Skip to content

I’d Missed This…

December 7, 2010

I see New Years Eve is tricky for lots of people! Thanks for sharing your experiences…they make me believe that a fun night is possible! Also – my older brother started ranting about NYE plans to me today so he might do a guest post. Such a hot topic right now!

*******************************

Snack = Same as usual

And on the way to my volunteering event I grabbed a Vanilla Rubios tea from Starbucks.

Tonight I volunteered at the Mary Ryder home, a place where elderly women who are often homeless and without family, take residence. It has been in operation for 80 years and survives entirely off United Way funding. Since my company is such a huge United Way supporter, it made sense for a group of us to go there!

We go to serve the women dinner and then split into groups to play Wii blowing, Uno (my group!!), and Catch Phrase. I asked about their meals of course. They are homemade on site and the meal plan is designed by a nutritionist. On the menu tonight was scrambled eggs, stewed tomatoes, apple tart, and wheat bread. Pretty good!

The women were so bright and energetic and loved playing games with us. I actually miss visiting the nursing homes — I used to go at least once a week while my Grandma lived in one. I was told the hardest holiday for the women is Mother’s Day, so maybe my mom and I can start a tradition of going to visit them together! I have a really big soft spot for the elderly.

**********************************

I was really hungry when I got home, so I decided just to reheat the last of the Butternut Squash & Lentil stew that I had frozen. I love this recipe from Anne P. and am sad that it’s all gone, but I guess that means I’m in the market for a new stew to make and freeze! There are tons out there lately, but does anyone have a must try?

steam!

And I’ll leave you tonight with something that brought me some extra joy tonight — my mom put up lots of our Christmas decorations!! Not great pictures, but I love the little accents we have around our house. Now we just need outdoor lights and a tree!

Santa themed Mantle

 

Scene on our Piano

Doors to the porch

Good night!

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2010 8:31 am

    That stew looks really good! I don’t know of any must make stews for you to try, but I am sure you will find one quick with all the posts on soups/stews lately! Cute Christmas decorations!

  2. December 8, 2010 11:02 am

    I LOVE Kashi GoLean because of all the different textures. A good snack, indeed!

Leave a Reply

