find. I used to love going to to bars and being surrounded by crazy people ( i live in NJ so i’ve been to NYC many a NYE) Now i prefer to go to a party close to home . I like having party’s at my house but cant always get everyone here. I guess i should start the inevitable hunt for what to do… its really sneaking up on us!

  9. December 8, 2010 4:46 pm

    New Year’s Eve is always a last minute decision with my friends and I. I have had years where I say screw it and stay in, but in the past couple of years, we knew people that rented our bars for a private party and it was an all you can eat/drink type of deal. I think that’s what we are doing again this year… but the only problem is getting cab because it’s so busy!!

Trackbacks

  1. Guest Post: NYE from a Male Point of View « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

